Gauhati Commerce College, Guwahati Reviews on Infrastructure, Campus, Placement, Facilities & Faculty
Gauhati Commerce College, Guwahati

Guwahati, Assam College of Gauhati University, Guwahati
Rating 4.5/5 ( 25 Reviews )
Download Brochure
4.5/5
Based on 25 Reviews
College Infrastructure
3.9/5
Academics
4.1/5
Placements
2.6/5
Value for Money
3.8/5
Campus Life
4.5/5
Showing 25 Reviews

Life at GCC.

Verified Review

Last Seen: 30 Jun' 20

Joined On: 30 Jun' 20

Education Interest: Management

Education Level: Graduate & Above

Posted on 30 Jun' 20 by Arshad Shaikh
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2019
  • B.Com
College Infrastructure
Yeah our College have almost all the necessary facilities & equipment's required, Such as Fans, AC, LED Projectors in every class rooms. It also have a Computer lab as well. And a furnished Library with large collection of Books, Magazines & News Papers etc. Moreover Living spaces are also neat & clean, And foods available at the College Cafeteria are Delicious and Hygienic.
Academics
Graduated in B.COM with specialization in Accountancy in 2019 & Our Courses are updated. Most of our teaching staffs were PHD holders so for me Quality of Education was outstanding and yeah it also made me Job ready for future.
Placements
Placement cell is there at our college but it was not that effective, only a limited number of students gets requited through it. As our college also provides Professional Degrees like MBA & M.COM they get placed under Companies like Godrej, Reliance, TATA Consultancy Services with Good packages.
Value-for-money
Yeah i feel-like I got my moneys worth back as it helped me in my all round development (Morally, Ethically, Culturally & Academically).
Campus Life
As our is in prime location of the Guwahati City so it can handle emergencies quickly. Teaching and Support Staffs were friendly & very supportive in nature. The best feather of our college was that it provides platform for the students from various fields to showcase their talents be it in Sports, Dance, Music, Art, Culture, Singing & Acting etc. And honestly i didn't find anything worst about our college.
Anything Else
One of the best Commerce College of North East India, GCCIAN Forever.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

GAUHATI COMMERCE COLLEGE REVIEW

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 28 Jun' 20

Joined On: 21 Sep' 19

Education Interest: Management

Education Level: In Graduation

Posted on 28 Jun' 20 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2019
  • B.Com
College Infrastructure
Yes our College Gauhati Commerce College have not only it's basically infrastructure but also it has projection boards in most of the classes which really helps us to understand the topics easily. Computer labs with well maintenance and talking about the library with a huge collection of books from all sections. ACs in most of the classes. Well maintained auditorium our College also provide hostels within the campus only.
Academics
I completed my graduation with taking management as my major subject. I'm glad that I completed my B.com with the guidance of top most professors holding PhD. They helped in understanding the core meaning of management with the recent activity n development with a updated knowledge globally. Quality of the education they provided to me is excellent because that not only helped me to boost my academics but also helped me to cope up with my daily life and to achieve my goals in future.
Placements
As I have completed B.com yes there's a placement cell in our College. The placement department will keep you updated with all the job offers coming from 5th semester only and talking about Master's students were placed in minimal position jobs like reliance, godrej or any other Companies and Cooperative sector.
Value-for-money
Gauhati Commerce College is the college for best value of money. Unlike other colleges it doesn't catch you for huge fees for its courses. The fees is reasonable and well sound for all its courses from Bachelor's to Master's. It also provide all government initiative for economical weaker section students. Basically it's affordable.
Campus Life
The college is situated in the prime location of guwahati. With availability of buses taxi everything. It also has huge area of parking for all vehicle. The campus is surrounded by beautiful greenery and fresh environment. Gym, canteen, toilet in every floor for both men and women, rest room, is also available. Teachers and staff are so friendly as they help and motivate us in every step. It encourage to take part in every field starting from sports to seminar, debates, music and singing.
Anything Else
Overall it's one of the best Commerce College in North East which provide best of everything and always support and motivate us to achieve our desired goal. Apart from education it helps us to be a better and smart person in life.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

I have a mix of good and bad experience in GCC.

Verified Review

Last Seen: 26 Jun' 20

Joined On: 26 Jun' 20

Education Interest: Management

Education Level: Graduate & Above

Posted on 26 Jun' 20 by Munmi Swargiary
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2019
  • B.Com
College Infrastructure
There are digital classrooms with AC facility but some of the classrooms have no AC facility.Usually classrooms are not so clean.Gcc have one library which is big and clean and we can study there peacefully.There is one hostel for boys only next to the college.There is one canteen which is clean and food is good and hygienic.
Academics
I have studied H.S and B.Com in GCC.Professors do their job well when it comes to teaching although the syllabus are quite outdated in comparison to colleges of other big cities.However students do gather all kind of knowledges taught by the professors and hence feel confident in facing the situation after the graduation.
Placements
Placements have been good and fair enough i guess however it does depends on the students skills and abilities.The college does promises its students about good placements and support their students in this case fairly.
Value-for-money
The yearly fee is around Rs 30000.Its a decent amount for the knowledge and facilities provided by the college.Yes, I do feel that i am getting my money's worth because along with syllabus courses some extra curricular activities are also provided by this college.
Campus Life
Some of the best features are that students are treated equally without any biases. The environment of the college is quite positive.The only negative trait is that professors are a bit laid-back when it comes to finishing the courses.Other than that professors are quite helpful and supportive whenever needed.
Anything Else
My experience in this college is quite good and bad.My good experience is that i have aveticipated in the college activities and got to learn a lot of new things and have experience many things with my friends.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

Quality education with holistic development of students

Verified Review

Last Seen: 26 Jun' 20

Joined On: 13 Sep' 19

Education Interest: Management

Education Level: Graduate & Above

Posted on 26 Jun' 20 by Simanta Goswami
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2018
  • B.Com
College Infrastructure
Since it is one of the oldest premier educational institution in Guwahati it has seen continuous upgrade in it's infrastructure and facilities over time. A huge campus with spacious classrooms, air conditioned digital classes, auditorium, gymnasium, canteen, library, computer lab, common rooms for both boys and girls, playground and other basic facilities etc provided are of the best standards. It also provides hostel facility for boys as well.
Academics
I have completed my Bachelor of Commerce in 2018 from this college. The quality of education is exceptionally good due to having highly educated and experienced teaching faculty. Since the college is affiliated under Gauhati University, our course follows the university curriculum which has been updated over the years and provides fair opportunities for the students to be job-ready. However much update is still required to be made in the overall curriculum.
Placements
Placements are a critical part of a student's educational journey. However only a b.com degree won't suffice today's industry needs. The college has a placement cell and few companies does come to the college for campus interviews but it is not enough to recruit the majority of the whole batch. Professional degrees such as MBAs that the college also provides are majorly recruited in such scenarios.
Value-for-money
Cost of my whole 3 year's B. Com course is roughly between 25 to 35 thousands rupees. I feel that I have got more worth back than what I paid for. The journey, the experience and the life's teaching that I have got from Gauhati Commerce College is far more valuable than money itself.
Campus Life
With outstanding facilities, friendly study environment, prime location of the city, it is a hub of commerce education in Assam. Along with it students also get multiple opportunities to engage in activities such as cultural events, sports, voluntary organizations like NCC, scouts and guides, NSS, Students union etc where students can build their talents, personality, ethics, morals and learn to contribute to the society as well.
Anything Else
It is one of the best commerce college as well as educational institution in the Northeast. The college excels not only in quality of education but in a holistic development of students as well.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

Overall experience in these 3 years was awesome.

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 26 Jun' 20

Joined On: 26 Jun' 20

Education Interest: Management

Education Level: Graduate & Above

Posted on 26 Jun' 20 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2019
  • B.Com
College Infrastructure
My college has all the necessary infrastructure and facilities for the students. There are AC and smart boards in most of the classrooms. There is a library where books related to our course are available and also a computer lab along with it. There is a canteen and a gym in the campus. The college has also provided hostel facilities for the boys in the campus. But there is no hostel facility for girls.
Academics
I have completed my graduation in B.Com (Management) from here. The quality of teaching is very good as most of the professors are PHD holders and we get good insights from them. The curriculum is updated and includes all the recent developments in the field. The course that I studied helped me gain a good amount of knowledge and makes me job-ready.
Placements
As a student of B.Com, there is no placement as such. But there is also MBA department in our college. So the MBA students gets the opportunity of campus placements. The companies that visits for recruitment are Reliance, Godrej, Amul, etc. The college is supportive enough during the placement process.
Value-for-money
The course fees is affordable. It cost around 10,000 per year. They also provide various scholarships to the students. I feel it is worth the education that I am getting here. With almost all the facilities and proper teaching staff of the college, I feel secure while studying here.
Campus Life
The college is situated in the hub of the Guwahati city where all types of facilities are available. The environment of the college is totally suitable for the students and we enjoyed every bit of it. Apart from academics, the students can indulge themselves in various activities like sports, cultural, art, NCC, etc. Every year college election is held where students can nominate themselves for various posts of student council. The professors, staff members and the students are cooperative.
Anything Else
It makes me proud to be a part of one of the best commerce colleges of the entire North East.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

One of my best part of academics in GCC

Verified Review

Last Seen: 25 Jun' 20

Joined On: 25 Jun' 20

Education Interest: Commerce

Education Level: Graduate & Above

Posted on 25 Jun' 20 by SUPRATIM CHAKRABORTY
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2019
  • B.Com
College Infrastructure
Yes, our college had almost all necessary facilities and equipments but wifi connection is not that effective , limited one. Our canteens and living spaces are quite hygienic with the basic facilities but required to be much more sophisticated one.
Academics
I have studied Bcom(ACCOUNTANCY) in this college and teaching techniques was efficuent one as they guided us as much as possible with their immense efforts. There are still some facilities yet to needed to be adopted in the curriculum.
Placements
Yes, there is a placement cell at this college and they provide placements as per the qualifiactions i.e.(Bcom, Mcom,Bba,Mba).But it is necessary to take some effective steps towards the palacement. Though they offer salary as per the companies but its time to adopt more effective steps towards betterment.
Value-for-money
Since it is a Government based institution the course fee or cost is an average amount of 10000 yearly basis package and the amounts are varying as per the courses offered,viz. MCOM,BBA,MBA,etc. including all other exam fees which is worthy enough.
Campus Life
The college is located in a populous area of Guwahati city with an enormous infrastructure facilities and an eco friendly one. It has all its necessary facilities , equipments and an amazing decorum. Our professors are our good guide with a supportive nature and friendly behaviour which helps the students to solve various kinds of diffuculties and could able to take part in extra curricular activities as some of the important inter state and district level competitions and events held here.
Anything Else
It is one of the renowned and best commerce college of Northeast India and lucky enough to be a part of this institution. Long Live Gauhati Commerce College
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

Top Commerce college in North east

Verified Review

Last Seen: 24 Jun' 20

Joined On: 24 Jun' 20

Education Interest: Management

Education Level: Graduate & Above

Posted on 24 Jun' 20 by Himangshu Das
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2019
  • B.Com
College Infrastructure
Our college have almost all the necessary facility and equipments such as Ac and projectors in most of the classroom .but there are still many classrooms which are still yet to be equipped with the above facilities. It has a computer lab with the modern equipment.The college also has a library in which it has a large collection of resources which are available for the students. It provides hostel facility for only boys.
Academics
Most of the faculties are PhD holders and very experienced. The college is under Gauhati University and the course is updated regularly as per the recommendation. The college authority also gives additional classes to the students in order to ensure that we are well equipped and are ready for job. The quality of teaching is excellent as the teacher ensures that learning continues to enlighten the students.
Placements
As I have completed my b.com from this college, it doesn't provide assurance of placement but a placement cell is there so that interested students can apply for it and the college corporate with them. As the college also provides professional degrees too , so the students pursuing MBA n other professional courses get placed in various companies like godrej, reliance etc .
Value-for-money
The cost of course per year is around 10,000. One can complete their graduation under 30000. The college fee is almost affordable and it also provides free admission for the students who are from economical backward. The college is under Government of Assam. It is worth as it enhances our knowledge in each and every field . The college also provides a platform for the students in which they can develop their skills so that the students are ready for the future endeavors.
Campus Life
The college is located at a prime location. The college is under the supervision of CCTV. Everything is accessible from the college location. One can complete its professional course while doing its graduation. The relation between teacher and students are friendly and supportive as the teachers are always ready to help in every field.
Anything Else
It is one of the best commerce college in the northeast. It provides quality education to its students at an affordable cost. It prepares the students for the future and makes them job ready.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

It is one of the best college for commerce education.

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 21 Jun' 20

Joined On: 21 Jun' 20

Education Interest: Commerce

Education Level: Graduate & Above

Posted on 21 Jun' 20 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2019
  • B.Com
College Infrastructure
My college have almost all the necessary infrastructure facilities and equipments. In my college almost every class have ac and projectors.It also have computer lab and library with huge collection of resources on every important topic.All the equipments in our college are in well and good condition and it works properly. It also provides hostel facilities to the boys. It provides good quality food to eat and clean and hygien place for living to each borders.
Academics
I have completed my graduation in commerce with specialisation in finance. I choosed this college because it is one of the best commerce education provider institute in the entire Northeast. Our course curriculum is updated and it provides us all the recent information. The quality of teaching is also good as most of our teachers are PHD holders. We always got updated and quality education and which always help to boost my knowledge and it also makes me job ready for future.
Placements
As I have just completed my graduation only it doesn't assurance of placement but a placement cell is there in my college so that intested students can apply for various jobs and can have better information regarding their career and placement. As the college also provides various professional degrees so the students studying MBA and other courses can get placed in various companies like Godrej, Reliance etc with a good package.
Value-for-money
The course fee is almost affordable and under some scheme the fee is very less for the financially weaker section. I feel that i have spend my money in the right college as it provides the best education to enhances my knowledge not only in the academic but also in all other field like cultural, sports and given me a good platform to boost my skills and it made me confident too.
Campus Life
The college campus is good and it is located in the prime location of the city with almost a good infrastructure. It provides friendly environment to the students for proper education. It also encourage the students to participate in various co curricular activities. The students ,teachers and other support staff are very helpful and supportive. They help the students in all possible way whenever they are in need or in case of any emergencies .
Anything Else
It is one of the commerce education provider institute in the entire Northeast. It always provide good quality, updated and recent developed knowledge to each students.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

Good and meaningful

Verified Review

Last Seen: 20 Jun' 20

Joined On: 20 Jun' 20

Education Interest: Commerce

Education Level: Graduate & Above

Posted on 20 Jun' 20 by JUPITARA GOSWAMI
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2019
  • B.Com
College Infrastructure
Yes our college have all the necessary infrastructure and facilities but some equipments were not in use like the use of projector in the classroom for better understanding. The facilities were good but not enough in our classrooms. Library was good , but regarding hostels we only have boy's hostels not girls hostel. Sports centres are not up to mark . WiFi and smart board are not in much use . Yes the space is clean and the food is hygienic and available at an affordable price.
Academics
Studying M.Com right now . Very well equipped clean and quality education is provided in M com in comparison to the degree level . The Hs level of GCC was too good but I was not so satisfyed with the degree level teaching and course structure . Some subject our curriculum was updated but some are not . A little much but I would like to suggest to introduce more and more job ready prospects and course in the final year specially
Placements
It was good but not uptothe mark. More importance in placement projects must be given .a very percentage of students were placed . Average salary15000-25000 offered. There's lot of potential in the students so more importance must be given regarding this
Value-for-money
Affordable 20000-30000 . Almost
Campus Life
It was beautiful . Student teachers and support staff was good . Location is a centrally located place. It is save. Yes it can absolutely handle emergencies
Anything Else
Good place as a whole
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

The college is one of the best college in the northeast.

Verified Review

Last Seen: 13 Jun' 20

Joined On: 23 Oct' 19

Education Interest: Sciences

Education Level: Graduate & Above

Posted on 13 Jun' 20 by Dhritiman Deka
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2019
  • B.Com
College Infrastructure
Yes,our college have all the neccessary infrastructure, facilities and equipment but those are quite limited.We still have some classes in which we dont have proper smart boards etc. Yes the libraries are very well maintained and the living spaces are clean up to some extend and yes the food is hygienic.
Academics
I have completed my graduation in b.com,management as my major subject. Most of our teaching staffs are PHD holders and they are giving are quality teaching to all the students. No,our curriculum is still a bit outdated in recent development.I haven't got any exposure to the outer walls so I doesn't made me job ready.
Placements
Being a B.Com graduate from this college, it doesn't provide assurance to placements. But as the college provides professional degree you can get placed in various companies like godej,reliance, jio etc,with a decent salary.
Value-for-money
The course fee is very affordable. I feel like getting my money's worth by investing in this college because the college gave me a good bit of knowledge in each and every feild and sharpen my skill and made me confident.
Campus Life
The college is located in the prime location of the city. The college also encourages student to show their talents in their respective field. The teachers and staffs are Also very supportive .
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

Pleasant

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 12 Jun' 20

Joined On: 12 Jun' 20

Education Interest: Management

Education Level: Graduate & Above

Posted on 12 Jun' 20 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2019
  • MBA
College Infrastructure
Yes, it has all required facilities and equipment. A/c, wi-fi, they are used and well maintained. It's clean to a point. The canteen need to upgrade and provide more variety of food to the students and it need more space.
Academics
MBA, cause I had interest in management. It's okay. MBA is all about making you job-ready. our curriculum is updated with all latest updates and development. It all updated till date and the management looks after it everyday.
Placements
It's good. Around 20% of students get placed. The highest salary was around 45k. Average salary was 20k, i didn't applied for it yet. But they are supportive. The placement are offered to you in the last year.
Value-for-money
It cost you around 90k per year. Yes! Cause other MBA offered University are charging more.
Campus Life
It's good. The best feature is the field. The students are engaged in all type of activities like sports, election, etc. It's is in prime location, and it is safe, it can handle any emergencies.
Anything Else
Pleasant and supportive.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

This college is fairly good to study in.

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 16 Jun' 20

Joined On: 09 Jun' 20

Education Interest: Commerce

Education Level: Graduate & Above

Posted on 09 Jun' 20 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2019
  • M.Com
College Infrastructure
Yes, the infrastructure of my college is decent enough and students are provided the required facilities. There has been few developments infrastructure wise and also new facilities have been added making it easier for the students. Drinking water facilities, air conditioners , clean toilets and spacious classrooms have been provided to the students. Libraries are also equipped with all the required courses needed by the students and aid in their studies.
Academics
I am pursuing post graduation, M.com. I chose to do this because I wanted to gather in-depth knowledge of the courses I came across during my HS and B.com days. Professors do their job well when it comes to teaching although the syllabus are quite outdated in comparison to colleges of other big cities. However students do gather all kind of knowledges taught by the professors and hence feel confident in facing the world after the completion of post graduation.
Placements
Placements have been fair enough I guess although it does depend on the skills of the student as well. The college does promises its students about good placements and have been delivering it fairly. The college has also been quite supportive to their students in this case.
Value-for-money
The yearly fee is around Rs 30,000. It's a decent amount for the knowledge and facilities provided by the college. Yes , I do feel that I am getting my money's worth as not only educational wise but students also enjoy various facilities provided by the college. Also they get the opportunity to take part in extra curricular activities that helps them to learn something different to the basic learning.
Campus Life
Some of the best features are that students are treated equally without any biases. The environment within the college is quite positive. While negative trait would be that the teachers are a bit laidback when it comes to finishing the courses. Other than that the professors are quite helpful and do support whenever asked for. Over all the experience is quite pleasant.
Anything Else
My experience in this college is a mix of both good and bad. I had my bad days when I did not wanted to go to college because I was lazy enough to miss the classes as some of the professors were really boring. However I had my good days as well where I got to learn a lot of new things and shared many experiences with my friends.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

Its a good decent college for commerce students to go for.

Verified Review

Last Seen: 09 Jun' 20

Joined On: 08 Dec' 18

Education Interest: Management

Education Level: In Graduation

Posted on 09 Jun' 20 by Kuwoli Kalita
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2019
  • B.Com
College Infrastructure
Yes, the classrooms are well equipped with ac, fan, projecter etc.But each and every classrooms dont have AC. Thats why the star mark is given average. Because it has lot more scope to improve for better standardisation and for more advancement by using well known technologies that can be used for facilitating more better teacher-student interactive experiencere.In case of hygiene its good and there is no availabilty of laboratories, no advance sports centres or hostels. Also no access to wifii.
Academics
Well, the quality of studying and teaching is quite good. But also the entire education system is not so that it makes the student job-ready after passing out, which is a fault of the system and not entirely on the college only. So, this can be neglected. Nevertheless, there are many talented and knowledgable professors and good students that makes the result rating/academics scoreboard of the college high.
Placements
The placement of this colllege for b.com to be specific is degrading since after passing out from graduation from my own experience i got to know about the placements which are not very good but of very low salary package placements . However, MBA grads from this college do get good placements.
Value-for-money
The college is certainly of moneys worth. Since GCC is a semi-govt college so the cost of the fees is also quite low. If you want to have quality education with good scope with less fees then GCC is a good option.
Campus Life
The college campus apparently the most beautiful college in the state with a good campus life. The students, teachers are supportive. The place is also precisely superb for its good access to transportation and for the location which is in the middle of city.
Anything Else
The Gauhati Commerce College (GCC) is ostensibly the most preferred college for students opting to commerce steam. It will provide a very good platform for development of students with good exposure to different field of interest of students be it like NCC, social service, poetry, dance, sports, music, comedy, and lot more. Though the college have very minor flaws with its infrastructure but its all negligible and definitely the right choice for students.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

An adventurous yet memorable journey altogether

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 04 Jun' 20

Joined On: 03 Jun' 20

Education Interest: Commerce

Education Level: Graduate & Above

Posted on 03 Jun' 20 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2019
  • B.Com
College Infrastructure
Starting with the environment of my college, it has a well-established infrastructure with all the departments such as Higher Secondary, B.Com, BBA, M.Com, MBA and PGDCA. The college provides all the basic facilities for our betterment such as smart boards in most of the classrooms, well-equipped library, computer labs, common room for both boys and girls and a canteen with hygienic food. There are well maintained hostel rooms for boys with a mess where hygienic food is served.
Academics
I did my B.Com with a major in Accountancy. The students are are full of positivity and we have a competitive edge here. The professors put enormous efforts in teaching us and making us understand. In case of any doubt, we also had the privilege to clear our doubts with a face-to-face interaction. Most of the professors here hold PHD Degree which is the best part from the academics perspective.
Placements
The quality of placements is comparatively good in our college. It provides a satisfied ROI that a student is looking for. Companies like Amul, Godrej, Reliance, Just Dial, ITC, ASian Paints, etc visits for campus recruitment of the MBA students. Almost 90% of the students gets placed and 50% of them gets a decent package. The process of the placement involves all the necessary steps and the college authorities are fully supportive during the placement process.
Value-for-money
My course fees was somewhere around Rs.14000-15000 and I was totally satisfied with the quality of education they provided with this limited amount of fees. I can proudly say that my learnings were beyond what I paid for.
Campus Life
The campus life is what I will be cherishing throughout my life. It made us so enthusiastic that I enjoyed each and every moment here. The people here are so energetic and supportive that irrespective of any age or class, we come together to enjoy in all the events. All the co-curricular activities are held here such as Freshers, Cultural Night where artists of Assam are invited, Sports week and College Election. The college is in a prime location and all kind of emergencies are handled here.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

My Overall Experience in GCC was Outstanding.

Verified Review

Last Seen: 02 Jun' 20

Joined On: 02 Jun' 20

Education Interest: Engineering and Architecture

Education Level: Class 12

Posted on 02 Jun' 20 by Ainur Hussain
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2016
  • B.Com
College Infrastructure
My college has almost all the equipments be it AC, Smart Board and Projector in many of the classroom. But the resources are limited as there are still many classroom which needs to be upgraded to digital classroom. It provides hostel facility for boys only. The students doesn't have the access to WiFi in the college premise although the management have access to it. It has a well organised library and computer labs with a huge collection of resources which are available for the students.
Academics
The College is affiliated under Gauhati University and it follows the syllabus prescribed by the University. I completed my B.Com in 2016 with a specialization in Accountancy. The quality of education is excellent as most of the faculties are PhD holders and has a huge experience. The projects assigned to the students in different field are updated every year and it includes all the recent developments in thier respective field which boosted my confidence and knowledge and it makes me job ready.
Placements
The college doesn't provided assurance of placement to its students who completes thier graduation. Very few company comes for campus recruitment for the graduation students. However, the students who pursue MBA and other professional course gets placed in various companies such as Godrej, Pantaloons, Jio etc. There is a placement cell in the college and the students who are interested for placement can apply in various company and the college cooperates with them.
Value-for-money
The course fees to purse B. Com is around ₹10, 000 every year. Basically, I completed my graduation in ₹30, 000. The worth of money is very high as the college provides quality education to its students at an affordable cost. It enhances our knowledge in each and every field. It also provides a platform for the students to develop the required skills on order to ensure that our future is secured and we are ready for Job.
Campus Life
The best feature of the college is that it is located at a prime location. The premise of the college is environment friendly and it is safe for the girls and boys. The college can handle all types of emergencies as it is located at the main city. This also helps the students in engaging various extra-curricular activities. The relation between students and teachers are friendly as teachers are always there to help the students.
Anything Else
The College has a legacy of providing quality education to its students and this makes Gauhati Commerce College as one of the best Commerce College in Northeast. The management always encourage students to take part in various extra curricular actives and represent the college at State or National level
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

One of my best experiences as a part of this college

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 03 Jul' 20

Joined On: 26 Nov' 18

Education Interest: Management

Education Level: In Graduation

Posted on 01 Jun' 20 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2019
  • B.Com
College Infrastructure
The college itself is located at a prime location that attracts the people to have a glance at it. Talking about the infrastructure, it is one of a kind. It provides all types of facilities starting from well equipped classes, a library, computer labs and a canteen. There is also a boys hostel in the campus which is well maintained. Apart from studies, many extra curricular events are held every year such as sports, cultural events, etc.
Academics
I have completed my B.Com in this prestigious college where there is so much of competition. Most of the faculties hold a PHD degree and their teachings are outclass apart from some of the faculties. We got the privilege to interact with the faculties on a one-to-one basis and they used to give their best in clearing our doubts.
Placements
Many companies come for campus recruitment such as ITC, Asian Paints, HDFC, Amul, etc. The placement process goes smoothly with all the necessary steps and gives a great learning to the students. Not only it gives the opportunity to the MBA students but also many a times companies visit for the recruitment of B.Com students.
Value-for-money
My course fees per year was around Rs.15,000 and it was worth it. Grabbing ocean of opportunities with limited fees is something that we all admire and I am happy to be a part of it.
Campus Life
This college gave me end number of memories to be cherished forever. Starting from college freshers, sports week, cultural night to college election, I have actively participated in all of these events and they were the best part of my college life. The teachers are so supportive towards motivating us. The college is located in R.G Baruah Road, which is a prime location and one of the safest places for students. In case of any medical emergency, our college also provides ambulance 24*7.
Anything Else
Overall, it was the best part of my life. I feel blessed to be a part of North-East's No.1 Commerce College.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

My overall experience is good and gained lots.

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 29 May' 20

Joined On: 29 May' 20

Education Interest: Commerce

Education Level: Graduate & Above

Posted on 29 May' 20 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2015
  • M.Com
College Infrastructure
Yes I can say that our college have all the necessary infrastructure, facilities and equipment but it can be improved. Facilities of classroom, classrooms, laboratories, libraries, sports centres and hostels are all are not used and also not so well maintained. Improement is also needed here. Yes living spaces are clean and hygienic.
Academics
I am studying M.Com because of my interest in commerce. Quality of teaching is good but the standard of teaching can be improved. No I don't think so but its under process. Yes I think my study makes my job ready and I am also confident for this.
Placements
Quality of placement is average but its also depend upon the students quality. I think placement depends upon the quality of interview that students gave. Average I can 40 percent of students are placed every year and package is around 2-3 lakhs (average)per annum. Yes it is pleasant for me and also my college is supportive.
Value-for-money
Different course have different cost as I am doing M.com my course fees is Rs 10000/- per semister therefore my whole course fees is Rs 40000/- in 4 semister. Yes I feel I am getting my money's worth because its very reasonable and affordable cost not for only me but also for all section (poor,average and rich) of students .
Campus Life
Campus life is good or I can say more than good. Its best part is it is middle of city where transport system is too good. Hostel facilities is also good and the worst part is no playground has been completed yet but we hope it will be completed as soon as possible as it is under process. Students can go for gym as gym room is in the campus, indoor games, etc.
Anything Else
I can say that overall it is good commerce college in entire Northeast. Students from different parts of Northeast or from any where from Indian can come and join this college for their commerce education.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

It provide me quality education to upgrade my knowlelge

Verified Review

Last Seen: 29 May' 20

Joined On: 27 May' 20

Education Interest: Management

Education Level: Graduate & Above

Posted on 28 May' 20 by Nitipriyakeot03
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2019
  • B.Com
College Infrastructure
My college have almost all the neccesary facilities and equipments, with ac and projectors in most of the classrooms.it also have well computer labs and library with huge collection of resources available in it. It also provides hostel facility for boys .
Academics
I have completed my graduation in bcom with specialisation in accountancy Our course curriculum is updated and includes all the recent developments.Most of the teaching staff are phd holders ,so the quality of education we get was amazing and which always helped me to boost up my knowledge and it also makes me job ready for future .
Placements
As i have completed my bcom from this college, it doesn't provide assurance of placement ,but a placement cell is there so that the interest student can apply for it and the college corporate with them .As the college also provides professional degrees too ,so the students pursuing mba n other professional courses get placed in various companies like godrej,relience etc. With a good package
Value-for-money
I feel like i am getting my money is the right college as it enhances our knowledge in each and every field and given me a plateform to build and developed our skills ,so that our future can be secure and make us confident too.The course fee is almost affordable .
Campus Life
The college is located in a prime location of the city.With almost a good infrastructure .It provides a friendly environment to the students.also encourage the student to participate in various co curricular activities.The students,teachers and support staff are like very supportive they are always ready to help .
Anything Else
It is one of the best college commerce college in northeast .It always provide quality education to the students
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

Expectations are good.

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 19 May' 20

Joined On: 20 May' 19

Education Interest: Engineering and Architecture

Education Level: Class 12

Posted on 19 May' 20 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2022
  • B.Com
College Infrastructure
Infrastructure is going but cleanliness is not there so much. Many of the classrooms are not clean enough. So, the classrooms should be clean and tidy, so that we could go n seat there. So the is quite good.
Academics
I'm studying b.com right now because in commerce field b.com gives you variation and I think all the Commerce students should do b.com in their career. Our curriculum is not very much updated and it doesn't include recent developments. And the course doesn't prepare us job ready.
Placements
Actually right now I'm studying so I cannot give you the details of placements but what I heard from others that it has good placements but not that much and I haven't seen any recruiters to come our College.
Value-for-money
My course cost per year is around 6000. I don't think that I'm getting my money's worth because I'm not seeing any progress on me and also from the College side .The College find like a traditional Indian College.
Campus Life
I don't think the College campus is great because is near the main road and so much noises come from the road and you can hear it from the College. There is no activities. It's location is very good because it is at the centre of the city and it is safe .
Anything Else
No , right now I'm just experiencing my journey.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

Great Campus life and study

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 16 Sep' 16

Joined On: 16 Sep' 16

Education Interest: n/a

Posted on 16 Sep' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2016
  • B.Com
The campus life is great. I made many types of friends. But the faculty is not that good. The infrastructure is good but there should be more facilities provided. The only thing that helped me to get through this year are the shops nearby the college. They are good hangout places. The college should improve their faculty and also get the best facilities in terms of infrastructure.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Great college life but with less learning

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 12 Sep' 16

Joined On: 12 Sep' 16

Education Interest: n/a

Posted on 11 Sep' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2016
  • B.Com
The best thing about this college is the student crowd and the infrastructure. The MBA classes are fully AC and it is a delight to sit there.The thing that should be added to make the college in better industrial exposure will be the faculty. The thing that made my college life .would be the awesome student interaction I got and the freedom of infrastructure. Truthfully there are no placements in any way. I wasn't in the hostel so don't know much about the hostel. I wanted more sports activity in college. The faculty is good but some professors were lazy and didn't make us understand the things. The student crowd is great. It was awesome. in my opinion. It is affordable in many ways as per the infrastructure and also the faculty.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

The Best Commerce Studies in North East

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 10 Sep' 16

Joined On: 10 Sep' 16

Education Interest: n/a

Posted on 10 Sep' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2016
  • B.Com
Gauhati Commerce College in Guwahati is renowned in the entire region for being the best place to study for Commerce. It hosts many State Level competitions and coming under the direct control of the Government of Assam commands a reputation amongst all the Commerce aspirants in Assam and in the North East. Being situated in the heart of the city, it is easily and well commutable with all public transports. It enjoys a large campus, with its own-operated canteen, gymnasium, football ground, tennis ground, and all the necessary infrastructure a College should have. Being one of the oldest Institutions of the state, it attracts a large number of students in each Academic year willing to pursue studies in either Commerce or Management. Industry exposure is still yet to reach its standard mark. Regular guest lectures and seminars are held on the Campus. Its Alumni has can be found in almost all corporations in the Northeast and in the Metros of India and this helps in bringing leaders of the nations to come to Guwahati and to our college for interaction. The only lag I found is that, despite the high cut off and standards maintained by the College, it fails to attract smart companies and big firms to recruit our students from our college. Our batchmates are at par with most Metro-colleges in the country but being situated in the NorthEast this leads to a disadvantage, speaking in terms of its corporate affairs. Hostels are nice. Food preparation/ service is done adequately. And being located in the heart of the city, all the city's main eateries, malls, hangouts places are only a distance away from the college gate. The annual tuition fees are affordable as it charges only minimal amount.Annual fees are below Rs. 10,000. You get the best of the best, by paying an amount that won't create a hole in your pocket. The faculty at the college is the topmost with an excellent reputation in the academia zone. Being located in the heart of the city, and commanding a reputation all across North East, it attracts huge students from all corners of the region. And there is huge diversity within the student community. The student crowd is good and we meet people from all different cultures, and from every background.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

About my college Gauhati Commerce College

Verified Review
Anonymous

Joined On: 23 Oct' 15

Education Interest: n/a

Posted on 22 Oct' 15 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2013
  • B.Com
It is my honour to review my college where I have spend my 5 crucial year's starting from 11th Standard till my B. Com. Its a dream of every commerce aspirant to take admission in this college. Being the finest commerce college in Assam, studying in this college have a significant impact on its status. The FACULTY being the finest of all, be in the field of Marketing or Finance or Banking they all are simply awesome. Live long GCC..................
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

About my college

Verified Review
Anonymous

Joined On: 19 Oct' 15

Education Interest: n/a

Posted on 21 Oct' 15 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2013
  • B.Com
It feels great when I introduce my as a "COMMERCIAN". Gauhati Commerce College(GCC) the most renowned college of the North-East India. It was the dream of any student who wants to pursue Commerce, to join GCC. It also increased ones status when someone else came came to know about you that you are studying in GCC. Live Long GCC!!!!!!!!
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Awesome college for Graduation

Verified Review

Joined On: 19 Oct' 15

Education Interest: n/a

Posted on 20 Oct' 15 by Tariq
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2013
  • B.Com
Gauhati Commerce College(GCC) famously known as Commerce College is the most renowned college of North-East India. Its a dream of every Commerce student to have a degree under the name of Gauhati Commerce College. It increased the status of every individual who studies in this college. No matter from which family he/she belongs. Live long GCC
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?
Disclaimer: The reviews mentioned above truly represent the experience of the student / alumni. We do not allow manipulation / editing of these reviews by any personal.

Download the Careers360 App on your Android phone

Regular exam updates, QnA, Predictors, College Applications & E-books now on your Mobile

Careers360 App
  • 150M+ Students
  • 24,000+ Colleges
  • 500+ Exams
  • 1500+ E-books
  • Economic Times
  • Financial Express
  • Firstpost
  • Livemint