Indian Law Society Law College, Pune Reviews
Indian Law Society Law College, Pune

Pune, Maharashtra College of Savitribai Phule Pune University, Pune
Download Brochure
3.8/5
Based on 15 Reviews
College Infrastructure
3.1/5
Academics
3.9/5
Placements
2.8/5
Value for Money
3.4/5
Campus Life
4.0/5
Showing 15 Reviews

It has been one of the most enriching experience.

Verified Review

Last Seen: 21 Apr' 20

Joined On: 18 Dec' 19

Education Interest: Management

Education Level: In Graduation

Posted on 21 Apr' 20 by Ram Sharma
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2021
  • BA LLB
College Infrastructure
The college has all the necessary infrastructure as required by the University guidelines. There are accessibility ramps for specially abled students also. The classrooms are basic with the addition of projectors and a capacity of more than 100 in each classroom. The library is one of the biggest in Asia and has a specially dedicated college ground and basketball court. There is a half swimming pool also. The campus is Wi-Fi enabled and has easy high speed conenction.The living spaces is alright
Academics
I am studying BALLB and ILS is the best law college in Maharashtra. The quality of teaching is top notch with faculties having specialization and PhD in their respective subjects. The curriculum is not controlled directly by the college, however the university has revised the curriculum to meet the needs of the newer developments in the field.
Placements
On an average the college placements are not too high, since most students go for litigation with independent lawyers. The average salaries offered are not too high however all the tier 1 firms do come to college for the campus selection, and also a lot of students get their PPOs from top law firms.
Value-for-money
The course costs around 38k per year. The course is worth the money since it includes not just the curriculum and academics but also the extra-curricular activities.
Campus Life
The best features of our college campus is the canteen and the hostel Life that one would get, making friends of many kinds. There is not ragging in ILS hostels and there are strict rules against the same. The college is located in one of the best areas of Pune and the police station is also very close to the college.
Anything Else
The best way to experience the life at ILS would be to not live outside the college hostel and make sure you take part in all the legal cells and societies and enjoy every intra college competition well. Networking with your seniors should be your top priority.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

Legally clear

Verified Review

Last Seen: 26 Sep' 16

Joined On: 15 Apr' 15

Education Interest: Management

Posted on 26 Sep' 16 by Gaurav
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2014
  • LLB
Always wanted to be a lawyer since My college days hence after My graduation got into ils one of the premier law institutes in the country being the top ranked college in the three year law course .the overall experience was good but I must say that the college did not live up to the expectations in terms of exposure and placement . But being in ils will definitely give you an edge over others
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

ILS Law College - Is The Legacy Fading

Verified Review

Last Seen: 31 Aug' 16

Joined On: 31 Aug' 16

Education Interest: n/a

Posted on 31 Aug' 16 by Manav Mutneja
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2016
  • LLB
Everyone knows that ILS Law College is one of the best colleges to study Law in India, but over the years, due to the lax attitude of the administration and lack of funds available for investment in the College Infrastructure and Hostels, the College is losing its sheen among the well-funded National Law Schools and privately run colleges like Symbiosis Law School. To Top it off, even the University does not pay heed to demand of modernizing the syllabus and reviewing teaching and evaluation patterns. But, without all this, it's still one of the best places to be considering it has one of the best libraries in India, the proper focus is paid to extracurricular activities, along with events and seminars that help students fill the void that our syllabus lacks. The student crowd is a proper mix of Inside and Outside Maharashtra students, which helps you to connect with people coming from different cities and backgrounds. The College fees are still one of the cheapest available options in India. Overall, the College has a lot of potentials to achieve its status of being one of the best colleges for Law again, with some proper fiscal investment in overall infrastructure and hostel accommodation, and time to review the teaching pattern currently used to make sure students get a better balance of understanding the theoretical and practical aspects of law rather than just focus on rote learning which is a common requirement to pass University of Pune exams.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

College that provides an opportunity

Verified Review

Joined On: 31 Aug' 16

Education Interest: n/a

Posted on 31 Aug' 16 by Reddy
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2019
  • BA LLB
A good college that gives an opportunity for a person to mould his/her life in a proper way. Makes you do your work and make your life plan by own. No spoon feeding and good faculty. Hostel facility is decent. Changing canteen but good locality for food ordering and restaurants also.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Mixed feeelings

Verified Review
Anonymous

Joined On: 31 Aug' 16

Education Interest: n/a

Posted on 31 Aug' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2018
  • LLB
I have had a quite an amazing experience out here at this college. The seniors are very supportive and friendly. They are the backbone of this college. And by students I mean the ones who set a good crowd. Some teachers are approachable. The hostel life was good only if I count the friends that I have made over here and not include hygiene, food, administration issues.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

ILS Palace for Students and Dogs

Verified Review

Last Seen: 30 Aug' 16

Joined On: 17 Feb' 15

Education Interest: Law

Posted on 29 Aug' 16 by Raghu gurram
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2020
  • BA LLB
Your eyes begin to startle to see the dogs when you enter through the gate but the pleasant breeze from the hill makes you feel comfortable. One really feels lucky to have such a campus at times where schools struggle to find simple playing place.The timings of the lectures make you feel that you left with ample of time but one will run out of time to do justice for the multiple events that take place in the college and the students are equally enthusiastic and you rarely find a student without doing anything.One can be disappointed by the infrastructure and the poor maintenance of the college but the law faculty of the college, the coordination with seniors, books in the library and the fact that more than 60% of students are girls will pacify one's disappointment. Ils has the history of producing ministers and justices. Talking about the hostel, one may feel that you paid Rs 60,000/- for a single room in a hell but it is no contrary to say that it is a profane place for sleeping.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Unique life

Verified Review

Last Seen: 30 Aug' 16

Joined On: 29 Aug' 16

Education Interest: Law

Posted on 29 Aug' 16 by Maanvi Jain
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2020
  • BA LLB
ILS opens its gate to one and all. It is a perfect example of the university in diversity. All festivals be it Ganesh Chaturthi, Janmashtami or onam are celebrated with full enthusiasm. Even the senior- junior interaction is good. Seniors are given the chance of conducting and organizing all events and even introducing new creative competitions like the negotiation challenge or client counselling competition. They get the opportunity to start new cells where they are able to educate and teach the juniors about the new fields in law since main law subjects start from third year onwards. We have just three hours of college and the rest of the time is given to exploring new things, pursue our hobbies or do internships. We are left to shape our life the way we want. The moment you enter Ils you get the feel of entering a heritage since its constructed in 1923. Ils have preserved that touch. Trees grow wild making you closer to nature and away from the busy Pune city life. The unavoidable evils of youth life prevail in the background but the predominant crowd is smart, studious yet fun loving. The college conducts many autonomous courses including diplomas. We get a touch of everything and are taken to educational trips like jail visit and courts. We get to learn the fun way. The college is famous for giving exceptional judges like chief justice V. Y. Chandrachud. Many great lawyers spread all over India and even outside India have passed out from Ils. Corporate placements are good and Ils is in the first list of all firms for recruiting lawyers . Students of Ils also take up professions like teaching , researching at renowned institutes world over and do not limit themselves to litigation. LLM at Ils is also good with people from all age groups getting an opportunity to complete their post graduation. Ils is not just a learning institution but a whole different world to live and explore.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

ILS:An Extravagant Combination of Sound Academics & Exposure

Verified Review

Last Seen: 30 Aug' 16

Joined On: 30 Aug' 16

Education Interest: n/a

Posted on 29 Aug' 16 by Chandrasekhar Haridh
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2020
  • BA LLB
Before starting the review, I just want to convey to my readers that this review might be a bit long. But I felt that if I hadn't written at least this much, then it would mean injustice to this legendary college. ILS, that's a name you would definitely hear, if you are determined to make your career in law. Not only because it is one of the earliest law colleges in India, but also because of its consistent reputation even today after more than 90 years of its establishment. Once you enter the historical campus set right in the center of Pune, you will get to see the iconic Saraswati building, which is the administrative block of the college. It also houses the best law library in Asia. Not many people know this, but the ILS library houses the most number of law books, some belonging to the eighteenth century. This library along with NALSAR, NLSIU, and NLU Delhi is the only one where you can properly research for Stetson. Then as you cross the Saraswati, after some distance you will find the Laxmi Building on the right, which is the academic block. It houses about 20 classrooms in 2 floors.The classes are well furnished and are also equipped with projectors and smart screens for specific classes. The campus is arguably one of the most beautiful ones in India. Probably the only one to have a hill too named the Law College Hill. Trekking the hill is one of the most joyous things you can do and it also offers a magnificent view of the Western Ghats. The campus also consists of a gym, swimming pool, hostels, a canteen, a mess. It also includes a basketball court, tennis court and a huge multipurpose ground where if you are lucky, you can find some IPL players practicing.When it comes to faculty and you have those people who author the books you read in the library, what more can you ask for? Let alone the other things, ILS really has the charisma, it enjoys today only due to its faculty. I am doing my second year right now and my personal favourites include professor Santosh Jaybhay, who teaches us contracts and Miss Usha Ganesh, who teaches us English for BA. The main reason I enjoy the law classes here are due to the fact that they don't just teach you the act. They try to logically arise your mind and due to that you yourself will utter out the law, let alone try to study and remember it. That really makes you love the subject. Obviously, there are legends like Miss Nilima Bhadbade, who have written a dozen of acclaimed books. ILS has the most self-motivated student crowd. The campus mainly comes life only after the classes get over. Dozens of cells, debates, discussions and what not. It is very difficult not to find yourself interested in something or other in this college. Being a college receiving aid from the government, the fees is lower than most of the schools charge you. Being constantly featured among the best law institutions in the country many reputed law firms, government companies, and MNCs don't really miss to hire the people here. And obviously not to forget, when you feel that you lack the motivation or inspiration, ILS again does not let you down. Literally, ILS is a legend making the machine. YV Chandrachud, Hidyatullah just to name a few. When it comes to boots, hardly 2 to 3 colleges in the nation can match up ILS. Debates, MUNs, nothing in the country happen without inviting ILS. So, to conclude, ILS always strikes the right balance between the academics of top NLUs and practical exposure which they lack. So, in my second year, I found ILS so much more just than a college, that I didn't just like it but fell in love with it.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

ILS THAT CAN BE.

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 16 Nov' 17

Joined On: 20 Aug' 16

Education Interest: Law

Education Level: Graduate & Above

Posted on 20 Aug' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2017
  • LLB
Good but needs more industry and noncorporate law exposure. Ils needs to become autonomous and break ties from the university. The system of examination is archaic. The marking system and assessment criteria of the university are in a range of 50 to 60 percent highest for the university which makes most students who are have been stated toppers or university toppers ending with an academic credential that make ineligible for most national exams. If they do this away it can be the place that most come here for.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Self improvement in all aspects of life

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 31 Aug' 16

Joined On: 11 May' 14

Education Interest: Medical

Education Level: Class 12

Posted on 12 Aug' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2019
  • BA LLB
Excellent permanent and visiting faculty at my institute. Many people don't know about the college because of less marketing. The only thing college lacks is the On-campus hostel experience. Most of the students are residing in the nearby area due to poor hostel facilities. The college is very helping and friendly seniors. Faculties are highly experienced. One can get good industry exposure by working in so many projects offered to the students.Overall very good college but its up to you to use it properly.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Learn on your own

Verified Review

Joined On: 11 Aug' 16

Education Interest: n/a

Posted on 11 Aug' 16 by Vanika Sinha
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2018
  • BA LLB
The college was built in 1924 hence it is spacious and old style, with one of the best libraries of the country, access to online databases. The campus includes gymnasium, swimming pool, sports field and a Hill with a nice trek experience and view of the city. A good mix of experienced and young and zesty academicians as well as practicing advocates as visiting faculty with a plethora of practical knowledge. Countries top rated firms and companies recruit from the college but in limited numbers. Sports, drama, mooting, debating and other such activities are encouraged in the college and given due importance. The hostel facilities are limited but very convenient as all accommodation is on campus and the environment is friendly and conducive to learning. The college hours are not long leaving the student with enough time to pursue other interests as they please and develop other skills.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Where you'll find peace.

Verified Review
Anonymous

Joined On: 13 Oct' 15

Education Interest: n/a

Posted on 13 Oct' 15 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2017
  • LLB
The college environment is awesome. It is located on a hill. Sonit has a great atmosphere all around. Attendance is very compulsory. Wiz 75%. Our college conducts lots of activities such as moot court competitions and various other law related competitions. It also gives opportunity to students to participate in international moots. So overall it is a good college.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Purely Legal.

Verified Review
Anonymous

Joined On: 11 Oct' 15

Education Interest: n/a

Posted on 11 Oct' 15 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2017
  • BA LLB
Experienced faculty. Great opportunities. Super alumni support. Awesome co-curricular activities. Lacks infrastructure. Not at all fancy. If interested in extra-curricular activities, make your own way. No support from college management. Only for people who are serious about their profession.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Life @ ILS

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 11 Oct' 15

Joined On: 11 Oct' 15

Education Interest: n/a

Posted on 11 Oct' 15 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2011
  • LLB
It is a 130 year old institution whose alma mater consists of some very eminent jurists. The visiting faculty teaching at the college is highly recommended. However, the course structure prescribed by university of pune causes a setback there by not bringing it at par with the national law schools.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Over All Developement

Verified Review

Last Seen: 27 Apr' 16

Joined On: 06 Apr' 14

Education Interest: Engineering and Architecture

Education Level: Graduate & Above

Posted on 12 Jun' 15 by Pragya
Having grown around tall buildings and industries, on my first visit to ILS Law College, I was pretty shocked. This was a new environment with a flush of green bestrewed all around. Always a law aspirant, I discovered sides to me in ILS, i never thought I would. It definitely helped me in an all round development. I have just completed my first year and I had an opportunity to participate in various moots, TAC, sport competitions, paper presentation, dance club and drama. The advantage of studying in ILS is that you get to meet people from all around the country living in different conditions, having faced various economic conditions in their tiny life span of 18 years. The teaching faculty is just great. Teachers are highly qualified and knowledgeable and can be confronted. The placements last year were pretty good, with packages ranging from 3.5-16 lac/annum. The library was my dream come true, with every possible legal book available. The canteen is a decent one.offers chinese and north indian cuisine.the only problem I seem to have with the college is the hefty amount charged for the Hostels. The hostels are decent, with okayish faculties, but paying 1.38 lac is just not worth it. But overall, it is an amazing college.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
Is this Review Helpful?
Disclaimer: The reviews mentioned above truly represent the experience of the student / alumni. We do not allow manipulation / editing of these reviews by any personal.

Download the Careers360 App on your Android phone

Regular exam updates, QnA, Predictors, College Applications & E-books now on your Mobile

Careers360 App
  • 150M+ Students
  • 24,000+ Colleges
  • 500+ Exams
  • 1500+ E-books
  • Economic Times
  • Financial Express
  • Firstpost
  • Livemint