St Xaviers College, Mumbai Reviews
St Xaviers College, Mumbai

Mumbai, Maharashtra College of University of Mumbai, Mumbai
Download Brochure
4.9/5
Based on 68 Reviews
College Infrastructure
4.6/5
Academics
4.5/5
Placements
4.1/5
Value for Money
4.3/5
Campus Life
4.7/5
Showing 68 Reviews

'Challenging to fly' is the college motto.

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 23 Jun' 20

Joined On: 23 Jun' 20

Education Interest: Sciences

Education Level: In Graduation

Posted on 23 Jun' 20 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2020
  • B.Sc
College Infrastructure
My college is regarded as one of the top colleges in Mumbai. It lives up to its standard. The college, though not prefect, has almost everything that a college has to offer. The infrastructure is the best thing our college has. Classrooms: 120 students, chalkboard, projector. Libraries: Two, huge variety of books. Gym: Good equipment. Laboratories: Very good, has more room to grow. Everything is maintained and is used everyday by students. Canteen: Quality degraded, prices gone up, quantity less
Academics
I'm studying BSc in geology. Geology is a very interesting subject and has alot of branches to choose from. The teaching is not excellent, but very good. We have assignments, projects, field trips, field reports, etc. The curriculum is well updated but doesn't include every recent development but it's more than enough.
Placements
I don't know about placements, but many students have applied and got into various companies. I think the highest salary package offered was fifty thousand or more per month. Most of the companies are well sought.
Value-for-money
My course fee was around six thousand per year. For the equipments that we use everyday, I'd say we're definitely getting our money's worth and more.
Campus Life
The college campus is the best thing to look at. The infrastructure is beyond compare. Students can participate in sports, events/fests that every department conducts, use the gym, etc. In the break, the canteen and it's foyer is always packed and the students are open minded and fun. Teachers and support staff are fun to be around too. They are very friendly and can be approached at any time. The location is very safe. We have a hospital, ground, restaurants, cafés, theatres, etc nearby.
Anything Else
College life is excellent when it comes to Xavier's. There are people of different cultures, different views and you graduate as a very different and open minded person than before.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

It is an amazing collage with beautiful infrastructure.

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 22 Jun' 20

Joined On: 22 Jun' 20

Education Interest: Sciences

Education Level: In Graduation

Posted on 22 Jun' 20 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2021
  • B.Sc
College Infrastructure
Great infrastructure with free wifi. Clean leansrooms with smart board facility. The food in the canteen is good and hygienic. The campus is totally student friendly. Washrooms are also very clean and hygienic.
Academics
I am studying for my Bachelor's in Chemistry. The teaching staff is friendly and supportive. They teach with great enthusiasm and help with doubts and show concern for each student. They treat you with respect. They also give special attention on class revisions.help
Placements
The quality of placements is really good. The students get exposed to new opportunities thorough placement cell. The college also gives guidance regarding various job opportunities and various fields in today's world.
Value-for-money
My course costed me around 6-7 thousand per year which is very affordable for such a good college. I am totally satisfied with the college and infact happy to be a part of it. My money was totally worth it!
Campus Life
Had amazing friends and supportive staff. The college is very well known for its cultural fest "Malhar" which falls around mid of August. The environment during Malhar is just amazing and mesmerizing... There are lot of field trips in a year which gives us the opportunity to bond well with fellow mates.
Anything Else
St. Xaviers College is well known for it's culture and education. It has an amazing infrastructure with a basketball court, volleyball court and a Gymkhana. Transport facility is also very nice. The railway station is at walkable distance.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

An enthusiastic experience

Verified Review

Last Seen: 21 Jun' 20

Joined On: 21 Jun' 20

Education Interest: Sciences

Education Level: In Graduation

Posted on 21 Jun' 20 by Shivam Kumar
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2021
  • B.Sc
College Infrastructure
SXC has a very well maintained infrastructure which includes everything a college must have. It has got classrooms with projectors, two libraries, a gymkhana for sports enthusiasts, boys hostel, language lab and multi-media room among many more.
Academics
Although SXC offers a lots of courses to students interested in different field but I am pursuing B.Sc because my subject of interest is pure science. The teachers over here have a great knowledge in their respective field and also the curriculum being up to date helps both students and teachers to know about the recent developments in the field.
Placements
The college has a separate placement cell wherein one can register and then you will start receiving e-mails regarding internship or placement offers. Although getting placed in a company totally depends on personal skills and interview still college is very supportive regarding such things.
Value-for-money
Annual cost for pursuing a B.Sc degree in SXC, Mumbai is 6K-7K and I think with all the facilities in the college I am getting my money's worth.
Campus Life
College has a basketball court where majority of college fest takes place, it has a canteen foyer and woods which is always full with enthusiast students doing all their extra curricular activities. The area around which college is situated is surrounded with all the facilities from medical emergency to recreational stuffs and is indeed located in a very safe place.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

This college is a college of dreams.

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 21 Jun' 20

Joined On: 21 Jun' 20

Education Interest: Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences

Education Level: In Graduation

Posted on 21 Jun' 20 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2022
  • BA
College Infrastructure
Yes, the college building is good! The facilities like library and sports is also good! The condition of common rooms was bad early but now they have cleaned up and it is regularly taken care of. The wifi service is good sometime but is not available througout college.
Academics
I am student of BA with main subject as economics. The faculty is good. Sometimes the quality is differs from faculty to faculty but overall it is satisfactory. We do have discussions about recent scenarios which keeps us up-to-date. I feel along with theory we are getting a good amount of practical knowledge and implication through assignments.
Placements
I have heard it is great with good companies and many graduates getting placed with sessions for interview pre training as well. There are talks to share information about how interviews work. Also, the interview process includes various steps.
Value-for-money
Yes absolutely! The exposure and facilities given is worth it.
Campus Life
There is always something or the other going on in college apart from academics . Various fests, departments, exposure of outside activites and visits. The area around is safe and near from stations with easy travelling. The teaching and non teaching staff both handle situations greatly.
Anything Else
This college has helped me come out of my shell and motivated me to do new things andnface the world. Its moto comes true ' its a way of life.'
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

Unforgettable

Verified Review

Last Seen: 21 Jun' 20

Joined On: 21 Jun' 20

Education Interest: Computer Application and IT

Education Level: Graduate & Above

Posted on 21 Jun' 20 by Roysten Dsouza
College Infrastructure
My college has the best infrastructure all over Mumbai, good facilities and enough equipment to manage the amount of students they take in. Has most of the facilities like free campus WiFi, a good gymkhana for sports and a good hostel with hygienic canteen food.
Academics
I finished my bsc-it in 2020 and the teaching was good, obviously you cannot expect all teachers to be good enough but it terms or curriculum wise, it was sorta updated, however what the staff teaches us makes us job ready
Placements
The quality of placements is really good, I got placed via campus and it wasn't much hectic to get placed although u can't expect to get placed on your first try. The package was good with average salary ranging around 4L a year. The placement committee is really supportive and helpful.
Value-for-money
My course was worth around 40k a year, because it's IT it was a bit expensive however most of the bsc courses were very cheap. I would say the college gave us enough of our moneys worth.
Campus Life
The campus life is the best in xaviers, lots of stuff happening all over campus at any given point of the year. Lots of fests for kids to participate into, no bullying in the campus. Teachers and staff r reliable whenever you need someone to talk to
Anything Else
Just go for it if you get a chance, don't give it a second thiught
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

I can't imagine studying anywhere else

Verified Review

Last Seen: 16 Jun' 20

Joined On: 16 Jun' 20

Education Interest: Management

Education Level: In Graduation

Posted on 16 Jun' 20 by Rebecca Dsilva
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2020
  • BA
College Infrastructure
Have been studying at the st.Xavier's college for 5 years and have not had a problem with anything related to the infrastructure. As it is considered a heritage structure special care is taken of the campus while not depriving the students of modern resources.
Academics
since the college is autonomous they have the privileged to set their own syllabus and hence take special trouble to keep us updated and in tune with current happenings. The assignments for the continuous internal assessment make sure we know the applicability of concepts
Placements
The college placement cell makes sure that opportunities are continuously available when it comes to placements and is always very approachable in case we have issues. Before the placements begin they have workshops to make sure students are prepared.
Value-for-money
As my course is government aided it is not very expensive as it abides by university cost.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

Five years well spent

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 16 Jun' 20

Joined On: 16 Jun' 20

Education Interest: Media, Mass Comm. and Journalism

Education Level: In Graduation

Posted on 16 Jun' 20 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2020
  • BA
College Infrastructure
The college has good wifi which is accessible all over campus, two libraries, a gymkhana with all the necessary facilities. Good hygiene is maintained. We are shown a lot of films and space is used well and well-maintained.
Academics
I Did my BA in English Literature. It is an all rounded curriculum, covering a vast amount of topics pertaining to the subjects and are discussed well in class. Contemporary writing, classic literature and films are well covered.
Placements
The quality of placements is really good in college. I personally did not apply for placements because I want to study further but other college mates got placed into really good companies which made them comfortable.
Value-for-money
The average fees is about 4-5k every year for BA courses. I did my BA in English Literature. Of course we’re getting a well rounded education because of not only the teaching but the various activities, fests conducted by college.
Campus Life
The best features of our college is the architecture. Students can engage in a large number of fests and activities such an Malhar which is well known. Students work hard for each and every activity here in college and there is always something you can enjoy.
Anything Else
Not only do you receive a good education but the people you meet and the activities you do especially the compulsory Social Involvement Program can really give you a different experience and at the end of five years you don’t want it to end.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

College Infrastructure

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 16 Jun' 20

Joined On: 16 Jun' 20

Education Interest: Sciences

Education Level: In Graduation

Posted on 16 Jun' 20 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2020
  • B.Sc
College Infrastructure
The college is very well known for its iconic campus and infrastructure that dates back to more than 150 years now. The college has all the necessary facilities which are maintained on a regular basis.
Academics
The curriculum is updated on a regular basis, with both the students and professors staying upto date with the newer developments in their respective fields. This allows the student to pass out of the college with relevant information.
Placements
There could be more placement opportunities for the science students, other than that the college has a good placement system, and sees many recruiters coming each year, with many students being employed.
Value-for-money
The fees charged by the college for most of the courses are not exorbitant and at the same time, the student recieves a well rounded college experience. There are financial help options available for students who need them
Campus Life
The college offers a plethora of extra curricular activities in addition to the academics which gives the student an opportunity for an all round development.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

It's a Great college overall

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 06 Jun' 20

Joined On: 06 Jun' 20

Education Interest: Sciences

Education Level: In Graduation

Posted on 06 Jun' 20 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2021
  • B.Sc
College Infrastructure
St. Xavier's college is built in the Indo-Gothic style infrastructure. The college has provided the students a lot of facilities like the library, clean classrooms, canteen and foyers, wellness center, gymkhana, hostel, laboratory, sports centre, etc. which are well-maintained. The food served in the canteen is quite hygienic. There are WiFi facilities available in the canteen and foyers. Classrooms are provided with black boards as well as smart boards.
Academics
The teachers and staffs are quite friendly. Teachers teach in their best way. They ask questions in between in order to get a response if the students are paying attention in the class. Sometimes they arrange a small test and teach accordingly. They support the students to participate in various activities. Other than teaching the books they teach life.
Placements
S7sneinsms sjdjennsnd dusbdns usb ssuns susns sus susns susnsjs d susn said. Dusnd dusnxvuss s sys as subs shshs s susns sbusns sbsusn s shsussns. Susns svsusbs. Shshsbs s ysbs shshs xbsusnsbus shsjsbsus susnskkajeifbd s.
Value-for-money
College fees is very low. As it is an autonomous institution, it recieves funds and all from government. For my case, I had to pay around 600 rupees for one whole year. There are no additional fees rather than breakage and late fee. Mode of payment is only CASH
Campus Life
There's no such bad remark of our college. It just the matter of what you think. As good points, this college given me many opportunities to live happily. Participation in fests and volunteering helped me for making more friends. I am really enjoying my college life.Gender ratio is equal. Ragging is banned in campus. There's no such thing like social conflict happened in college. There are many students group inside campus for every kind of help.
Anything Else
Snzusuns s s shsbx s a sbehs. Seks z dhan shssn suxd d sjs xhd e zjx six e7ajx dejs d snsdnejnx djsis djsnx dnksns dksnx eke f of ve if ciejc fiej cnsskd rienc ekod eienc ekemc Eike fieoesmx diek f foemcnfjemc fn. Dje
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

To sum it up in a line, it's a way of life.

Verified Review

Last Seen: 06 Jun' 20

Joined On: 06 Jun' 20

Education Interest: Sciences

Education Level: In Graduation

Posted on 06 Jun' 20 by Sahil Bastawala
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2021
  • B.Sc
College Infrastructure
Our college is equipped with almost every modern day facilities required by any individual to sustain. Hygiene is taken quite seriously and the entire college is cleaned at least twice a day, washrooms included.
Academics
Studying Bsc in mathematics has taught me quite a lot in this college as they tend to keep their curriculum up to date and tend to update it every three to four years. The quality of teaching is quite good as well and helpful as always.
Placements
The college has a strict policy of making sure more of its students can get their placements right after their graduation with a really good starting package. The college makes sure that their students get a placement in one of the top companies in their respective fields.
Value-for-money
You can most certainly get your money's worth in St. Xavier's College because for the almost negligible fees that they take, their courses and entire academic year and everything included is worth much more in other colleges.
Campus Life
One of the most positive features has to be the infrastructure as they've managed to take good care of the 150 year old structure and make it look almost as new as the other upcoming colleges. Everyone is really supportive and helpful in any situation here.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

A home away from home

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 02 Jun' 20

Joined On: 02 Jun' 20

Education Interest: Sciences

Education Level: In Graduation

Posted on 02 Jun' 20 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2007
  • BA
College Infrastructure
The college infrastructure is really amazing. the building may look old but it definitely feels like heaven when you become a Xavierite. The college has a canteen which used to be the highlight of Xavier's, a hostel which is open only to the boys, a chapel for peace and meditation, and the laboratories of all the science departments. There is a big library and a gymkhana too!
Academics
St. Xavier's College, Mumbai is very well known all across India for its Arts programmes and is one of the topmost Arts colleges in India. The academics are fantasticand the teachers are well experienced and outstanding in their methods of teaching.
Placements
The college has a well known placement cell and this cell is really good in doing its work. The students' application process for jobs and internships are taken care of by this cell thus making the entire process a lot more smoother. The college is very supportive of its students.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

The Best College...

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 02 Jun' 20

Joined On: 02 Jun' 20

Education Interest: Sciences

Education Level: In Graduation

Posted on 02 Jun' 20 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2020
  • B.Sc
College Infrastructure
The college has a really amazing campus. It may be small but it will definitely take you more than 3 years to figure out all the secret places in college. Theree are facilities available like the gymkhana, chapel, boys hostel etc. all the laboratories are well equiped.
Academics
The academics which are taught here are good but slightly confusing at the same time. But the teacgers teach very well and also encourage you to do your own personal reference so that you get trained for your higher studies. The syllabus is modified every 3 years based on new discoveries and inventions. The courses definitely make you job ready.
Placements
The placements are very good up to my knowledge. There is a placement cell which is very active and available on campus since many years. The placement cell makes the process of applying for jobs very easy and the process functions smoothly. The teachers are supportive and encourages us.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

Best place to be

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 02 Jun' 20

Joined On: 02 Jun' 20

Education Interest: Sciences

Education Level: In Graduation

Posted on 02 Jun' 20 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2021
  • B.Sc
College Infrastructure
The infrastructure of the college is very good. There is a chapel for meditation, a wifi connection, a canteen with good food, a hostel which is available only to boys and not girls. the laboratories have all latest equipment, and the classrooms are kept clean and tidy.
Academics
The courses that are taught here are pretty simple in the beginning and they keep on getting more and more difficult as you advance through those 3 years. the examinations are also pretty simple if you study. The courses are updated as and when required.
Placements
The college has a well known and well reputed placement cell. The placement cell of the college takes care of the jobs and internship by big big companies. They make the application process a lot more easier rather than letting the student do it themselves.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

A good place to study

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 02 Jun' 20

Joined On: 02 Jun' 20

Education Interest: Sciences

Education Level: In Graduation

Posted on 02 Jun' 20 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
College Infrastructure
The appearance of the college feels like as if it is an old building but it is a fantastic and best college in Mumbai. The equipment the various departments possess is priceless and is of high technology. There is a very bad wifi connection available. There is a chapel which one can go to for prayer and meditation. The canteen food is delicious.
Academics
The academics which are taught are at its best. The teachers put in a lot of effort to convey concepts whether they are difficult or easy. What ever is taught to us and the way the college has structed its various courses make all of the students job ready. The exams which are conducted are really easy and is of 60 marks in the semester paper.
Placements
The placements for St. Xavier's College is really good especially if you are pursuing your BA or BMS or even BMM. Most of the science students do not get placed just after graduation because it is expected that they study more and then seek jobs.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

Best college in Mumbai

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 02 Jun' 20

Joined On: 02 Jun' 20

Education Interest: Commerce

Education Level: In Graduation

Posted on 02 Jun' 20 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2021
  • B.Sc
College Infrastructure
The college has a really good infrastructure. All the laboratories use good technology and latest equipment in practicals. there is a wifi connection available for the students but it is very slow. The canteen imporves their food every year in the beginning with chaep and affordable prices. There is a hostel which is only for boys and not girls. All the classrooms are kept neet and tidy.
Academics
The academics which are taught at this college are very good and easy in my opinion. All the students who come from various boards are all able to grasp concepts and then it keeps gradually getting more and more difficult. The exam pattern is good too. The syllabus is modified regularly.
Placements
The college provides some good placements to all its students who are graduating. The college has a placement cell which does the needful and makes the whole application process smoother. There are some veery good companies which have come to campus to hire students. The highest package last year was 14 lakhs.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

It is fun and will broaden your horizon.

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 01 Jun' 20

Joined On: 30 Dec' 16

Education Interest: Engineering and Architecture

Education Level: Class 12

Posted on 01 Jun' 20 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2020
  • B.Sc
College Infrastructure
The college was built during the 19th century and it radiates that period. With all sorts of facilities available. The food is above average in comparison with other colleges. The claasrooms vary in size from a class for 20 students to 200.
Academics
The faculty is experienced. The quality of professors is pretty good. With professors from different fields and a spectrum of experience, it is easy to connect with the department and yet gain a wealth of knowledge.
Placements
Did not apply for any sort of placements, but on the basis of what I hear, seems good. A huge range of companies come to offer, with their own requirements and theright kids get the right opportunities.
Value-for-money
The course is partially/fully funded by the government. The fees is minimal. With the facilities and the faculty provided, it is value of money.
Campus Life
With people from all sorts of background and varying opinion, the college gives a platform for discussion and an exchange of dialogues.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

The overall experience is satisfactory.

Verified Review

Last Seen: 30 May' 20

Joined On: 30 May' 20

Education Interest: Sciences

Education Level: In Graduation

Posted on 30 May' 20 by Palash Soni
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2021
  • B.Sc
College Infrastructure
SXC , Mumbai offers various well maintained facilities including Boy's hostel , Gymkhana , Library, classrooms , Language lab etc. It has all the basic facilities required for the smooth functioning of a college.
Academics
I am pursuing Bsc from SXC . It is a very good college for numerous courses . The quality of teaching and learning methods are exceptional. The education level is quite advance and good. I think it's a great place.
Placements
A majority of students prefer to study further . The quality of placement is decent. Certain courses have a good percentage of Placements each year. Typically placement depends on your skill and the internships undertaken.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

ST XAVIER'S COLLEGE, MUMBAI provides best level of education

Verified Review

Last Seen: 30 May' 20

Joined On: 30 May' 20

Education Interest: Sciences

Education Level: In Graduation

Posted on 30 May' 20 by Tanay Khona
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2021
  • B.Sc
College Infrastructure
St Xavier's college has best infrastructure among the other colleges in mumbai. The classrooms are wide and spacious and are equipped with big blackboards as well as E-boards. The physics and chemistry lab are too equipped with morden day experimental setups ( as my subjects in first year were physics and chemistry ). The most attractive thing in this college is it's libraries. It has such a huge range of books including some of the rarest books of all time! Cleanliness ismaintained properly too
Academics
Currently i am pursuing my Bsc degree from this college, in First year i had Maths, physics and chemistry as my subjects while in Third year i will be majoring in physics. The quality of teaching here is outstanding! We have various professors specialised for that branch of the subject. The syllabus is reviewed each year and essential changes are made likewise.
Placements
The college is very supportive regarding placements. I have heard it from my seniors. The college has it's own dedicated placement cell which takes care of all the activities going under it. The college also provides regular internship offers.
Value-for-money
My course has a very basic fee of Rs 6500 per annum. The college charges you extra money for laboratories and some other stuff but that too is reasonable! The money is worth spending here.
Campus Life
The campus life is very happening. Other than academics there are no. Of extra curricular activities in which students can engage. There are students from all over india taking admission in this college, so we get to see a variety of culture in the campus.
Anything Else
My overall experience in this college till now is superb! I am fully satisfied with the facilities provided here and the level of education over here.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

A Way of Life

Verified Review

Last Seen: 27 May' 20

Joined On: 10 May' 18

Education Interest: Engineering and Architecture

Education Level: Class 12

Posted on 27 May' 20 by Pranjali
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2021
  • B.Sc
College Infrastructure
We have an ancient gothic infrastructure which is truly mesmerising but it call for limitations to the usage of currently available technologies and so we do not have ACs or lifts in the college which could make the experience less hectic in the uncomfortable humid of Bombay .
Academics
Teachers are par excellence in every course but I feel studies could be made more practical and interactive in college . Although they are moving forward with various ways of teaching such as taking classes in the quadrangle or in the canteen area which makes students want to be a part of the class , so we are improving .
Placements
I myself have not been placed yet but hearing from my seniors who are working at MNCs or established firms are highly grateful to the college placements , so it sounds extremely reassuring that the college is doing well even in the long term for its students .
Value-for-money
The amount of exposure we are getting in terms of the fees we are paying is stupendous .
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

The Best College ever attended

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 20 May' 20

Joined On: 20 May' 20

Education Interest: Management

Education Level: Graduate & Above

Posted on 20 May' 20 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2015
  • B.Sc
College Infrastructure
The college has amazing infrastructure and all the ameneties are easily available in the college, books to refer to in the library is up to date, it also has amazing canteen and the food is really good
Academics
I have completed my BSc from college, what was really amazing is the way the course was structured and the way that the faculty promotes us to participates in various events and outings, it helps us to grow and develop a lot of skills and our personal growth
Placements
There is a placement team in the campus which is run by experienced faculty members and big companies come to hire students every year, however that was not there for science field, you need to get masters in the field that you are but it is still ok as they still help us or guide us in our careers
Value-for-money
I would rather not share the cost here as it might be different now however i have always beleived that the all the courses that you do from here has the worth and by the end when you graduate you are a completely different yet skilled individual.
Campus Life
There are many things about the college which are excellent: Campus: I loved the structures of the campus even though it is old it has been well maintained and is really beautiful, they do have various clubs and places were students can hang out and the best part is it's close to station and yes it is very safe.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

A Home Away From Home...

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 19 May' 20

Joined On: 19 May' 20

Education Interest: Sciences

Education Level: In Graduation

Posted on 19 May' 20 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
College Infrastructure
The infrastructure at St. Xavier's College is very good and it has the basic facilities which are required for the smooth functioning of a college. Every classroom in college has a screen, projector, and a blackboard which are used by the faculty in teaching the students. There is a hostel on campus but it is only for boys. All the laboratories have all the modern and expensive technology with is given to students to use right in beginning of college. The wifi connection available is good too!
Academics
I am currently pursuing my BSc in Chemistry because I feel I am inclined and have a liking towards that subject. The quality of teaching is very good and all the courses are systematically structured from easy to complex over the years so that our basics can be clear in the 1st semester and then we move ahead together while the topics become more difficult, but need not worry as the professors are always there to make concepts clear. There are some topics which are relatively easy for self study
Placements
The college has a well known placement cell which has given many Xavierites their first jobs with very good packages. The placement process is very easy since the cell is very much active. The placement cell gets in touch with the students from the SY level and keeps on offering the students internships as and when companies approach the college. There are big companies which come to hire our final year students including Zilingo, ONGC, CITI Bank, Axis Bank etc with ood packages.
Value-for-money
The fees at St. Xavier's are very cheap for the aided courses that is BA and BSc which comes out to approx. 6k to 7k per academic year and the self financed courses cost around 30k per year. This is surely worth the money that we spend because the college gives us many opportunities to learn a lot more as well as to showcase our talents on various platforms in and out of college. Our teachers are always there to motivate us to take part in events, giving us the first push to excel.
Campus Life
The campus life at college is very good. Most of the students come from all over the country to study here, thus giving all the students to learn, understand and respect the various cultures and traditions that the others celebrate. All the students are very friendly to one another and it is very difficult to not make friends with people you don't even know. The teachers and support staff and is very co-operative and encouraging. The location of the college is at a very good place in SouthMumbai
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

The Best College Ever!

Verified Review

Last Seen: 18 May' 20

Joined On: 18 May' 20

Education Interest: Sciences

Education Level: In Graduation

Posted on 18 May' 20 by Sajiya Hassan
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2021
  • B.Sc
College Infrastructure
The college has some really good infrastructure and all the basic necessary facilities to run a college in the city of Mumbai. Every department has their own laboratories and can accomodate large bum of students at once, especially the physics and chemistry departments. Besides this, the college is well known for it gothic architecture all across India. There is a wifi connection available on campus and is open to all students. There is a chapel for prayer and silence and a canteen good food.
Academics
I am doing my BSc at St. Xavier's and will major in Chemistry because it is my favourite subject. I like the way the course has been structured and the faculty is very experienced while they teach the various courses. The curriculum is updated every 3 years so that the students and aware of the various discoveries and are in sync with the modern times and concepts. The examinations too are very easy if you study regularly.
Placements
There is a placement cell present of campus and is run by a very senior and experienced faculty member of college. There are some very huge cmpanies which come to campus every year to hire students. Most of the placements are for the Arts and self financed courses because it is perceived that Science students should do their Masters inorder to get placed well. So incase you are from the arts or self financed courses, be sure to get picked up by big companies if you do your bit too!
Value-for-money
My course cost me around 6000/- to 7000/- Rupees for each academic year. That is a very good deal and definitely is worth your money and as well as your time and efforts. beiing a Xavierite definitely makes you feel you are getting your money's worth because there are a lot of activities to indulge in besides the academics. there are many festicals to take part in, in and outside the college giving you a good exposure.
Campus Life
I think the best part of the college is its magnificant architecture that we are surrounded by every day of college. The students who come to Xavier's and all good students with big ambitions in various fields of their interest. Students come here from all over India to study. The teachers are always there to support us in times of confusion and difficulty. The college is located in a very prime location in South Mumbai, just a few meters away from CSMT railway station.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

Best College To Study Arts...

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 15 May' 20

Joined On: 10 May' 20

Education Interest: Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences

Education Level: Graduate & Above

Posted on 15 May' 20 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
College Infrastructure
The college has all of the necessary facilities and equipment to run a college. All the classrooms have a screen, a projector, speakers and ofcourse, benches! There are many loboratories belonging to the various departments like chemistry, geology, statistics, psychology etc and they all have all the modern facilities. There is an open wifi connection available and some good food in the canteen.
Academics
During my time as a student the college was a part of the Mumbai University so it had a good syllabus at that time and it was very easy and simple to follow. However, From what i have geard from the current students and my professors who are still present, after autonomy, the syllabus has changed drastically as the college can now focus on latest and modern discoveries rather than teaching those same old things which are outdated.
Placements
The placements during my time were outstanding. Top companies as well as start up came to hire the students. Some of them were offered some really good packages which were just not worth denying. The placement cell of the college did a very good job and is still reaching greater heights to provide the best for its students.
Value-for-money
The fees are quite reasonable for all the students as this college is a government aided college except for the self financed courses. The money that you pay is definitely worth every penny since the college gives you the roots and wings provoking you to fly.
Campus Life
Life on campus is truly amazing whether you attend the lectures or not. The 'woods' is the place every xavierite has fond memories of. You will get to see various types of students under one roof like the differently abled, the studious types, the sports people, the people inclined towards the dances and music etc. The woods alwways used to buzz with a lot of talent everyday.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

The Best College Ever!

Verified Review

Last Seen: 15 May' 20

Joined On: 15 May' 20

Education Interest: Sciences

Education Level: In Graduation

Posted on 15 May' 20 by Omika Keswani
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2022
  • B.Sc
College Infrastructure
The infrastructure of the college is really good and worth a sight. The college has an amazing canteen with many counters like chinese, south indian, pasta, indian etc. There are 2 libraries in college, one for lending books and one particularly for reference. books from the reference library cannot be taken home. there is a photocopying centre available on campus for photocopying at cheap rates. All the laboratories of the various departments have new technology equipment. There is a chapel.
Academics
The academics at St. Xavier's College are really amazing. Since the college is syllabi autonomous, it does not follow the Mumbai University syllabus. Hence, it can mend its courses for the benefit of the students and add as well as delete topics so that the students are well informed as kept uptodate with recent discoveries which help us in the long run. The examinations are pretty simple. There are 2 internal assessments of 20 marks each and a semester paper of 60 marks.
Placements
I am not well informed about the topic of placements since i am in the first year. However from whatever I could gather from the college sources, there are huge companies which come to campus to hire the students of the final year. Some of these companies include Axis Bank, Citi Bank, Zilingo, ONGC etc. The highest package offered to a student was around 14 lakhs last year.
Value-for-money
I must say that St. Xaviers College is definitely worth your time and as well as your money. It is a college which develops you from all sides and gives you an opportunity to step out of the crowd. We Have Malhar which is our annual intercolligiate festival and is well known all across India as well as abroad thanks to our alumni located all over the globe.
Campus Life
Campus life is true the best thing ever that I have come across in Mumbai. All the students are very friendly and bond well with each other even if there we may come from different backgrounds. The teachers of most of the departments are very experienced in their fields and are always there to motivate you. the college is located at a very prime location in South Bombay. In my opinion, it can definitely handle emergencies as i have heard that i has done so in the past..
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

The place you definitely want to be in!

Verified Review

Last Seen: 15 May' 20

Joined On: 04 Sep' 19

Education Interest: Management

Education Level: In Graduation

Posted on 15 May' 20 by Shanora Machado
College Infrastructure
The college has a terrific infrastructure. The best among any other college in Mumbai till date. All the classrooms are kept neat and clean and they all have a projector and screen for presentations by the faculty and students. There is a wifi facility for all the students. besides these, there are 2 huge libraries, laboratories for every subject like chemistry, physics, statistic, geology, life science, microbiology, botany, zoology, biochemistry to name them. There is a chapel for meditation.
Academics
The academics is very easy at the FY level of college and then it steadily becomes a bit more challenging, but the professors are always there to make things simple for all types of students. The exams too are very easy most if you pay attention in class and study. The semester exam is of 60 marks whereas there are 2 internal tests of 20 marks each.
Placements
I have heard that the placements for the arts and self financed courses are very good. But I can't really say that for the sciences because in the current generation of education that we are in, the science field always demands that you take up higher education if you want to get into research. Hence many students from the science field who desire to continue in the sciences, go in for MSc or even a PhD to get a good placement.
Value-for-money
For the aided courses that is BA and BSc, the fees are something between 6000/- and 7000/- Rupees per academic year. In my opinion, that is a really reasonable amont. However, the fees for the self financed courses like BMS, BMM and BScIT are around 25,000/- per academic year. But for the things that the college has to offer its students, these fees are not even an issue. Xavier's gives gives all its students an equal platform to shine in their own way, but it depends on the student to take it.
Campus Life
I have to say that campus life is really amazing. I have never come across any college with such amazing people as well as the students who are buzzing with talent. The students here are extremely friendly and accepting and come from diverse backgrounds from all over the country. The teachers and support staff are always open to have a discussion with the students inorder to help them out in times when they are in a slight of difficulty. The college has dealt with many emergencies in the past!
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

Not just a college but a way of life!

Verified Review

Last Seen: 13 May' 20

Joined On: 13 May' 20

Education Interest: Sciences

Education Level: In Graduation

Posted on 13 May' 20 by Jennifer Dsouza
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2021
  • B.Sc
College Infrastructure
Studying in St. Xavier's College, Mumbai has been phenomenal. The college literally feels like home even with its huge infrastructure as it is equipped with many facilities open to give access to students including the communication room and the library which could be used for both, reference and lending books. Other than this, the college has a chapel for meditation and prayer and worship and to find my zen. The canteen has some delicious food along with the woods where people hangout and chill
Academics
The college offers a diverse syllabus to explore more in subjects under the guidance of ouir experienced professors and keeping guest lectures for students to enhance their knowledge. The exams have been designed in a way that it allows us to know more about the subject beyond the boundary.
Placements
The college offers good placement opportunities and also we learn very diverse topics in our courses which make us adapt to various jobs. I am not very sure about the packages and stuff since I'm not in TY yet, but after listening to my seniors, i feel i will be placed well through this college.
Value-for-money
The college is definitely worth the money because it not only helps one individual to grow academically but also socially while allowing other kids to help in social programs outside college is a great idea which is followed by extra curricular activities which helps one individual to be creative and come out of their own box.
Campus Life
The college has a very diverse and friendly environment. The campus life experience hits different. You will see a whole variety of things going on on campus. Some doing their assignments, some chilling, some laughing and some thinking where is the next lecture. The college has it all. As they say, "Its not just a college, but a way of life".
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

Good experience and I like it alot

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 10 May' 20

Joined On: 10 May' 20

Education Interest: Sciences

Education Level: In Graduation

Posted on 10 May' 20 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2022
  • B.Sc
College Infrastructure
The college has a very good infrastructure and has well equiped facilities in campus. There is an open wifi connection available on campus since mobile data network is not available inside due to the structure of the building. the classrooms are well maintained. They are kept clean at all time. The classrooms have projector and screen for teaching.
Academics
I am currently doing my BSc at SXC, Mumbai. I want to major in Chemistry because i have interests in the subject even before I had joined college. So I'm going to stick to my dream. The way the courses are taught in this college are very easy in the FY level and I have heard from my friends that the level and complexity keeps increasing every semester but the teachers do make it simple to understand.
Placements
I dont have much experience of the placements as I am still in FY but the college has a very good placement cell as i have heard. My seniors have told me that huge companies come to campus and hire student with good packages. So, i guess i am in a good position being in SXC when it coms to placements.
Value-for-money
The fees are very cheap in this college. The aided courses like BA and BSc cost around 7k to 8k per year. It is totally worth my money because there are a lot of activities on campus and the academics are also very good and easy. Malhar is the intercolligiate festival of the college and all the students like to be a part of the workforce and contingent.
Campus Life
The campus life is very good. most of the students are from outside Mumbai which gives all the students an evvironment where they can learn and understand the different cultures and traditions that their peers come from. The students, teachers as well as the support staff are very friendly and are there for you to guide you in and outside the class which is really good as students don't live with parents at times (outstation students).
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

Totally worth it and a dream come true.

Verified Review

Last Seen: 04 May' 20

Joined On: 01 May' 20

Education Interest: Engineering and Architecture

Education Level: Class 12

Posted on 04 May' 20 by Ayrton Moniz
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2021
  • B.Sc
College Infrastructure
The college has a really good infrastructure. The main quadrangle is just breathtaking and every Xavierite would wish to take some pictures there. The laboratories have all the newest and up to date technology. The library is home to some very old books as well. There is some delicious food served in the canteen, lots of sports equipment in the gymkhana. the college has a wifi connection available as well. Proper hygiene is maintained. All the classrooms have modern technology and are well kept.
Academics
Since the college is academically autonomous, we follow our own syllabus which is revised and kept up to date with modern methods and discoveries every 3 years. The FY portion is quite easy and is alomost a repetition of junior college only because we have students from all over the country and different boards (giving them an equal footing and a strong base). The exams are very easy to pass as there are 2 internals of 20 marks each and a semester paper of 60 marks.
Placements
I am not really familiar with this part of the college, but I definitely know that there are some top companies that come to college to employ the students like Indigo Airlines, Citi Bank etc. From my knowledge from one of the introductory talks given to me when I had joined this college was that one of the highest salary packages in 2018 was approx. 11 lakhs a year and it had gone to the BMS department.
Value-for-money
This college has a reputed name all across India and abroad as well with tie-ups with colleges all over the world. The fees per year for the aided courses are between 6k to 7k per year which is definitely quite cheap and the opportunities that are given to you on campus every year are truly worth your money. There are different clubs and societies on campus as well as many departmental fests which are worth your time, effort and money. The studies and teaching prepare you for life.
Campus Life
St. Xavier's College is definitely like a dream destination for many students in our country. It is the most diverse and friendly student campus that i have come across till date. Our most famous college festival is Malhar which has a workforce of around 1200 students if not more. Most of the students who graduate from St. Xavier's is truly lucky and this college gives you the roots and wings that provoke you to fly and our motto says.
Anything Else
This is the best college that i have come across and I would have definitely not seen myself joining any other college because this college is worth it in every sense be it in academics or sports or discipline and even your social life. One of the best decisions so far. Proud to be a Xavierite.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

My first year experience in Xaviers is great.

Verified Review

Last Seen: 01 May' 20

Joined On: 08 Jun' 19

Education Interest: Engineering and Architecture

Education Level: Class 12

Posted on 01 May' 20 by Samriddhi Mishra
College Infrastructure
Every laboratory is highly-facilitated, sport centres and hostels well-equipped, libraries are updated time to time with new upcoming books, and are provided with wifi- networks. Living spaces are neat and tidy.
Academics
I am studying Microbiology, St. Xavier's College has the oldest Microbiology Department in India, course started 87 years ago. Faculty is highly qualified and experienced, curriculum is based on thorough all past and recent developments in microbiology field.
Placements
Placements are good, if you have a nice gpa at the end of your course, you will definitely have a nice job with handsome salary package in your hand. There is a special Placement Cell, and the procedures becomes easy with their help.
Value-for-money
Rs. 8,500-Rs.9,000 per year, I was astounded by this. Such a charming, well-updated course with a nice, highly-qualified faculty for such a low cost is really WORTH IT!!
Campus Life
College campus is great, it's like studying in a heritage,and the reputation of the college says it all, it has innumerable fests that brings out the talent in you, it nurtures leadership spirit of student. Disclaimer: attendance above 75% mandatory, no-off Saturdays. Strict attendance because teachers are really interested in teaching you. You will definitely have a LIFE in Xavier's.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

My experience has always been amazing.

Verified Review

Last Seen: 01 May' 20

Joined On: 01 May' 20

Education Interest: Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences

Education Level: In Graduation

Posted on 01 May' 20 by Anushka Dewan
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2022
  • BA
College Infrastructure
Our college’s infrastructure is really outstanding. Not only me but everyone agree with it as we have already seen that many movies or series had been shot in our college which definitely proves that our college infrastructure is amazing.
Academics
I am Fyba student in Xaviers. As we all know that Xaviers always have been among top 5 ranking which automatically proves that the quality of teaching is outstanding that is one of the major that xaviers is in top 5 always.
Placements
I am a first year student so I don’t know much about placements . Moreover, our mentors will only provide us with outstanding placements. Being a first year student i can still be sure that everybody at the end will be satisfied with their placements.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?
Disclaimer: The reviews mentioned above truly represent the experience of the student / alumni. We do not allow manipulation / editing of these reviews by any personal.

Download the Careers360 App on your Android phone

Regular exam updates, QnA, Predictors, College Applications & E-books now on your Mobile

Careers360 App
  • 150M+ Students
  • 24,000+ Colleges
  • 500+ Exams
  • 1500+ E-books
  • Economic Times
  • Financial Express
  • Firstpost
  • Livemint