Student Rating 4.0/5 (Showing 35 Reviews)

A place to gain knowledge and grow as an individual

Posted on 16 Jun' 17 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2019 | BA Political Science Hons
College life has been good so far. The college faculty is excellent and constructive,the infrastructure is extensive. The teachers here, tries to ingrain leadership qualities in the students by making us responsible enough to do our work and submit it on time. The seniors here, are really helpful and we can freely ask them any question if we have any queries about the college.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Our college is quite good

Posted on 15 Feb' 17 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | B.Sc Geography Hons
Our college is an A grade college. Our alumni includes Mamta Banerjee, CM of Bengal. As we stay away from our hometown so we stay in hostel which provides very good food and other facilities. Our fest is one of the most happening fest in Kolkata. Our campus has space crunch yet well maintained. Canteen provides fresh vegetarian cuisines.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Among the reputed colleges of the city

Posted on 09 Feb' 17 by Chanchal Kaushik
Batch of Jan. 1, 2015 | B.Com
The college life was pretty good.. personally didn't have much of experience as was in the morning session and perusing other professional course. The faculty is good and the college is reputed. The college also provides BA B.SC BBA & M.COM course. It doesn't have hostel facility though there are lot of p.gs available nearby. I don't have much idea about the placement guarantee of the college as is affiliated under Calcutta university.. the overall passing % of students of this college is good
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Place to learn and enjoy

Posted on 24 Sep' 16 by Harshika
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | B.Com Hons
A place where bonds are made not only among friends but with teachers too. The college also supports extracurricular activities on a large scale and it participates in various inter college fest an event. Apart from it, a live campus along with an amazing infrastructure and good on campus facilities, SSY is a place where girls can get an opportunity for all round development.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Shri Shikshayatan rocks

Posted on 24 Sep' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2016 | BA English Hons
Shri Shikshayatan college is one of the best girls' college in Kolkata. The faculty of this college is too good. The principal and teachers are very good, helpful, friendly and always try to maintain the discipline and inculcate the same among the students. Though the fees of the college are higher in comparison to other colleges, the faculty is much better in comparison to most of the other colleges in the city. Here the classes are air-conditioned. The library is updated with books of all the courses taught in the college. Storybooks and journals also contain in the library.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

A good place where you can gain good experience.

Posted on 16 Sep' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2014 | B.Com Hons
The college should curtail its fee structure so that those students who are looking for good colleges can also apply. They should think about adding a hostel to their premises to make it a residential college so that there are more applications from the outstation students. The course outline should be updated every year instead of every two years. On the other hand, the college provides good placements and holds a good reputation so that even if the student doesn't get placed on the campus, it's not too difficult to get placed off campus.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
Is this Review Helpful?

Very good college

Posted on 13 Sep' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2018 | B.Com
The college is good. The faculty as well is good and experienced. It is one of the most branded colleges of Kolkata. All the people here are very friendly and the ambience is very encouraging. since the last two years, I have got various opportunities to participate in various college functions as well as extracurricular activities. Really a great college for girls.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

My college life was just like my school.Nothing great.

Posted on 09 Sep' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2013 | B.Com Hons
Like we are to follow each and every rules and regulation we follow in our school life,the same was college.Infrastructure was great.We had a swimming pool in our college but was not allowed to use.The canteen was good but the no of food items were restricted.The college vicinity was good.We had many special areas to enjoy with our friends.Faculties were good.College was active in co-curricular activities.There was no hostel for students.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Life living experience at Sikshayatan College

Posted on 08 Sep' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2019 | B.Com Hons
Sikshayatan is really a good college as far as studies,college infrastructure and other facilities such as sports facilities,medical facilities,and recreational facilities are concerned.The best part is the provision of air-conditioned classrooms and well-equipped library. really love to be a part of this college and being a member of NSS society I feel glad to make my contribution towards my society.The college provides various opportunities necessary for all round development of we collegiate.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Relishing experience of college life at Sikshayatan

Posted on 08 Sep' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2019 | B.Com Hons
Sikshayatan is an amazing college.I enjoy my college life here to the fullest.The teaching staff members are very supportive and loving.It has well air conditioned classrooms and well-equipped library which is the best part of this college.The seniors and batchmates are also very cooperative.I being the member of NSS under rural development wing love to be a part of it.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Faculty is very cooperative and understanding

Posted on 07 Sep' 16 by Priya Thacker
Batch of Jan. 1, 2016 | B.Com Hons
The faculty is very cooperative and understanding. Lectures given by teachers are appreciable. It is a reputed English medium girls college affiliated to West Bengal Board and founded by Sitaram Seksaria. The area includes the college campus also which has morning (B.Com) and day (B.A. & B.Sc.) sections. It is one of India's best colleges for studying commerce. the college is known for its multicultural character which attracts a large no. of students from different cultural backgrounds.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

My college is a fun place for learning

Posted on 07 Sep' 16 by Soniya
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | B.Sc
My college has good infrastructure and has a comfortable environment the teachers are supportive and good.It has many other activities like NSS.The teachers not only encourage us for studying but also for participating in different activities.It is one of the best colleges in the city especially for girls.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
Is this Review Helpful?

A New Beginning Outside Home

Posted on 07 Sep' 16 by Amrita Kour
Batch of Jan. 1, 2018 | BA Philosophy Hons
As my title describes, this college actually gave me a new beginning outside the home. Shri Shikshayatan College turned a shy and new-in-the-city girl to be a confident personality trying to develop her individuality. Well to begin from the college infrastructure, this college serves us the feeling of luxury. It has wifi, is fully air conditioned and the interior is nothing short of amazing. A college has maintained its cleanliness as we see maids sweeping the floor the entire day. Coming to the faculty, each teacher pays special care and attention towards every student. Not only do they give notes but also explain us everything with minute details. College crowd is extremely supportive, enthusiastic and motivating. Our college also takes parts in many co-curricular besides academics. Overall, I would recommend this college to every girl who wishes to enjoy the three years of her life. This college made me what I am today. And am looking forward to the next two years of my college life.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

College life at Sikshayatan

Posted on 06 Sep' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2019 | B.Com Hons
Sikshayatan is a nice college with reference to infrastructure,teaching members,cleanliness of campus,various college societies and many more things.The student crowd is also satisfactory.It has been a good experience studying here,getting to learn about new things,communicating with people from different regions,working in the societies,etc.Moreover, the college library and classrooms are well air conditioned which is the best part of the college.The college has a big sports complex with a provision of various sports facilities.So,according to my point of view overall, it's a good college.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

It's ok . Nothing great

Posted on 04 Sep' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2016 | BA Philosophy Hons
College life is fine . It entirely depends on the people you choose to be with . But one good thing about that place is that they don't judge . Everyone is treated equally . The faculty is ok . Two .teachers can't teach properly Some of the teachers can't teach properly . But some could so you to was manageable . I wouldn't recommend this college because it doesn't guide the students properly and I highly recommend that the HOD be changed . They say it's an English medium college but half the time they teach in Bengali so it gets very difficult to cope up with . I have noticed that I lot of outstation students also come and study here so it will be very difficult for them to cope up or to understand what the teacher is saying . They should teach better so that they can get more students . The department is the smallest department in the college . This might probably be the smallest philosophy department in the whole of Calcutta . I hope and pray that they sort out everything after we leave because it needs the proper sorting or the management might just erase this department from this college from the college . I hope it doesn't come to this conclusion . Because I have made a few good memories of this place, especially my friends . So I want this department to be that new and improved . Thank you all for giving me this time . I would want this anonymous because I have to survive one more year in this college so it might be difficult if you all suddenly break loose of all the data and I am screwed so ill go anonymous . Thank you
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Best years of life

Posted on 04 Sep' 16 by Asmita SINHA
Batch of Jan. 1, 2018 | B.Com Hons
My college has a great faculty who keeps in mind the welfare of its student and great future. Infrastructure wise it's an amazing college with all the latest technologies and facilities provided for its student. It provides great opportunities and experiences. It has many societies and provides an outlook for its student. All in all a great college.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

A proud Yatan

Posted on 04 Sep' 16 by Akanksha Sengupta
Batch of Jan. 1, 2018 | B.Sc Geography Hons
SSC was my dream college.I'm really proud to be a part of this esteemed college.The faculty is just excellent.There is a vast opportunity for the students to learn and explore in this college.This college brings out your potentiality and helps in best the possible way to improve towards it
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Rules and regulations are strict,which helps you to improve

Posted on 04 Sep' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2018 | B.Com Hons
College life is good,rules and regulations are strictly followed,regular classes are conducted,it's good to be here,teachers are also experienced..crowd is also good..morning and evening two sessions are conducted in my course,so there is a time convenience.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

I am liking the faculty so far.

Posted on 04 Sep' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2018 | BA Political Science Hons
The college has impressive infrastructure, effective teaching plan, good placement score, average crowd, affordable, great campus, facilitated faculty, strict rules, and regulations. It organises one of the most popular fests in the city. Publishes creative magazines.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

An Outlook To The Outside World

Posted on 04 Sep' 16 by Amrita Kour
Batch of Jan. 1, 2018 | BA
Shri Shikshayatan College has been an inspiring place for me. It's the faculty that made it a nice experience for me. The professors show all their warmth and care while teaching. Not only during class, but also after class hours are they considerate towards their students. This college gave me the confidence to view the world from a different perspective. College keeps us motivated by giving tasks and challenges regarding academics and also co-curricular. Therefore my college experience has been nothing short of amazing.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Shikshayatan is like a second home

Posted on 01 Sep' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | BA English Hons
Shri Shikshayatan college has been very student friendly. We have provided with the best of facilities . All our classrooms being well equipped with projectors for better teaching, a classroom is an air-conditioned for the comfort of the students, we have a swimming pool , a yoga room and a dance room for helping students to excel in their extracurricular activities.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
Is this Review Helpful?

Sometimes you just regret some decisions

Posted on 28 Aug' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2014 | BA Journalism and Mass Communication Hons
Firstly, the all-girls college premises is based inside in one corner of the Shri Shiksha ya tan school. Falling under Calcutta university, the other honour courses might be useful to some extent, but studying journalism at that college for 3 whole years can be a life-ruining experience. While the first year was only based on the history of journalism, the second year didn't do much good either. All one has to do to ace the exam is to by-heart the notes a few days before semester as practical knowledge holds no ground here. The only valuable thing I learn was to make pages in quark express, create HTML links and make ads on photoshop which has helped me now in my job at a media organisation. The third year, however, was interesting as we saw classic movies by Charlie Chaplin, Satyajit Ray, Vittorio Di-Sica, among several others. We were also asked to make a documentary which was exciting and one of the practical exams including anchoring for around 5-10 mins on any selected topic from a group of topics. The faculty is lenient but the teachers don't spend much time imparting knowledge as they spend on dictating notes after notes. One also doesn't have to bother about attendance as if one disqualifies the minimum 50% 'compulsory' university attendance, one can get away by paying a minimal fine. Overall, I wouldn't recommend this college even to my worst enemy.⁠⁠⁠⁠
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Shree shiksyatan the best in kolkata

Posted on 28 Aug' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2015 | B.Com Hons
The best college in kolkata. It a carries a huge heritage and is one of the well known institutions of Kolkata. Faculties were extremely talented and helped in building a competitive culture throughout.Students with high degree of excellence and academic record are only given admission.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Superb experience

Posted on 26 Aug' 16 by Dipti Bajaj
Batch of Jan. 1, 2008 | B.Com Hons
It is known to be one of the best girls college for pursuing bachelor degree of commerce in kolkata. The faculty is very nice, learned and friendly. The college located in heart of the city provides students good infrastructure, library and better means of learning. The college didn't use to provide any placement that time, not aware about the current scenario.
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
Is this Review Helpful?

An experience I regret

Posted on 24 Aug' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | B.Com Hons
My college lacks a good college life and has no campus. The faculty is good yet no pressure of attending classes has resulted in low-class strength decreasing the enthusiasm of the teachers. There is a lack of participation from the college in the activities organised by the college itself because the event is not properly organised and lack of competition and appreciation. I wish to have made a study before registering for the college.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

A thrilling experience

Posted on 23 Aug' 16 by Anjali Agarwal
Batch of Jan. 1, 2016 | B.Com Hons
College life is always the best time of one's life. Education is an upmost priority of this college. Apart from education, extracurricular activities are also given importance. Here we get a chance to explore different areas of the world. Teachers are the lifeline of this college. They were cooperative and encouraging throughout my college life. The infrastructure of this college is fabulous. All the materials provided in the college premises are up to date. Be it college library or college canteen, it provides the best. The college also provides a recreational room, where students can go to have some fun time from the daily stressed life. We are also provided with the gym equipment to take better care of our fitness. The college is well maintained and there are no second thoughts over its hygiene. The only thing which bothered me was the management of the college. It can definitely be improved. Apart from this, everything was good. I had a great experience.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Disciplined college with friendly and knowledgeable faculty

Posted on 23 Aug' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2009 | B.Com Hons
It was a nice college. The teachers were very helpful. They imparted education to every student with full dedication. The infrastructure was also very nice. As the students coming from outstation were less, hostel facility was discontinued. The college didn't have any placement program for students but as most of the commerce students were persuing CA course, students were not much interested in the placement program.
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
Is this Review Helpful?

A fun filled ride

Posted on 29 Oct' 15 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2011 | BBA Hons Self Finance
The college is an all girls college which has many renowned faculties and many guest facilities from industrial stretch.The classes are well furnished with air conditioners and proper ventilation. The course is very comprehensive as its a fusion of both theoretical as well as as practical knowledge which not only crests a grid of profound array but also caters to solve complex intricacies.The college provides various opportunities by sending students to different student exchange programs and held various seminars conducted by eminent professionals which further helps to understand the reality which exists in the present.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
Is this Review Helpful?

My college my life.

Posted on 28 Oct' 15 by Priyanka gupta
Batch of Jan. 1, 2012 | BBA Hons Self Finance
My first day to the college was kind of mixed feelings (i.e. nervous, tensed, excited). I pursued management course whose faculty members were very cooperative, helpful, supportive. Especially our HOD, rakhi ma'am. She was more like our friend than being our head. My college infrastructure is simply upto date. Each and every section has its separate room. For instance, dance room, yoga room, basketball court, exercise room, efficient canteen room, library and more so. I really enjoyed being in the college. Had a fantabulous experience.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
Is this Review Helpful?

The best college that i knowledge and discipline in students

Posted on 26 Oct' 15 by Aditi Jain
Batch of Jan. 1, 2011 | BBA Hons Self Finance
Our college life was amazing. Since BBA was a new course introduced it was not known to many people. But the results had been very nice and it was because of the full supporting faculty who where always available for help anytime anywhere. Our infrastructure was developing while we were attending our college. Overall we had all facilities provided and we recommend our college.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?
Disclaimer: The reviews mentioned above truly represent the experience of the student / alumni. We do not allow manipulation / editing of these reviews by any personnel.
Interested in this College?

Download the Careers360 App on your Android phone

Regular exam updates, QnA, Predictors, College Applications & E-books now on your Mobile

Careers360 App
150M+ Students
24,000+ Colleges
500+ Exams
1500+ E-books