College Reviews J D Birla Institute, Kolkata

Also known as: JDBI Kolkata
Student Rating 3.98/5 (Showing 42 Reviews)

Education and Fun goes side by side

Posted on 07 Feb' 17 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2015 | B.Com Hons
College is focused on providing quality education. The crowd has the warmth of love. Live atmosphere. Open Area and green campus. Sports and Recreational Facilities. Cultural and Technical activities on a regular basis. Memories of yearly picnic are the best memories that I have. Adequate Support in terms of class timing based on CA-CS Preparation.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

A rollercoaster rider.

Posted on 14 Sep' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | B.Com Hons
Jdbirla is one of the most renowned colleges of Kolkata and I'm proud to be a part of it. My experience here was more of a rollercoaster ride. I've made good memories and I've done lots of cribbing as well. The compulsory attendance part gets on your nerves sometime but then we would have never known what college life is if it weren't so. The teachers are really helpful but the infrastructure needs to be improved. Everything's good and it would be perfect if we had a huge campus. One more thing is the college timings. You need to forget sleeping once you're here and that is very irritating. I wish if we had college from 9 in the morning and not 7. Last but not the least I'm gonna miss it when the college ends.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

My college has changed my life.

Posted on 14 Sep' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | B.Com Hons
I have had a great experience in my college. It has a lot of opportunities one wants in his/her college life. It's personality development classes and various fests and events boost up my knowledge from zero to some level and i have gained confidence because of the regular presentations that we have to give. Although there are things that pisses me off like early morning classes compulsory attendance and other event which are also made compulsory unnecessarily. But overall i am glad that i am in this college which has improved me a lot.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
Is this Review Helpful?

It is amazing cause of my friends and faculty.

Posted on 13 Sep' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | M.Sc Human Development
Everything is good in this college. The infrastructure, the course structure, the exposure you get. Even though attendance problem is there, but then it's a very good institute. The faculty is amazing and helpful. You get all the book resources in the library and the canteen is amazing.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

An overwhelming ride

Posted on 10 Sep' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | B.Com Hons
J d Birla Institute is one place which has taught me the value of time. It has been an exciting journey inclusive of hardships and achievements. The best thing about this college is the college timing , since it's a morning college , thus leaving the rest of the day free to work. One drawback is the attendance criteria which makes it less attractive . Nevertheless , as a whole this college provides a lot of opportunities and it has help me grow a lot at a personal level.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Enthusiastic treasure

Posted on 09 Sep' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2019 | B.Com Hons
One of the best girls college in Kolkata, with the most amazing facility and faculty. Various opportunities for today's woman. Active in all kinds of fields. Best infrastructure within the limited acres. Well maintained and grooms every student for a perfect future. Holding up a personal experience, selection in all clubs are very impartial. It takes out the hidden talent. Seminars for every thing required are held. ECA is also every happening. Really a good adventure being in this college.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

College life at JD Birla

Posted on 07 Sep' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2019 | B.Com Hons
I am currently pursuing BCom Hons from JD Birla institute of Kolkata and I enjoy my college life here interacting with my batchmates and seniors,taking part in the organising committee and function management teams of seminars and annual events.The teaching staff members are very nice,the college campus and environment is also mindblowing,food quality at canteen is also very good.The college also provides opportunities in various fields apart from academics like participation in debates and quizzes.The sports facilities are also very nice.However, only its fee structure is a little higher which causes inconvenience to some people.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

A great learning experience

Posted on 05 Sep' 16 by Vandana Choudhary
Batch of Jan. 1, 2015 | BBA Hons
The college provides good exposure to the students and focusses not only on the theory but also the practical knowledge of the subject. The tutorial and sessional briefings give us the opportunity to know about the chapters again. The faculty is really helpful. It gives importance to extracurricular activities as well. The classrooms are air-conditioned and well equipped with modern learning tools. Apart from that session related to the current happenings are also conducted.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Its amazing here

Posted on 05 Sep' 16 by Ishita
Batch of Jan. 1, 2019 | B.Com Hons
The infrastructure is nice, the teachers, as well as the seniors, are very helpful. Regarding the placement, I do not have much idea because I'm in the first year but have surely heard about it from a number of seniors.We have got well air conditioned rooms. The library is another highlight with almost all sorts of books.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
Is this Review Helpful?

Why J D BIRLA Institute

Posted on 05 Sep' 16 by Alvia
Batch of Jan. 1, 2019 | B.Com Hons
Hello everyone, I am a student of JD Birla Institute, Kolkata (department of commerce). I will be specific in the review of my college. JDBI Main Campus is an all girl’s college providing courses in science and commerce streams at both undergraduate and postgraduate levels. The undergraduate courses are offered in B.Com, fashion studies, food science and nutrition, interior designing, human resource development, and BBA. The postgraduate courses are offered in textile and clothing, human development, food and nutrition and M.Com. So, the students have the option to continue in the same college for higher studies. The college also provides a number of short term and diploma courses. Starting with the curriculum – the syllabus is neither too hard nor too easy and covers all types of subjects accounting, English, management, mathematics. A number of practical subjects are also taught. The knowledge about tally, visual basic, etc is also given. In the final year, the B.com students are offered with specializations in accounting and finance, human resource development and marketing. Coming to the infrastructural facilities – the infrastructure of college is somewhat small. The building consists of 5 floors with a small ground in the middle. The classrooms are spacious with air conditioning. The college canteen is a good one with reasonable prices, hygienic conditions and provides a good number of options to choose from. An open recreational area is located near the canteen where students can sit, relax and hangout with friends. Wi-Fi connection is available in the college. The college library is very good having a large number of books ranging from academics, novels, magazines, daily newspapers etc... The college auditorium is somewhat short of expectations. It is small as compared to the number of students that are there in a particular course and it is difficult to accommodate a large number of students. The college also does not provide hostel facilities which become a major problem for outstation students like me. There is a college infirm nary with a well-trained nurse. Attendance is a major criterion in the college. You have maintained the required percentage of attendance which sometimes become tiresome. Medical leave is provided. The faculty is a mixed one with some teachers being interesting while others become a little boring. The B.com timings are good from 7 in the morning to 12:30 in the evening and are good for students who pursue other courses like CA, CS etc. A lot of events and seminars are conducted by the college. The attendance is compulsory in these events which become boring after a period of time. Fresher’s party, farewell party, sports day etc. are conducted. The college has its debate team, dance team, acting team, etc. and they take an active role in participating in inter-college fests and other events. The environment in the college is good. The senior's interact with the fresher’s in a very friendly way and are helpful to a great extent. Students come from a good background and the security facilities are at a top mark. The fee of the college is somewhat affordable for the students. It may be higher for some but comparing to other private colleges it is an accessible one. The college provides scholarships to meritorious students from the 2nd semester. If you want to pursue B.com from a reputed institution along with the fun of college life, JDBI is the best option to choose. Thank you!!
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

It is a great institution of learning

Posted on 04 Sep' 16 by Anubha Jain
Batch of Jan. 1, 2015 | B.Com Hons
My college was the second best college in Kolkata. My college life was very good, I learned a lot of things about public speaking, soft skill training, personality development, group discussions and presentation skills. The environment was very good, the teachers taught very nicely and were very friendly. There were many co-curricular activities like dancing, sports etc. All over it was an incredible experience.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Definitely a great one. It provides all the best facilities.

Posted on 02 Sep' 16 by Sreyasi Banerjee
Batch of Jan. 1, 2019 | B.Sc Textile Science Clothing and Fashion Studies Hons
This college provides the best and updated facilities in the means of college structure. The faculty is definitely impressive and young, thus professors are friendly and innovative. Most importantly students belonging from the 3rd year is also very friendly to the students from 1rst years.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
Is this Review Helpful?

Happy to be a JDBIian

Posted on 02 Sep' 16 by Aiman Ishtiaque
Batch of Jan. 1, 2018 | M.Sc Textile and Clothing
My college experience till now has been really good. JDBI keeps you working and you can't afford to cut classes as you will be missing a lot. They are very particular about the attendance and other college rules. I find the teachers very helpful. The canteen serves Jain food and ts not tasty at all but they are changing the canteen.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Amazing college life

Posted on 01 Sep' 16 by Megha Rathi
Batch of Jan. 1, 2019 | B.Com Hons
I m really happy with my college life through our college timings are morning but due to this I m able to use my morning time even ,the infrastructure is just beautiful and the faculty is very friendly and cooperative . I really liked the seminars which college organizes they are seriously very helpful for our career.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

New life include New Experiences

Posted on 01 Sep' 16 by Samriddhi Agarwal
Batch of Jan. 1, 2019 | B.Sc Food Science and Nutrition Management Hons
It's a beautiful college. Everything is at a professional level in this college. It's been 3 months and I already feel a change in me and my life. My college not only provides knowledge but also provides us classes like personality development and communication skills which help to improvise our body language as well as our nature. It is very strict about attendance, at first I used to crib about it but now I can understand that it helps me keep up with my study.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
Is this Review Helpful?

The one time experience

Posted on 01 Sep' 16 by Pratiksha Bajoria
Batch of Jan. 1, 2018 | B.Com Hons
My college is one of the best of its kind. It has a great faculty which is very helpful and friendly. The infrastructure is good with a well-maintained canteen as well as an auditorium. The college provides a lot of opportunities for exposure. It participates infests organised by various other Colleges as well as organises its own commerce fest- commercial conclave.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

J.D.Birla Institute

Posted on 01 Sep' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | B.Sc Human Development Hons
The college is one of the most prestigious colleges of the city.The college provides its students with a lot of opportunities to explore their potentials and their field of course.The college has a very good faculty and staff.However, the college does not have a hostel.It is very updated in terms of technology to help the students have a better classroom experience.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
Is this Review Helpful?

College Diaries

Posted on 31 Aug' 16 by Vanshika Vaish
Batch of Jan. 1, 2018 | B.Com Hons
The college times are the best times for any person, so is mine. The college provides fair opportunities to all students for all events. I have been provided with many extracurricular participation opportunities. The college has a good faculty team who are ready to help us anytime. The infrastructure and placements opportunities are bad of this college. The canteen food is decent enough. Yet I tend to have fun in college with friends and by participating in various fests and events.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

The college brings out the best from each and every student

Posted on 31 Aug' 16 by kirti jain
Batch of Jan. 1, 2019 | B.Sc Textile Science Clothing and Fashion Studies Hons
The college is good but the timing of the college is really very hectic. The infrastructure of the college is among the best in Kolkata . The college provides a good opportunity to excel in all the fields. Students get to take part in co-curricular activities. The crowd of the college is really very good and even the faculties are very good . The faculties have the full knowledge of the course. A lot of practical knowledge is provided to the students apart from theoretical knowledge. The educational excursion is also planned which is really a good opportunity for the students to look the real work . Overall the college is really good.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
Is this Review Helpful?

No proper selection process

Posted on 31 Aug' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2019 | B.Com Hons
The faculty is good. No hostel facility. Study and study .Can't even think of bunking , because if a single class is missed , life will be screwed. College is really safe but it becomes boring because there are no ECA . Even if students are participating in something , no proper selection process is there. It is really a clumsy way to get in anything.
Is this Review Helpful?

This college has positive vibes.Love the people and faculty

Posted on 31 Aug' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2019 | M.Sc Textile and Clothing
This college is amazing . It has given me an opportunity to do what I actually want to do . The faculty of this college is amazing and not partial , which I guess is the beat part . the infrastructure is small but enough to educate 1000 girls . Our recreational hall is an open area . Are canteen food is good People from outside asks us to get food for them from our canteen . The location of our college is in a very Porsche area . Which means we are completely secure . People are amazing here . In the very first day, i made so many friends from Kolkata itself . They are helpful and sweet . Teachers give time to us if we do not understand . This college provides elderly people to also study . Which is the best part about our college .they gives an opportunity to get an education to everyone . I think that's why it is said education has no age limit .
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Surprisingly amazing

Posted on 31 Aug' 16 by Munira Putli
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | B.Sc Food Science and Nutrition Management Hons
This college has helped us a lot in learning and thinking out of the box in what we are pursuing. This college has made us confident in tackling the worst of situations and has helped us grow as an individual. The faculty members are very encouraging and cooperative.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
Is this Review Helpful?

It's good if you just wanna study. No activities as such

Posted on 31 Aug' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2019 | B.Com Hons
College life is okayish. The faculty is half good. Students are average. Food is good and even the prices are reasonable. Fees are too high in this college. Library management is not very good because they create big issues for really silly things and have way too many unnecessary restrictions like not allowing more than one notebook inside or not allowing any printed material/sheet. Classrooms are excellent.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

It makes me feel I am typically living school life

Posted on 31 Aug' 16 by Pragati
Batch of Jan. 1, 2016 | B.Com Hons
Infinity love and infinity assignment I like examination procedures and faculty , canteen food is good especially Franky roll and open area is good and assignments make us do group work .fun is dancing in annual show and walking on ramp in fashion show
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

College life , a bliss

Posted on 31 Aug' 16 by tirna purkait
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | B.Sc Food Science and Nutrition Management Hons
J.D.Birla Institute is one of the most renowned colleges in Kolkata offering career oriented courses like Bsc. Hons in Food Science and Nutrition Management, Textile , clothing and Fashion Studies, Interior Designing, Human Development and also B.com. It provides the scope of certain post graduate studies also. Our college is affiliated to Jadavpur University and it is an NAAC Accredited "A" Grade college. INFRASTRUCTURE- The infrastructure is quite good overall. We have air conditioned classroom with the facility of projectors. We also have digitalized library with a huge collection of books and journals. ENVIRONMENT OF THE COLLEGE- It is a ragging free campus.We have a good and healthy relationship with our respected teachers and Principal. EVENTS-Many fests and events like Saraswati puja , Independence day, Annual Show, Nutrition Week, Commercio conclave are celebrated here. SPECIAL LECTURES - Our college also organized special lectures, seminars, and workshops which give us good exposures and help to enhance the skills in our own field. FACULTIES-This college has very good faculties in each and every department who always support and encourage us. INTERNSHIP AND PLACEMENTS-Our college provide internship facilities at the end of UG and PG courses and it also provides placements in renowned companies, organizations, and hospitals. FEE STRUCTURE-We have certain fees structure which has to be deposited at the beginning of each semester which varies department wise . LACKING HOSTEL FACILITY-The only thing this college lacks is it does not provide any hostel facility. But overall , it is a good college to choose for students to have a shining career ahead.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
Is this Review Helpful?

learnt a lot not only facts but also the training of mind

Posted on 31 Aug' 16 by Purvi Periwal
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | B.Sc Interior Design Hons
My experience in the institution has been very nice, with the very supportive and encouraging faculty. It has helped me build my self-confidence and also enhance my leadership skills. The overall experience of the institution has been positive and has made me ready to face the challenges in the outside real world.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
Is this Review Helpful?

Diversified college with ambitious and supportive people.

Posted on 31 Aug' 16 by Vanshika Pasari
Batch of Jan. 1, 2019 | B.Sc Human Development Hons
We enjoy as well as work hard. Faculty provides the best of its sevices and makes it a bit easier for us. We are not only getting good exposure to the outer world but also being made capable to face it with extra personality development classes. The assignments are new and a bit tough to deal with all at once, but its is helping us to pace with the speed of the developing world around us.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

College is not preparation for life, College is life itself.

Posted on 31 Aug' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2019 | B.Sc Textile Science Clothing and Fashion Studies Hons
This institute has taught me a lot. Made me work in an environment I'd easily learn and also work efficiently. The seminars held, the practical life exposure, the courses are all whelming. I'm proud as well as happy to be a part of the J.D. Birla Family.The college will give you ample exposure. Presentations are probably the best part about it. It will prepare you for the corporate world.Attendance is the issue for this college. You need to be regular.This college is the only college in Kolkata which has personality development classes and in fact, studies are more of practical basis. It is through presentations.It also has an amazing library to issue books and study from.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

It is nice being a part of this college.

Posted on 31 Aug' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2019 | B.Com Hons
The College life is good as our college provides exposure and takes part in a lot of events. The teachers are good. However, the attendance is pretty strict and the library is a storehouse of information, but the staff and library rules make it a rather frustrating experience, thus people avoid using it much.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
Is this Review Helpful?

Invest to get the Best- Hub of Learning and Creativity

Posted on 31 Aug' 16 by Anjali
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | B.Sc Food Science and Nutrition Management Hons
J.D. Birla Institute instills in an individual the knowledge of the subject by excellent academic facilities and an equally good practical skills. The students are privileged to be able to get first hand practical knowledge of all they learn in the theory class through well equipped labs. Along with regulated classes, this institution also provides the benefit to its students to attend workshops and seminars by professionals, experts and teachers from their respective fields, not only in India but also abroad. Seminars of different subjects are organized for all students so as not to limit their horizon of thoughts and provide a wholesomeness to their approach. The faculty gives full attention and personal care to each student to bring out their very best for the development of their fullest potential. All lectures are made powerful with the use of visual and audio aids. Investing one's time and energy in J.D. Birla not only teaches one team spirit, cooperation, hardwork, the ability to meet deadlines, dedication and the desire to excel.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
Is this Review Helpful?
Disclaimer: The reviews mentioned above truly represent the experience of the student / alumni. We do not allow manipulation / editing of these reviews by any personnel.
Interested in this College?

Download the Careers360 App on your Android phone

Regular exam updates, QnA, Predictors, College Applications & E-books now on your Mobile

Careers360 App
150M+ Students
24,000+ Colleges
500+ Exams
1500+ E-books