Heramba Chandra College, Kolkata Reviews Heramba Chandra College, Kolkata

Rating Summary

3.9/5
14 Reviews
College Infrastructure
3.2/5
Academics
4.4/5
Placements
2.2/5
Value for Money
2.4/5
Campus Life
3.9/5
Student Rating 3.9/5 (Showing 14 Reviews)

Heramba Chandra College - My Second Home

Verified Review
Posted on 14 Jun' 17 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2014 | B.Com Accounting and Finance Hons
Heramba Chandra College popularly known as the South City Day College because of its day shift college. Heramba Chandra College is one of the most renowned colleges in Kolkata for Commerce. A simple yet elegant college for everyone with excellent faculty, green environment, big airy classrooms and yes very good and helpful seniors! Loved spending 3 years of my life here. Spent the best memories of my life here.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Value for Money
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Learning and activities in a good environment

Verified Review
Posted on 11 Sep' 16 by Swapnanil Sarkar
Batch of Jan. 1, 2015 | B.Com Accounting and Finance Hons
Where do I start? Actually, it was a great experience to me studying there. I remember the first class of the first day of my college. Our class teacher was very helpful and gentle. The atmosphere was also fabulous and the seniors were very friendly to us too. Infrastructure, library, canteens and all could have been much better.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Value for Money
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Great atmosphere

Verified Review
Posted on 11 Sep' 16 by Yash Kedia
Batch of Jan. 1, 2018 | B.Com Accounting and Finance Hons
Everyone is very cooperative.Teachers are very experienced and teach in a very good manner. The building and infrastructure could have been better .No playground does not help,and the canteen is also unhygienic and gross. The fees are very low,so that's a positive . Everything is very simple and not extravagant! The seating facilities could be a lot better and even the washrooms! The crowd and the atmosphere of this college are very very vibrant.People are very helpful and extremely friendly.
  • Infrastructure
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Value for Money
  • Student Crowd
Is this Review Helpful?

Affordable and Reputed

Verified Review
Posted on 31 Aug' 16 by Akash
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | B.Com
Despite being in the centre of the town, the college is very peaceful and meets the needs of students. The teachers also possess high standards as they are very well aware of the subject they teach. The ambience of the college is awesome and refreshing thereby attracting a decent crowd of Kolkata
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Value for Money
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
Is this Review Helpful?

Decent college with good studies

Verified Review
Posted on 29 Aug' 16 by Raj Karan
Batch of Jan. 1, 2014 | B.Com
This college tends to be one of the best in Calcutta University and it's equally good when it comes to studies but classes are hardly held and the attendance is not a problem but at the end of the day the marks are what matters hence it is decently well if you were to take my view.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Value for Money
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

A wonderful life of 3 years

Verified Review
Posted on 28 Aug' 16 by Rupal Banerjee
Batch of Jan. 1, 2015 | B.Com Accounting and Finance Hons
Amidst the modernisation of south Calcutta dwells this college wd capacity of 10000 or more students. Over a vast area, this college spreads its wings along with a playground,common room for boys and a canteen. Also not to mention there is a beautiful park(lake gardens) located within few metres where we will find our college comes over there.;) Within my 3 years of college life, I enjoyed the most of the time hanging with my buddies in boys common room nd in playground kicking off the sweat from the body. It's worth mentioning about the faculty over there are very very friendly nd helpful and helped me countlessly in studies. Apart from all these not to mention my college crush...;) oops sorry its crushes...:p From dating to cafe coffee day to hanging out in shopping mall we used to chat and have a wonderful time. In short, I have enjoyed my college life to the fullest!!
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Value for Money
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Had a beautiful experience

Verified Review
Posted on 25 Aug' 16 by ARIJIT PATRA
Batch of Jan. 1, 2015 | B.Com Accounting and Finance Hons
Life is good but its degree college so placement not good they have started the process, infrastructure is good ,faculty profile good enough but study pattern is traditional there is no hostel facility students union are helpful no doubt on it .I am really satisfied .
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Value for Money
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Learn enjoy progress

Verified Review
Posted on 25 Aug' 16 by Sudip
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | B.Com
Heramba Chandra College provides me the 3 golden years of my life. I miss it every moment.The college did not provide any opportunity for placements nor there were any campus interviews organised but the professors individually helped us by providing some referrals. Those referrals were of big help as those paved a smooth path for us. Also, at that time the name of the college was enough for a student to get a job. The faculties or the professors, rather, were very good and were very helpful. they did not look at the subjects they taught as their profession only. There were students from all religion like Hindus, Muslims, Sikhs, Christians. The course curriculum was elaborative and detailed everything that I was looking for. The same was a comprehensive guideline as to how I should progress in the course. The curriculum helped me in assessing the subjects and the main focus that I should give to. No, the college in which I studied did not provide any internship at that time. I am unaware if the same has been introduced nowadays. We celebrated the freshers' welcome where we got welcomed in our first year. The freshers' welcome was organised on the last day of the college before the pujas which made the event more important as we all were in the festive mood. The college social was organised just after the pujas and it became the medium of celebrating Bijaya. Many artists of high repute performed on both the occasions. I did not avail of any scholarships though there were scholarships available under sports, commerce and extraordinary performance in language. There were no loan facilities provided.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Value for Money
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

College life in a nutshell

Verified Review
Posted on 09 Feb' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2016 | BA Bengali Hons
College life can be summed up as pretty much satisfactory. The start of term was pretty good. All the buzz and excitement but however it started to fade away sooner than expected. The teaching faculty is good. The teachers encourage students to give their best ultimately succumbing to the lack of lack of attendance which doesn't help them succeed in their endeavour to bring out the best in every student. There is a huge problem regarding lack of attendance in college which is, however, being looked into by our new Principal. Infrastructure wise I would rate my college below par. The classes are very old and the fans are as good as non-existent. The library has a collection of almost every book that a student would require in the 3 years of college life. There is a lot of encouragement in extracurricular activities and participation in various college fests. Regarding placements, the procedure was very chaotic and haphazard. This led to a lot of students backing out of it. Overall the college is good but there is a scope for improvement or it would be appropriate to say that there is a need for improvement. Beyond a certain point of time students start losing interest and the whole curriculum is disturbed.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Life at heramba chandra college

Verified Review
Posted on 22 Oct' 15 by Abhishek Sharma
Batch of Jan. 1, 2010 | BA Bengali Hons
The college focuses on strong academics and extra curricular activities as well. It has a very good faculty panel. It offers a variety of subjects to choose from. Overall it will be a very good experience for the student. There are a lot of events which takes place in the college which will enhance the learning experience. College conducts regular examination so that constant learning is there.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

There is a whole lot of positivity around this college.

Verified Review
Posted on 18 Oct' 15 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2018 | BA Bengali Hons
The teachers are very warm, they are polite and quite experienced which is good for us. There is a pre-assuption about the presence of the unions but they are not harmful at all. Overall it's a good college. There are a whole lot of activities in the college. The canteen and the ground could have been much better, in short the whole infrastructure needs to be reconsidered. One problem for non-bengali students is that they have to talk in bengali which is not possible.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Best days of my life

Verified Review
Posted on 17 Oct' 15 by Ujjal kumar gangnani
Batch of Jan. 1, 2013 | BA Education Hons
It was a change from school to college. Everything was so new on the first day but thanks to my helpful seniors, I could adjust very easily to the new environment. The college faculty were excellent and they helped me throughout the 3 years. They also encouraged me to participate in a lot of extracurricular activities like taking part in debates and discussions. I have learned a lot from my college life and really miss those days.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
Is this Review Helpful?

dance dance dance

Verified Review
Posted on 14 Oct' 15 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2013 | BA Education Hons
has a reputation for chaos and revolts and illegal practices but i have studied there and i know the real thing. the faculty members are probably the best in the city. they are polite and humble . education is a priority in heramba chandra college aka south city college.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Good, room for improvement is there.

Verified Review
Posted on 13 Oct' 15 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2009 | BA Education Hons
Heramba Chandra College, popularly known as South City College, is located in gariahat area of kolkata. It is a Co-ed college. The education system is quite good, the faculty as well. What prevents it from being best is the political involvements and students union. The cultural activities like sports, annual functions, rabindra Jayanti celebration should be looked after upon, and political activities should be minimised.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?
Disclaimer: The reviews mentioned above truly represent the experience of the student / alumni. We do not allow manipulation / editing of these reviews by any personnel.
Interested in this College?

Download the Careers360 App on your Android phone

Regular exam updates, QnA, Predictors, College Applications & E-books now on your Mobile

Careers360 App
150M+ Students
24,000+ Colleges
500+ Exams
1500+ E-books