University of Calcutta, Kolkata Reviews
University of Calcutta, Kolkata (Also known as: CALUNIV)

Kolkata, West Bengal
Download Brochure
4.0/5
Based on 24 Reviews
College Infrastructure
3.2/5
Academics
4.1/5
Placements
2.4/5
Value for Money
2.6/5
Campus Life
4.3/5
Showing 24 Reviews

Become a Master when you need not be a Bachelor

Verified Review

Last Seen: 14 Aug' 20

Joined On: 14 Aug' 20

Education Interest: Management

Education Level: Graduate & Above

Posted on 14 Aug' 20 by Supriy Bhargava
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2012
  • M.Com
College Infrastructure
Being an age old institution having completed its 175th year, CU is now a heritage structure with British architecture still donning its campus. Since its a Govt owned institution, the infrastructure is improving every passing day however there still scope for further improvements
Academics
The curriculum is now updated with CBCS system spread over 4 semesters with a research methodology paper. I would advise a mandatory internship for a period of 2 months which can further improve experiences of the students
Placements
The University’s commerce department has a placement cell but that does not appear to be active. Very few corporates are tied up and that too the offerings are not that lucrative. The dept needs to work on the placement opportunities for its students
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

Average life of average college

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 10 Jun' 20

Joined On: 10 Jun' 20

Education Interest: Management

Education Level: Graduate & Above

Posted on 10 Jun' 20 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2020
  • B.Com
College Infrastructure
In my college, classes have all the necessary facilities and equipment. Classes have smart boards and are big enough to accommodate around 80 people. Labs are accessible to all but being a commerce student i dont use it. Living spaces are clean and hygienic
Academics
I am pursuing b.com in Calcutta university because i have interest in accounting fields. Yes my curriculum is fully updated to give us maximum knowledge on my filed. Also it includes all the recent development
Placements
The quality of placement is average. More than 65% of the students gets placed every year. The average salary offered to a students is 3 lakhs. The placement process is easy because of the support given by college.
Value-for-money
In terms of money, Fees is affordable and i am okay with the amount of money i am paying. This is because of the fact that placement opportunity is also not that bad and the environment we live in, we make lot of friends.
Campus Life
Campus of our college , although it is small i have make lot of friends. The best feature of our college is cultural groups from where i have made lot of friends. The students, teachers and support staffs are also very nice and good
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

Proud of decision to take admission in this college!

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 01 Jun' 20

Joined On: 01 Jun' 20

Education Interest: Sciences

Education Level: In Graduation

Posted on 01 Jun' 20 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
College Infrastructure
My college is Viharilaal college of Home science department under University of Calcutta. It has got a single building . Labs are fully equipped with latest equipment. Classrooms are big and can easily accommodate 50-60 students. Hostel Facilities are available.
Academics
Presently , I am studying bsc honors in food and nutrition. I choose this course because this course is enlisted in the Viharilaal college which is the head of the home science department of Calcutta University. Quality of education imparted is very good as this college has a good reputation. Professors are also highly qualified and helpful.
Placements
Since it is a honors college, so we don't have placements. But we do have small period internship in different hospitals (not on the job training ) that gives us hands on experience in the field. It is more of a academic training.
Value-for-money
It is totally worth it in terms of fees. Fees is affordable and costs really less as Viharilaal college is the head of the home science department under calcutta university. It is one of the reasons why I chose this college because it has good ROI,
Campus Life
Campus life is fabulous. We have a blend of students coming from different boards and places. We have a yearly cultural fest , ZEAL in which many programes are organized and we enjoy a lot. Regional festivals are also celebrated with enthusiasm.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

Exhilarating, Enchanting and Exciting

Verified Review

Last Seen: 27 Jul' 20

Joined On: 10 May' 17

Education Interest: Engineering and Architecture

Education Level: Class 12

Posted on 23 Aug' 19 by Suparno Banerjee
Ok since i am from the engineering department i will definitely recommend u to join this university. blindly if u r getting it... The faculties are qualified and meet world standards... being from a university which is 150+ years old placements won't be a concern since alumni strength is too strong and are holding top positions now in almost every fortune 500 companies... Since i am from the nano campus(a.k.a technology campus) of CU politics is virtually non-existent here..but don't know much about the Rajabazar campus ... Just to give u a hint of how good our dept.(applied optics and photonics) is one prof is an ex-scientist in ISRO and other two have phds from university of london and iit kgp...they also have numerous patents and publications in reputed international journals...about our seniors (among batch of 10) all of them are going abroad to pursue their masters/phds and got their admits in technical university munich, university of edinburgh, city university london, abbe school of photonics etc and many got prestigious scholarships like erasmus mundus fellow, DAAD scholarship etc...so dont think much and just join this univ. blindly if your wbjee rank is good(<3k)...signing off...a proud CUian
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

The pros and cons of being in a Government college.

Verified Review

Last Seen: 12 Sep' 19

Joined On: 11 Sep' 16

Education Interest: Law

Education Level: In Graduation

Posted on 11 Sep' 16 by Srimoyee Das
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2018
  • BA LLB
Being a Government college, most of the things are not up to the level of national law schools. Exposure is a distant dream. If you have to be at par with students of other law schools, you have to do it on your own. The faculty continues to teach in an age-old manner where more focus is given on your power of mugging up and not the general sense of applying principles law . The internship is not supported, the semesters are not held on time, no regular classes are held. Mismanagement is at its peak. The only positive fact is the affordability which is way beyond your imagination in the present scenario.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

The best college available under Calcutta university

Verified Review

Last Seen: 26 May' 17

Joined On: 05 Sep' 16

Education Interest: Law

Education Level: Class 12

Posted on 04 Sep' 16 by Aditi Lahiri
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2021
  • BA LLB
The college has pretty good faculty.... The seniors are very helpful..... Though the infrastructure and placements aren't up to the mark..... The library is quite good and well stocked. The crowd is very friendly and cooperative... the classrooms are huge. but the canteen and auditorium aren't good enough.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
Is this Review Helpful?

College life in Hazra is something to look forward to.

Verified Review

Joined On: 31 Aug' 16

Education Interest: n/a

Posted on 31 Aug' 16 by Sreemoyee Mazumdar
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2020
  • BA LLB
The college timings,weekends and holidays make life more than comfortable for students living away from home. The teaching staff has always been encouraging and helpful. The administrative department,placement committee, and infrastructure need improvement. Regularisation of exams needs immediate attention of the university. More co-curricular events should be held.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Calcutta University- A university that prepares you for life

Verified Review

Last Seen: 31 Aug' 16

Joined On: 31 Aug' 16

Education Interest: Law

Posted on 31 Aug' 16 by Anuradha Bhattacharya
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2019
  • BA LLB
The Department of law, University of Calcutta, established in January 1909, boasts of a rich heritage and an enviable lineage of over hundred years. Situated in the heart of the city of Kolkata, it has a sprawling campus and the legendary ‘pukur par’ is a favourite spot for many who wish to escape the drudgery of classroom lectures once in a while. Another place that is frequented by all the students is the University library which houses a plethora of books as well as volumes of bound journals, reports, newspapers,etc. Nevertheless, the building, with its spacious and airy classrooms, is in dire need of renovation and modern infrastructure. Moreover, this department has, in certain ways, failed to move with the times, clinging to the traditional curriculum and method of teaching. As a result, the onus of setting up moot court and debate committees has been taken up by the current students of this university. In spite of these obvious drawbacks, here you get to meet people from all cultural and socio-economic backgrounds and eventually you become a family. You get to imbibe the values of tenacity and tolerance which are essential for this profession. Thus, Calcutta University is a university in the truest sense of the term. It prepares you to face the real world where you will have to find the opportunities to prove your mettle. It prepares you for Life.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Your college life ought to be King sized

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 31 Aug' 16

Joined On: 31 Aug' 16

Education Interest: n/a

Posted on 30 Aug' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2018
  • BA LLB
Firstly, I'd like to justify my title. Well, when you have enrolled yourself in a five year long course, (king years!) that too in Law, (king syllabus!) and in Calcutta University's most esteemed Department (King department!), your college life ought to be King sized! I am currently in my 6th semester, and very frustrated with the postponement of our exams! Other students are midway through their 7th semester and we are still on the verge of our 6th semester's completion. The university runs slow. It isn't at par with the time schedule of other law colleges which makes us lag far, far behind. The building's good, old but strong. Spacious classrooms. (Even more spacious due to lack of attendance!) Some professors are really good, while some will question their own credibility! Sometimes it's disappointing. There is no balance in this college. I don't stay in hostel, but have heard hostel's pretty cool! What I love about college are my friends, don't know how I would survive without them! We have a common room, where we play badminton and table tennis. Even though it is in a dire strait, we make the most of it! It's a nice place to be in, only if you take the initiative to pull up yourself. College doesn't encourage internships. We do have placements, but not so great ones! Leaving aside everything, this place has the life. That is what keeps us going!
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

A Roller Coaster ride of epic legal proportions.

Verified Review

Last Seen: 30 Aug' 16

Joined On: 30 Aug' 16

Education Interest: n/a

Posted on 30 Aug' 16 by Ishaan
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2018
One of the premier institutions of law in the country, as well as one of the oldest, The Department of Law, Calcutta University, has given this country numerous bright legal minds. This institution follows a traditional course structure, that deals majorly with the technical aspects of the study, more than the practical bit. Life at the Department of Law, Calcutta University, can be both a good, as well as bad experience, depending on how you choose to look at it. On the plus side, we have some really good faculty members, low semester fees, a huge library with vast resources, almost negligible interference of the college in the study pattern of the students, meaning one can study at their own pace in a semester instead of having to meet deadlines, a tried and tested course structure, recognition of the varsity in many universities abroad, and also friendship that flows thicker than blood. The negatives, however, include the complete lack of industry exposure, the laidback atmosphere, the presence of campus politics, lack of practical work before the final semester, lack of proper placement cell, delay in examinations, and subsequently, in the publishing of results, CU characteristic of giving absurdly low marks. In all, this institution is a good option to kickstart one's career in the legal field, as during one's time here, they gain a vast and comprehensive knowledge of the law and its technical details.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

An Interesting Place

Verified Review

Last Seen: 29 Aug' 16

Joined On: 29 Aug' 16

Education Interest: n/a

Posted on 29 Aug' 16 by Saurodeep Dutta
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2016
The Department of Law,Calcutta University boasts some of the biggest and most famous behemoths in the legal field as its alumni. Many Justices and Chief Justices of the Supreme court and the High courts have graduated and studied in this very college. The teachers are supremely helpful and are always available. The infrastructure is not quite as modern as other,more expensive colleges,but in recent times, there has been having increased modernization of the infrastructure,which has produced excellent results, such as AC,and free WiFi which are musts in today's environment. The college is known for its student populace which not only boasts some of the most talented individuals right now , also had some alumni who have gone on to have distinguished careers in their own fields. The college is situated beautiful pond which in winter looks absolutely beautiful. One of the best features of this college is the college common room which boasts an entire indoor badminton court along with a table tennis board and classic carrom board. The Location is also well connected, and overall it is one of the most important colleges in Bengal at the moment. However, lack of placements may prove to be a concern for those so inclined.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

The best place I have ever visited

Verified Review

Last Seen: 02 Apr' 20

Joined On: 19 Sep' 14

Education Interest: Law

Education Level: Class 12

Posted on 22 Aug' 16 by Kaustav Banerjee
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2020
  • BA LLB
Actually, I study in Surendranath Law College which under the University of Calcutta.The said college being not in option I have selected University of Calcutta, Law. It is the best educational among all the educational institutions I have ever visited. College life is also too good .Our professors are too kind and caring and always help to cope up with our subjects.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

A Conventional law college sticking to the basics of law

Verified Review

Last Seen: 12 Aug' 16

Joined On: 12 Aug' 16

Education Interest: n/a

Posted on 12 Aug' 16 by Bisal Paul
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2018
  • BA LLB
Department of Law, CU is one of the oldest law colleges in the country.. Over time the legal education system has changed, so has this college, but it has still stuck to its inherent emphasis on the basic concepts of Law, which form the legs on which the career of a legal professional stands. College life here is very relaxed and the faculty are very approachable and friendly. The only aspect where our college falls behind is exposure to the industry as students are not allowed to intern untill they reach the 4th year, unlike other national law colleges which encourage students to intern and gain experience from the 1st year itself.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

A legal institution

Verified Review

Last Seen: 15 Aug' 16

Joined On: 09 Apr' 15

Education Interest: Law

Education Level: Class 12

Posted on 28 Feb' 16 by Shounak Mukherjee
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2020
The Department of Law at the University of Calcutta is easily one of the finest government run law colleges in the country. From only my first year here I can tell you that the faculty here is a lot better than GLC Mumbai, the college I had taken admission in before joining this prestigious institution. The college also boasts of one of the most illustrious alumni lists in the country and most of the city's practicing lawyers and sitting judges have graduated from this college. But be warned, the college does have some flaws depending on what your priorities are. For example, it does not have a placement cell, so you might as well forget about the college helping you get a private sector job, and the infrastructure is pretty lacklustre. But if you're interested in pursuing a career in litigation, the public sector or research this is certainly the right college for you!
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Calcutta University

Verified Review
Anonymous

Joined On: 09 Feb' 16

Education Interest: n/a

Posted on 09 Feb' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Though it has fallen from its grace nowadays still C.U is one of the most eminent institutions to get your bachelor/master degree from. The teaching staff is still mostly good and the ambience is average. The infrastructure barring from the teachers is generally poor. There is not enough outside exposure. The campus is not very large but the location makes it attractive. But still decent and overall one of the best options if you are looking for graduation, masters degree or further studies.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Scholars Paradise

Verified Review
Anonymous

Joined On: 26 Oct' 15

Education Interest: n/a

Posted on 26 Oct' 15 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
The University of Calcutta, college street campus is situated in the heart of the city and is lead by excellent professors, it has been my pleasure learning from such stalwarts of the academic world. With the famous Indian Coffee house, Putiram and Paramount in walkable distance there is no dearth for enjoyment.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Best Faculty

Verified Review

Joined On: 22 Oct' 15

Education Interest: n/a

Posted on 22 Oct' 15 by ABHIJIT SENGUPTA
During our time Calcutta University had the best faculties possible. My college Bangabasi was famous for Anthropology which was one of my subject. They provided necessary field work and guided us to have a better understanding of our society.I feel proud to be a part of such an esteem institution.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

An enriched environment for academia

Verified Review

Joined On: 17 Oct' 15

Education Interest: n/a

Posted on 17 Oct' 15 by Piyali Ganguli
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2013
I have persued my Masters from University of Calcutta, Rajabazar Campus, two years back. The college life has been a wonderful experience to me. My department has given me much exposure to different experiences in the field of academia. We were given the opportunity to visit almost all the well-known institutes of Kolkata, and also throughout India. It has always brought up a platform for interaction with renounced scientists from all over India, by conducting conferences and workshops. Also, the faculties of the department were very interactive and had one-to-one interaction with all the students. This is very crucial, as this has been the guiding step for me and has helped me to choose what's better for me. I am presently perusing an academic career, and I thank my institution and my teachers for this.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

A place to build up career in academia and research

Verified Review
Anonymous

Joined On: 17 Oct' 15

Education Interest: n/a

Posted on 17 Oct' 15 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2013
University College of Science Technology and Agriculture, Rajabazar Campus, was the 1st Science college in India, which still holds the reputation of building quality students in the field of science and technology. I perused my Post Graduation from this College and have spent 2 years of my life in this institution. The college has an excellent faculty list, in all its departments, and imparts quality education to its students. Till date, Its contribution in building a strong platform for its students in academia and research has remained and remains to be excellent. But, it somehow lacks to draw the interest towards industrial field. I don't know about the other departments, but campus sing has been on the weaker side in my department, which anyway is more oriented towards research and academia. There might be differing views on this, as the campus sing division of the college deals with all these issues, and other departments might be on the advantageous side.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Status of my PostGraduation College in present day

Verified Review
Anonymous

Joined On: 17 Oct' 15

Education Interest: n/a

Posted on 17 Oct' 15 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2013
University College of Science, Technology and Agriculture, Rajabazar Campus, was the 1st Science College in India, which still holds the reputation of creating quality students in the field of science and technology. I have perused my post graduation from this college and have spent 2 years of my life in the campus. My feeling about the college is that its excellency in building the students for an academic and research career is undeniable, but it somehow lacks in drawing their interest towards industrial and technological field. I dont know about the other departments, but campus sing was on a weaker side in my department. As it is, our department is mostly concerned with academia and research. So, there might be different views on that.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

great academic experience

Verified Review
Anonymous

Joined On: 15 Oct' 15

Education Interest: n/a

Posted on 14 Oct' 15 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
the university is best among the top university of India. This university focus more on academics and core knowledge of the subjects as this university has many college which will bring light on the student who has the quest for learning. This will be a great experience to be a part of this university.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

University of Calcutta- where Heritage blends with Modernisa

Verified Review

Joined On: 14 Oct' 15

Education Interest: n/a

Posted on 14 Oct' 15 by Rohit Dutta
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2015
  • BA LLB
I have had some of the better moments of my life here. I cherish every day that I have spent in this Department. This college has made me a mature person than what I was. I have made some really good friends here. I have had the opportunity to attend the lectures delivered by the luminaries in the field of law. I even got the opportunity to intern at the Supreme Court of India. All these have enriched me and would help me in many a way in my life in future.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

A centre of excellence for legal studies.

Verified Review
Anonymous

Joined On: 12 Oct' 15

Education Interest: n/a

Posted on 12 Oct' 15 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2017
Based on the rank secured by me in the entrance examination held by the University of Calcutta, I got the opportunity to be a part of this esteemed institution. With highly qualified and experienced faculty members, Department of Law, University of Calcutta (Hazra Campus) is a reputed institution imparting quality education in legal studies. The classes provide an enriching experience and interaction with the faculty members in the due course acts as a motivating force to learn more about various applications of law in the daily facets of life. Apart from the the professors, we can seek guidance from our seniors, who never fail to provide us with the best insights. Along with the educational aspects, our college provides a very amiable atmosphere with lots of cultural activities where we can showcase our talents or simply sit back and enjoy as the audience. May it be a freshers' welcome party or a celebration, our college helps us to create one of the best memories to cherish for the rest of our lives. Since I joined the college, I have got the opportunity to be a part of various seminars that have been organised by the college and they have been an immense source of knowledge. Many debate competitions are also conducted by the college. As law students, these are of great help to us as they help us to polish our debating skills. Ours is a five years integrated course and last three years have been very enriching and eventful. I am looking forward to the next two years and hope that these will be even better. At the end of my course, i will be leaving college with heartfelt gratitude towards my professors, helpful seniors as guides , friends for life and beautiful memories from college.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
Is this Review Helpful?

Superb faculty members who teach with outmost care and push

Verified Review
Anonymous

Joined On: 02 Oct' 15

Education Interest: n/a

Posted on 02 Oct' 15 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2016
Superb style of teaching with care not just guide help to solve problems in case study and other quantitative papers by letting us solve them by remaining as a guide and even in white boards ppt and giving evry tiny detail if we are unable to solve . so this is a b-school which helps students to become independent . the faculty members blend in reality to make the course more practical and gives practical examples teaches while discussing with students. So their methods of teaching is super effective . more visiting faculty to bring in the best teachers to teach who are eminent personalities.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?
Disclaimer: The reviews mentioned above truly represent the experience of the student / alumni. We do not allow manipulation / editing of these reviews by any personal.

Download the Careers360 App on your Android phone

Regular exam updates, QnA, Predictors, College Applications & E-books now on your Mobile

Careers360 App
  • 150M+ Students
  • 24,000+ Colleges
  • 500+ Exams
  • 1500+ E-books
  • Economic Times
  • Financial Express
  • Firstpost
  • Livemint