S K Somaiya Degree College Of Arts, Science and Commerce, Mumbai Reviews S K Somaiya Degree College Of Arts, Science and Commerce, Mumbai

Rating Summary

3.6/5
9 Reviews
College Infrastructure
3.9/5
Academics
3.7/5
Placements
3.3/5
Value for Money
2.8/5
Campus Life
4.1/5
Student Rating 3.6/5 (Showing 9 Reviews)

Amazing. .worth to study n spend 5 yrs of life in this colle

Verified Review
Posted on 16 Feb' 20 by Sakshi
Batch of Jan. 1, 2020 | BMS
College Infrastructure
New ammeneties .. comfortable classrooms... cleanliness is its prime Moto...but unhygienic washrooms... food facilities biased for some students ..digital attendance facility available from this year .need to improve
Academics
Less initiative taken by professors...portion taught is mostly incomplete...less assignments ...not so qualified professors... question bank provided.. overall it's a 50 50 rating on academics .......need to improve
Placements
Not satisfactory ...finance placements are not available at all..only calling and back office placements are offered under the name of big corporate firms n banks.. required more relevant jobs n placements accorfing to the degree which we r studying...need to look upon
Value-for-money
Education is not as per desired. More money but not that worth . Need to lower their cost ... financial burden over students...more quality of study required ..........................................need to improve
Campus Life
Best...Somaiya college is mainly recognised or known for its campus as it is the most big among all colleges in mumbai..each departments and college has its different ground n amphitheatre with high tech ammeneties
Anything Else
Overall the college is good according to all aspects mention above...each n every colleges has some pros n cons so do Somaiya has..need to work on some of those problems and make the college to reach on the top
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Value for Money
Is this Review Helpful?

The best one yet

Verified Review
Posted on 25 May' 17 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2019 | Bachelor of Mass Media
I fell in love with the college the moment I set foot in it. Later, as time went by, I discovered more about it. The faculty is amazing. You'll never feel like an outsider here. The students, the faculty everyone is very welcoming and helpful. The office staff could do a little better, but it's all fine. The teaching is what matters and they're amazing. They are great at guidance about internships, further options and everything. You ask, they answer. I've spent a year at this college, and every teacher has nourished me as their own. The college offers a variety of clubs for you to join and the events are all just great. The exposure is real nice. Overall, my college experience uptill now has just been amazing. Trust me, this is best choice for BMM.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Value for Money
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
Is this Review Helpful?

Fun learning

Verified Review
Posted on 19 Sep' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 1988 | B.Com
It was a great time learning here, various activities and industrial visits were the cherry on the cake. The faculties helped us in studies to the best and the college gave us good memories. Placements were conducted in the last year giving us numbers of opportunities to enter into job world and helping us to gain practical knowledge.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Value for Money
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
Is this Review Helpful?

One of best institution in mumbai

Verified Review
Posted on 31 Aug' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | BA
SK Somaiya is located in Vidyavihar and is one coolest college in Mumbai. The college Infra is mediocre one. Student crowd is nice but most of them are guju being a Guru college. Teachers are nice and quite experienced one and life at SKS is just awesome. We have college fest and its a great opportunity to be a part of it. I would recommend this college.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Value for Money
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

A Place I will Definitely Miss

Verified Review
Posted on 30 Aug' 16 by gaurav kogta
Batch of Jan. 1, 2015 | BA
S.K.Somaiya Degree college of Arts, Science and Commerce , if you have heard about this college it's probably because you get a yearly update on news that this college is going to close down, this is nothing but a myth. Located at Vidyavihar, this college is a perfect destination for peace and serenity. The faculty is very knowledgeable and they impart the same in their teaching. Academics and practical aspects of a business are covered beautifully by them. Apart from classrooms and labs, this college can boast of state of the art recreation center. The excellent collection of books in the library which can be taken home to refer makes it easy and convenient for a student to gain vast knowledge without having to buy the books .The collection of books is spread across the multitude of subjects ranging from general knowledge, marketing to global scenario. The canteen is not up to the mark, but there are many eateries around the campus. Also, there is a lot of open space where you can play football and cricket. I had a wonderful time of 3 years doing my BMS from this college and I wish I could relive those moments.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Value for Money
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Making friends for lifetime was the best thing

Verified Review
Posted on 24 Aug' 16 by Bhoomi Patel
Batch of Jan. 1, 2015 | BA
Academically, K. J. Somaiya was good not that great. We never had any career advice from any professional. Things were dull, expect for some lectures, where the lecturer actually took the pains to bring us news about actual world. Overall it was an average experience.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Value for Money
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

College experiences r always good when u enjoy it.

Verified Review
Posted on 23 Aug' 16 by sakshi jain
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | BA
My experience to has still started. The faculty is just awesome. and The campus is too large that I take at least one hour to have a watch. The Placement cell is great. and other activities goes on such as fest , competitions ,etc. My review r good about the college.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Value for Money
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

College for Education and fun

Verified Review
Posted on 11 Oct' 15 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2016 | B.Com
This college provides awesome college life with huge campus, upgrading infrastructure latest facilities, Libraries, Recreation, Sports, Cafeterias. Somaiya Vidyavihar is an unusual campus having 34 difference institutes on one large campus ranging from Humanities and Sciences, Medicine, management, Religion & Culture, Engineering & Education
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

it was a wonderful experience.....

Verified Review
Posted on 07 Oct' 15 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2014 | Bachelor of Mass Media
It was indeed a great experience, new things to learn, very good infrastructure good faculties....very corporative..... Interesting subjects....to gain practical knowledge..... Love college because of campus n the canteen food one of the best food with hygiene factors kept in mind .
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?
Disclaimer: The reviews mentioned above truly represent the experience of the student / alumni. We do not allow manipulation / editing of these reviews by any personnel.
Interested in this College?

Download the Careers360 App on your Android phone

Regular exam updates, QnA, Predictors, College Applications & E-books now on your Mobile

Careers360 App
150M+ Students
24,000+ Colleges
500+ Exams
1500+ E-books