SSN School of Management, Kalavakkam Reviews SSN School of Management, Kalavakkam

Student Rating 3.41/5 (Showing 11 Reviews)

One of the best decisions of my life.

Posted on 25 May' 18 by Raajashri Ramesh
Batch of Jan. 1, 2018 | MBA
Pursuing MBA in SSN has been one of the best decisions in my life. First things first, the campus is beautiful with a lot of greenery. The environment is very important to keep you focussed in your studies and it is perfect here. The faculty are well qualified and are a treasure house of knowledge which shows in their teaching. Also the professors are very friendly and easily approachable by all students. The management takes all efforts like arranging guest lectures, discussions with industry professionals, etc. to aid us in gathering knowledge outside the syllabus. Never have I seen a college take so much efforts to actually help students cultivate the habit of reading newspapers. Not just that, they also constantly motivate and encourage students to participate in co-curricular and extra-curricular activities. Last but not the least, placements here are very good with leading companies coming in to recruit year after year. If you are good at what you do, then you are sure to go out with a job in your hands. SSN School of Management has all the resources for a person to become an industry-ready professional.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

A Good Choice for MBA in Chennai

Posted on 24 May' 18 by Sundar Rajan
Batch of Jan. 1, 2018 | MBA
Ssn SoM is one among top management institutes in Chennai and also in TN.It is a good choice if you want to pursue MBA within chennai/TN. It is one of the most beautiful campus with all infrastructure and amenities. The faculties are highly qualified and I don't think any other college under Anna University has such qualified staffs. The course is a residential programme and this will give you a different experience if you haven't experienced hostel life before.The fee seems to be bit high but it will be compensated by good placements.This year placements have been decent and has touched 80% and few more are to come in the following weeks. The college is different from other Anna Univ colleges.Here more importance is given to building up of student's skills, understanding of subject, practical experiences etc. Evaluation is not based on test marks alone but also Group Presentations, activities etc which cultivates people management and drives out fear of addressing and also helps better understanding of Subject. You can choose your specialization at the end of second semester ( First year is common ). Other exposures are Industrial visits, Inter College meets, workshops, management fests etc. You also get 2 yr Membership of Madras Management Association(MMA) and can participate in workshop and events conducted by them. There are huge scholarships( both merit and means) given to Outstanding performance ( for that you need to be in top 3)every year. DAKSHA , SSN's management fest is hosted every year and attracts students from hundreds of college across India. Overall It is a good choice if you haven't made it to Big B- Schools and if you want to pursue in good college under Anna University.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

My own experience

Posted on 24 May' 18 by Shiva kumaar R G
Batch of Jan. 1, 2018 | MBA
Infrastructure is one of the important positive aspects in SSN School of Management. Faculties are best here, except few. Because most of the faculties got qualified in premium Institutions and also worked with very good companies, but few are exceptional. Placements are good to some extent. Dual offers are not allowed here, which worried me a lot. We cant say that the complete crowd is intellectual. Hope that may be improved in future by strong selection (admission) procedure. There is no Air Conditioned class rooms here for peaceful lecture, because in summer it is horrible. Holistically I can say this Institution is suitable for MBA aspirants with fire to learn and who is looking for quality MBA in budget.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Join the college if u have money to waste

Posted on 21 May' 18 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2018 | MBA
If u want a hardcore sales job with targets n pressure and wanna lose ur mind n money u can join ssn. Faculty r grt. Infra s gud. They will force u to choose only marketing and push u to a sales job. U cant even choose spclisatn on ur own. They ll torture you in the name of cycle tests n intrnal. 10 ppl dropped out the first month of joining. Waste of time energy money. Similar sales placements in most of the top notch private colleges thru tancet. Beware. Don't lose ur money. Zero placements in anything other than sales
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Worth spending 2 years of value education

Posted on 02 Oct' 16 by Hudson Paul
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | MBA
Excellent infrastructure and environment. Great place to learn and implement in short projects. Good class room and lab facilities. Experienced faculties. Lovable hostel life. They provide windows of opportunities for getting placed. They also conduct various guest lectures, trainings and workshops for students benefit.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

A life changing experience

Posted on 30 Sep' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | MBA
The experience in this college is unforgettable. The first positive thing about the college is the peaceful and fresh air in the college. The infrastructure in the department provides good learning experience. The faculties of MBA are well experienced and have good exposure to industries.They are graduated from IIM and other reputed institutions and published various research papers. They are student friendly and act as good mentors too. The reputed members from various industries come for interaction with students , lectures, and speeches. Since it is a residential education and the students are provided single person per room, i could plan the work and learn to make independent decision for myself. The facility is good enough and peaceful satisfying all the necessary needs. But the students should take permission for going out from warden the previous day. There is no seperate rule for PG students in hostels. The fee is minimal compared to other MBA college . The college conducts cultural events "Instincts" stays as a memorable event in my life. The event "Daksha" conducted exclusively by MBA students stands as our identity.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Infrastructure is extraordinary with this fee

Posted on 30 Sep' 16 by Kumar Aditya
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | MBA
Infrastructure is extraordinary with this fee.More case study and practical oriented study will needed and more food joints is needed in campus. placement is good but CTC is not with comparision to top b school.Mess food is just to survive.Faculty is very good marketing faculty is just wow factor. As student diversity is very less students are not open minded .This college is affordable if anyone only want to study and getting job.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

One of the top tier institution for MBA in Chennai

Posted on 30 Sep' 16 by Tariq Mansoor
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | MBA
The infrastructure here is excellent. We can see a campus full of greenery & gives a good feel for hostel students. The college can develop it's classroom ( MBA classrooms) since they are small & uncomfortable to sit during summer. They can arrange for more industry visits to gain more practical knowledge. The teaching staff is experienced & guide us well. Enough opportunities are provided to students to expose their talent in academics. One lagging point is there are not many students driven events organised by students, being an MBA student, you must have organised many events but such opportunities are limited here. The hostel is compulsory for PG courses, this might be the major drawback since the food is not up to expectation. The hostel is clean & well managed, the college could allow more reputed food stalls like many top colleges in the city have. Overall SSN being one among the best college for engineering in South India isn't the same for MBA both in terms of exposure & placements. Still, it stands as one of the best MBA institution affiliated to Anna University & gives students a good environment to acquire theoretical knowledge.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

A good college for management studies

Posted on 30 Sep' 16 by Florence Martina
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | MBA
The greatest advantage of joining this college is because of the skilled and standard teaching faculty and the great opportunities which they provide for every student. They set standard questions/cases based on the concepts. They also provide great exposure to industry through guest lectures by industry people.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

SSNSOM is both Good and Bad

Posted on 29 Sep' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | MBA
SSN School Of Managment is one of the best colleges under Anna University Board,Chennai. They have excellent faculty members, good infrastructure, and best educational facilities. We are given different case studies to solve in class and we never get bored of the classroom sessions as we follow two-way communication. It is an awesome place to develop yourself if you really want to groom yourself, but the compromising factor is assured placement is not there, limited OD/ leave and it is not a B-school.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

SSN - A place for future Leaders.

Posted on 28 Sep' 16 by Medona J
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | MBA
SSN is one of 'The Best Thing' that has happened to me. Yes! I am proud to say that I am a student of SSN. I joined SSN to do the MBA program. And it's been more than a year now after I have joined the college. And within this period, I can tell you that, it was SSN that has 'transformed' me into a better Individual with a better perspective about the World and the unpredictable future that is ahead of me. One of the main reason for this 'Change in me' is SSN School of Management offered us, the students with highly qualified and extremely talented Faculties from IIM's and IIT's. The quality of Education offered in MBA is just great! Like in almost all the course papers, we have some kind of activity or the other. Example: We had Case Study discussions, Presentations, Newspaper review ( Business Line) , Industry Analysis, Group discussions, Mock Interview, Aptitude Training and mock test to prepare us for placements. Apart from teaching us on subjects like Brand Management, Strategic Management, etc our faculties ware acting as our 'Mentors'. Mentoring is one activity which is followed in MBA as part of the academics program. The faculty members were always available and approachable for the students. And our MBA department has a separate Library functioning inside the MBA Block (SOMCA) even on Saturdays and sometimes Sundays just for the benefit of us the students. Besides these things , our college has one of the lovely wonderful campuses with excellent Infrastructure. The campus is 250 acres with greeneries all around, fountain, a separate park, Clock tower etc. Many people from film industry visit our campus for movie and song shoot. You have a Temple inside the college campus itself. The college campus is WI-FI enabled. And please note, SSN is the one and only college where there is No Dress Code. You can wear whatever you want. Nobody questions you. And there are no Rules followed here. Like as in , here in SSN no watchmen will stop you at the gate and ask you why you are late for college. You can come in and go out as per your comfort. You have the 'Freedom' here. Freedom to Think, speak and live life as per your terms. No one will bother you. It's up to you to take responsibility for your time and life here in SSN. Hostel in SSN is quite good. I won't say it's bad. Mess food is kind of okay, quite manageable. There are few items on the menu that won't be good but then the contract people are open for feedback and review. Not to worry , you have Canteens inside the campus Overall, my experience in SSN is just great!!! And if you are planning to join SSN , I would say, " Welcome buddy! You have taken a good decision of choosing SSN!! Happy Learning!!"
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?
Disclaimer: The reviews mentioned above truly represent the experience of the student / alumni. We do not allow manipulation / editing of these reviews by any personnel.
Interested in this College?

Download the Careers360 App on your Android phone

Regular exam updates, QnA, Predictors, College Applications & E-books now on your Mobile

Careers360 App
150M+ Students
24,000+ Colleges
500+ Exams
1500+ E-books