Student Rating 3.96/5 (Showing 27 Reviews)

average college

Posted on 21 Feb' 17 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2018 | BE Electronics and Telecommunication Engineering
library of Asaam engineering college should be upgraded,, only four(4) books are issued to a students whereas there are 6 subjects in one semester. books on topics like entrepreneurship, business, literature, marketing, acting, history, political sciences, languages etc etc must be there in the library as it is an engineering college people should know little bit of every thing and students are interested in various other topic also. LABs of Assam engineering college should be upgraded maximum time the equipments or instruments are not on working condition. Students should be allowed to choose internship in non core companies as an engineering college all students are not willing to work in core companies. Many students are interested in startups, marketing, analysts, recruitment firm etc and they can enrich their knowledge during internships if the college authority allows the students to work as an intern in those firms. AEC should become autonomous, as it is under Guwahati University the end semester results are announced after 5-6 months from the examination. the end semester examination paper is also designed by guwahati university and the marking scheme is like a board's examination paper marking scheme. Faculty should work on some research projects so that we can also learn something by working under them. cleanliness is also a major problem in assam engineering college, students are not interested in maintaining the cleanliness in college. many localites steal the dustbins that are installed in the campus. college cultural fest is one of the best in north east. that 4 days during fest can be considered as the best time during college life.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Life at Assam Engineering College

Posted on 10 Sep' 16 by Pratyasha
Batch of Jan. 1, 2015 | BE Electrical Engineering
Assam Engineering College is the first Govt. Engineering College of Assam and the fee structure of the college is quite less compared to the facilities provided and the knowledge gained in this college. The professors are learned in their respective fields and all the branches have their respective laboratories. The hostels are not up to the mark but they provide the basic amenities and have sports and entertainment facilities. The placement of the college is average. But in the recent years, PSUs like BPCL, Oil, Power grid have visited for campus placements along with other IT companies. Overall experience in this college has been great as one gets to take part in various events and sports activities along with academics, project works and industrial training. The admission to this college is through an Entrance Examination and as such the best of the students form the peer group.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Well Balanced mixture of Acads, cocurricular and college fun

Posted on 08 Sep' 16 by Dipika Agarwal
Batch of Jan. 1, 2013 | BE Mechanical Engineering
The college offers the students abundant chances to dive into different aspects of engineering. Technical, research, cultural, cocurricular all are present and are perfectly mixed. There is a perfect blend of all this in student's life. Life at the college was easy going one. Academic stress was not acute. Campus infrastructure is adequate and it is a beautiful campus with a lot of natural beauty around. Faculty mainly comprised of P.hDs and they were helpful and quite intellectual. A wonderful learning experience, a chilled life, lot of extra curricular and events, so much to talk about. The college was wonderful with great affordability.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Hostel Life was unbelievable

Posted on 25 Aug' 16 by Barun Kanoo
Batch of Jan. 1, 2015 | BE Civil Engineering
It was good. The college needs to form a good alumni network. Apart from that Hostel life was good.Assam government should step in to provide better infrastructural facilities. The internet is too good. The student quality is good.At a very young age, they manage the mess of their respective hostels,apart from that they also manage the training and placement cell which needs appreciation. The college needs a proper security system.It lacks proper closed boundary premises. Many times wild animals also enter our college which is too risky. I was from a civil department.The faculties were very good. In fact they were the masters of their own field. I don't know much about other departments.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

lines for Assam engineering college

Posted on 21 Feb' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2014
At first comes to mind its environment. Its environment is mind blowing with hills, forest, deeper been which a bird sanctuary. The faculty is good, there are so many good teachers in each branch. The classroom is with smart class facilities. Every year many students get the place in different companies. PSU also recruit the student from the campus. At last, every section's memory is its hostel life. It's mind blowing as I am also a hosteller I know the experience. Hostels are maintained neat and clean and wifi and LAN facilities are also provided to the student. Some last word that every Asian face is good or to, viewpoint, talukdar cabin, rail dar Dukan, proxy, deeper been, ccc, moon da's shop.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

My AEC my words

Posted on 17 Feb' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2018 | BE Electronics and Telecommunication Engineering
A place which provides you with the right amount of benefits and challenges that help to mould you for the world beyond its gates but at the same time, keep the human in you alive. It builds your character strong enough to uphold its name and dignity throughout your life.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

My College

Posted on 17 Feb' 16 by Anish Biswas
Batch of Jan. 1, 2018 | BE Electrical Engineering
It's my 2nd year of engineering in Assam Engineering College, Jalukbari, Guwahati-781013 and I am right now staying in hostel No.5. The college has recently celebrated its 60th Diamond Jubilee. Its gives immense joy to be a part of such an institute. The quality of education is very good and all the facilities provided to us is worthwhile. Though the placement in states like Assam is not up to the mark but we will appreciate if more and more companies are invited here.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Best option if you don't clear JEE yet u want a govt college

Posted on 17 Feb' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | BE Electronics and Telecommunication Engineering
This college is more than sixty years old, so the infrastructure facilities here are not par with the central universities and institutions. Faculties are well qualified but refuse to take up their teaching seriously. Placements were superb till 5 years ago. The present placement scenario is not up to the mark. If some good companies are coming, that is due to the reputation of the ex Asians in the country and the world. But one thing in this college that is so unique about is it the experience that it gives you during the four years. It teaches and trains you to sustain in any condition and environment and prepares you well to face the real world outside the college, that is cruel to an extent. In other words, this college teaches you to be a MAN!
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

College Life <3

Posted on 17 Feb' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2018 | BE Computer Science and Engineering
Best days of my life. Found love, found an aim in life, found what I wanna do with my skills, found my skills, found true friends... Best days of my life. Found love, found an aim in life, found what I wanna do with my skills, found my skills, found true friends.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

AEC- the last resort

Posted on 17 Feb' 16 by Monami Bhuyan
Batch of Jan. 1, 2018 | BE Mechanical Engineering
Assam Engineering College is the first technical college established n he North East region of India in 1955. This institute is a landmark and indeed one of historical importance with a campus spread over 400 acres of land and funded by the State Government of Assam. I joined this institute in the year 2014, but it's no secret that I had to join this college for I wasn't eligible for a top notch institute like the IITs or the NITs. Yes, this college isn't at par with the central government funded institutes, but having said that this college has seen an array of brilliant minds who have had their mark all around the country and world. Unfortunately, the lack of state of the art infrastructural facilities seems to render themselves as a barrier to the success of AECians academically( at least to my opinion.). It can't be denied that the minimal facilities for ensuring a degree in engineering are present on the campus, but the lack and absence of certain facilities are indeed remarkable and something the concerned authorities must turn their attention to. For instance, the lack of proper machines in the workshops of the Department of Mechanical Engineering or the lack of a decent Computer lab and Wi-Fi facilities. My experience in AEC has been one of "mixed feelings". But like they say, you have to take in the good as well as the bad. This college has helped me to garner my passion in extracurricular activities and has helped me to find a lot of exposure to the outside world. I've had the privilege to represent my college in regional and national debating competitions alike, thanks to an active Debating and Synopsis team. I've also had the privilege to be taught by some of the best professors I've ever encountered and I think I would be perfectly safe for me to say that these learned men and women are just as good as any professor in the IITs or NITs. A certain disposition present in a certain class of students at AEC has unfortunately demeaned her name and her position. The indulgence in petty "hostel wars" is not new to any institution but the frequency at which it takes place at our college is disappointing to me. It would have been more useful if these group of people gave a little more importance to their academics and co-curricular activities rather than something so futile. The placement scenario at AEC hasn't been very bright for the last couple of years. In spite of no scarcity in talent or "brains", the poor placement scenario is disheartening to me. I do not expect companies to offer a 2.5 lakhs per month package to our students but nevertheless, I do expect to see people getting offered something more than a 25k monthly salary. Yes, I came to AEC as a last resort, but this college has now become a part of my life and will leave quite an impression on me and who I would be two to three years from now. This might not seem like the best place to be but it's not the worst place either. What really matters at the end of the day is how one develops oneself by taking in the "good stuff" in spite of being surrounded by the "not so goo stuff". And that is what makes all the difference. Cheers!
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Really good institute in terms of industrial exposure

Posted on 15 Feb' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2019 | BE Mechanical Engineering
My experience in this college has been really awesome. I am having a good college life. The infrastructure here is really up to the mark. The classrooms and the labs are well equipts. The faculty here are well knowledge in the topics they teach and are kind and helpful, placements here are good but mainly within N.E Region, hostels are Good. There is the good amount of industrial exposure. The whole campus is in a hillock resulting site of natural study environment.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Really good institute

Posted on 15 Feb' 16 by Aakash Dey
Batch of Jan. 1, 2018 | BE Civil Engineering
My experience in AEC has been really memorable. I am having a good college life. The infrastructure here is good but cannot be said as updated infrastructure, but the labs are well equipt. The faculty here are well knowledged in the topics they teach, placements are good, there are a lot of recreational facilities, hostels are bit lagging in terms of facilities but are really good.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Really not very good Institute

Posted on 15 Feb' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2019 | BE Instrumentation Engineering
It seems to be like a well enjoyed School more than an engineering college. But the teaching here is really imperfect for Instrumentation Engineering Students. Teachers are not very helpful though they have good knowledge of the topic they teach. The Infrastructure is not much developed, but the labs are well equipt and there is the nil amount of Industrial Exposure. Placement is average here. Hostels are worse
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Really Good Institute

Posted on 12 Feb' 16 by Anushka dasgupta
Batch of Jan. 1, 2018 | BE Instrumentation Engineering
The best decision I have ever made in my life is joining AEC. It seems to be like a well enjoyed School more than an engineering college. Teachers are really helpful and well knowledge. The Infrastructure needs a bit of development but the labs are well equipt and there is the good amount of Industrial Exposure. Placement is also good here.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Maximize your learnings and seize the oppurtunities

Posted on 26 Oct' 15 by Tunni
Batch of Jan. 1, 2012
At AEC, you get the best opportunity to nurture your future aspects as well as getting a strong fundamental in your field.Located at a very cool place, Assam engineering college is one of its kind with a great campus and surrounding facilities. Since it is a government college thus the fees is less.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Long Live AEC.

Posted on 18 Oct' 15 by Supratim
Batch of Jan. 1, 2013
Assam Engineering College, the first engineering college in the north-east India, was established in the year 1955. Encircled by the Gauhati University on the north, the Deepor Beel on the south, the Government Ayurvedic College on the east and the Assam Police Radio Organization on the west, Assam Engineering College not only provides an ideal context for learning but also creates a charming impingement on visitors. The campus is spread across 400 acres of land. All the courses of AEC are affiliated to Gauhati University. The institute has been the hub center of many intellectual and extra-curricular activities in Assam for almost half a century. It has produced some of the finest Engineers in 55+ years of its existence. One can find a large number of AEC alumnus in almost all the top companies around the globe. AEC has a large and well spread out lush green campus. Different departments have different buildings and all of them are equipped with all modern labs and facilities. AEC has all the major facilities like auditorium, library, gymnasium, hostels etc. The college offers one of the best faculties to its students in various departments. The teaching faculty of AEC consists of some of the best minds of the region with a good level of knowledge and experience. The students in AEC enjoy every day of the college. We get enormous opportunities to explore not just in academics but in various other fields be it Social and Cultural or Sports. Lastly, the scenario of placements in AEC is excellent with most of the top companies coming for recruitment's and almost every student leaves the college with a job in his/her bag.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Live the age with AEC

Posted on 10 Oct' 15 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2011
Located at a very cool place, Assam engineering college is one of its kind with a great campus and surrounding facilities. The faculty is well versed in the subjects they teach and help in all round development of the students. Each and every student is given separate attention during exams. Placement is good with companies like syntel, techmahindra,TCS being prolific visitors.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

The best place to maximize the oppurtunities

Posted on 10 Oct' 15 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2011
At AEC, you get the best opportunity to nurture your future aspects as well as getting a strong fundamental in your field. The placement is at its best in case of IT & CS departments. The faculty is good and prominent. Campus wise you have a good library to get all study materials. Hostel is available at a lower rate because of being government funded. Overall I would recommend this college.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Quality Education at Lowest possible investment

Posted on 10 Oct' 15 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2011
Beautiful 400 acre Campus, Very Good Faculty Base, Good Infrastructure, Good Placements.College life is great. Hostels facility too are awesome. Excellent technical fest and competitions of national level. Enjoyed four years in the college to the fullest.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

GOOD COLLEGE WITH AVERAGE PLACEMENT

Posted on 09 Oct' 15 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2011
first of all the college is very good all around Assam. Since it is government thus the fees is less. Located in a good surrounding. faculty does its best by imparting proper knowledge to the students. Placements are average for some departments such as mechanical and civil but on the higher side for departments like CS IT.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

KING OF THE NORTH

Posted on 09 Oct' 15 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2011
BEST COLLEGE, BEST FACULTY, TRUE SPIRIT OF COMPETITION AMONG STUDENTS, AN ATMOSPHERE WHERE KNOWLEDGE IS GIVEN UTMOST IMPORTANCE TO. hostel facility is great and the food is yum.. You'll feel homelike. placements are great in cs,it,EEE departments: others are also average.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

BEST OF THE LOT

Posted on 09 Oct' 15 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2011
You get the best faculty in and around. The campus is lush green with good WiFi and hostel facilities. Teachers are good and provide proper insight to the chapters. Exams are conducted in proper manner. Placement is awesome with average package of 4.5 lacs.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

TOP ENGINEERING COLLEGE

Posted on 09 Oct' 15 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2011
college has best infrastructure. Faculty is very well versed in subjects they teach. They also help you in clearing all doubts as well as help in preparing for competitive exams. Placements are up to the mark with average package ranging in between 4-5 lakh. The surrounding is good with proper hostel facilities. The WiFi speed is up to the mark. Food quality in the hostel is also good. so overall the college is on top and provides a base of foundation for the future.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Only join this college to gain knowledge

Posted on 04 Oct' 15 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2015 | BE Civil Engineering
The experience was too witty. Surrounded by mostly people from village background, it was hard to start campus life at the beginning but after 4 years I was finally conducive. Made some good but few friends. Very poor administration. Nobody care if you are attending classes or not. But this college image has been maintained by some excellent faculties and also as the first Engineering College of Northeast. Placement scenario is very very poor. The T&P officer Mrs Ganguly is way beyond worst. Apart from getting placed in IT sectors, not more than 5% students get placed in core. Ambiance is good, fully surrounded by greenery and natural campus. Fj
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Engineering College in "LAND OF HILLS"...

Posted on 10 Jul' 15 by Vaishali Solanki
Assam Engineering College is one of the premier college in North East India situated in Guwahati city. Although being an State govt. college it is Infrastructurally rich. Moreover, we have guys from different states of north east who are expert in sports, cultural events, social activities which add value to our degree. Besides the hostels got free internet facility and gym in addition to a well built infrastructure. It is surrounded by beel and hills which adds a mesmerizing beauty to our college.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
Is this Review Helpful?

Best college for engineering in assam

Posted on 08 Jul' 15 by Bitu Moni
"Assam engineering college or AEC is the best for students who wants to be a good engineering in Assam. It provides various engineering courses in a very low cost. It is the best for those who can't afford to study in private colleges outside Assam. "
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
Is this Review Helpful?

Hostel culture is very very poor.

Posted on 12 Jun' 15 by Rommo Deb
The college has no specific boundary but gifted with scenic beauty. Its one of the oldest college.Placed near Ayurvedic College, the spot is perfect. The faculty are doing a great job, a lot of PhD honored teachers. The core branches, being the best mechanical on top, followed by electrical and civil. The placements are on uphill, with average of 40% on campus recruitment. The industry exposure, training is at a stagnant situation with mediocre companies. The canteen is also mediocre, but the environment is good. Hostel culture is very very poor. But at last the top state engineering college of assam The college is a open boundary college, placements are increasing now, industry exposure is not uniform or elegant, but study wise the curriculum and faculty are good especially the old faculties,
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
Is this Review Helpful?
Disclaimer: The reviews mentioned above truly represent the experience of the student / alumni. We do not allow manipulation / editing of these reviews by any personnel.
Interested in this College?

Download the Careers360 App on your Android phone

Regular exam updates, QnA, Predictors, College Applications & E-books now on your Mobile

Careers360 App
150M+ Students
24,000+ Colleges
500+ Exams
1500+ E-books