Student Rating 3.91/5 (Showing 127 Reviews)

Good college for proper development

Posted on 18 Apr' 18 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2018 | BE Electronics and Communication Engineering
The college have best infrastructure . There is proper environment of development of the student. There are also many sports facilities in campus itself like atheletic track; sport complex. The hostel life is also too good. In this university there are too many societies which makes many people's of different culture together with knowledge sharing.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Important phase of your life

Posted on 03 Apr' 18 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2018 | BE Electronics and Communication Engineering
College Time is definitely a phase in your life where you can easily learn new skills without worrying about the final outcome.just like any other college, Thapar too focus more on your theoretical knowledge but according to me that too is important in so called 'Long Run'.If your parents can afford fee structure,u have a desire to learn and explore then choosing thapar can be a good option.Apart from engineering department, humanities department is very good which shaped on of the most important skill that one poses ie 'How to represent yourself'.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Best place to connect to the industrial culture

Posted on 26 Mar' 18 by Abhishek
Batch of Jan. 1, 2018 | BE Electronics and Communication Engineering
Thapar University is the best place if one wants to link its theoretical knowledge with the industrial culture. Going to Thapar was the best phase of my life. Starting from the day one of your college life, u are made to work hard by making u go through a curriculum full of challenges which will make u realize what engineering is really all about quite similar to what is done in the IIT's or any other premier engineering institutes in India. One can also take part in various extra-curricular activities. And then comes the most important part i.e placements which is actually a main query of all students. Placements in Thapar University are really good if u have the calibre u will easily get placed. In a nutshell, if u are in a doubt whether to go for Thapar, don't hesitate to go and grab the chance it will really do wonders which u will realize in ur 3 yr itself when u will see ur seniors get placed in good companies and it will really motivate u for your companies. Best of luck to all
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

A feel good college with great environment

Posted on 23 Jun' 17 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2015 | B.Tech Biotechnology
The infrastructure of the college is well designed.it provides a good exposure and facilities for students.classrooms are spacious and airy and the labs are well-equipped with all the required equipments.library is big in all aspects. Hostel rooms are decently maintained by the staff . The Wi-Fi enabled campus . The canteen food is pretty good when compared to other universities. Placements in this vary between being decent and good, depending upon your communication skills.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Life in here equals rowing boat in a sea

Posted on 09 Jun' 17 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2019 | BE Electronics and Communication Engineering
Excellent infrastructure and soon to be completed one of a kind hostels are available. Provides unlimited internet excess all over the campus. Has outstanding sports and gym facilities with high quality equipment. The college funds the official team to participate in various tournaments. Has 70+ societies providing scope to nourish your non-collegiate activities.Cultural and Technical fests are "the thing" here. Recently the college has been collaborated with the Trinity college, Dublin providing wider opportunities to go and study abroad. The courses provided are also collaborated with Dublin's syllabus Few of the faculty members are highly experienced and provide good quality education .But getting these teachers depends entirely on your luck.The campus promotes eco-friendly techniques and has many environment based projects inside the campus like water treatment plant , waste management system etc. The only thing it lacks is insufficient practical exposure to the things being taught. All in all what happens is due to vast syllabus in student gets burdened in the last days. But overall outcome is positive with good placements every year. The crowd here consist majority of IIT aspirants who, unfortunately couldn't make it to IIT's , therefore giving healthy competition in studies and also maintaining the decency. In a nutshell the college may have some faults but it will give you the episode of life time.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Interesting Place to study and Explore

Posted on 07 May' 17 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2020 | BE Electronics Instrumentation and Control Engineering
This college has a very good infrastructure,well equipped labs,better faculty and a decent student crowd.Placements are also good as core companies like San disk,Texas Instruments and other MN C's come to the campus for recruitment. This college has many societies in which we can participate and the fests like Saturnalia are very much enjoyable. If fees is not the problem, then definitely it is a very reputed college(it still is). Conclusion-It is the best place to explore your talents and you will not regret joining this college and even after passing out of this college. Thank you.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Awesome experiences with the best

Posted on 04 Mar' 17 by rohan verma
Batch of Jan. 1, 2019 | BE Computer Engineering
Thapar University provides wonderful infrastructure for students and faculties. Especially the newly built J Hostel is very well built and provided with very good facilities. It has totally changed the meaning, of hostels. Yes, the corporate exposure lacks a bit but it is growing day by day with the effort of the management committee of the college. There are a lot of co-curricular activities to do along with study including both technical and cultural. The placement offers received till now are also good and the placement percentage is also improving. The average package we receive is pretty good than the other colleges. We are also being provided wifi. The professors are also good in their respective areas of study. The crowd is increasing every year. And it is affordable for a middle-class family too.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Best University in Punjab

Posted on 19 Feb' 17 by MANTHAN K ANEJAA
Batch of Jan. 1, 2020 | BE Computer Engineering
Thapar University is one of the best university in Punjab. With very great and wide infrastructure it has sports complex, well designed auditoriums, food courts and much more. Many seminars keep on happening here and students are well guided. There is a lot to learn. i don't live in hostel so i don't know much about it. Average placements are very high and faculty here is very hard working. and student crowd is great because admission rate is very less..only good scorers in jee and boards get admission here. It is not cheap but it is sort of affordable..annual fee is about 3 lacs for engineering. Overall it is a great university which is worth studying.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Loved every day here

Posted on 19 Feb' 17 by Mayaank Dixit
Batch of Jan. 1, 2019 | BE Computer Engineering
The batch placed this year was offered the highest CTC of 29 lakh by De Shaw and Arcesium. The lowest salary was about 2.5 - 3 lakhs with the placement session going on. The average salary offered was 6 lakhs while the average for computer science was 9.5 lakhs. Companies include De Shaw, Arcesium, Microsoft, Amazon, Gwinnie Bee, Walmart and Zomato for CSE students. HODs of most departments are skilled, hold PhD degrees and have published many research papers. The other faculty is new and doesn't have much experience. Due to increasing seats, the faculty is expected to teach more courses and quality is also deteriorating. Student to faculty ratio will be around 60:1. The course curriculum here is focused widely on mechanical and other core branches and is improving.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Worst for day scholars

Posted on 18 Feb' 17 by manu singla
Batch of Jan. 1, 2018 | BE Electronics Instrumentation and Control Engineering
As i said.there is no facility for day scholars.u just get the parking fees nd other fees cut out of ur academic fees.the college charges very much as compare to the facilities provided.honestly,not a good college.not recommended.very much pisses pf from this college.being a day scholar i cant attemd amy might fest.very bad faculty.strict timings.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Great college

Posted on 15 Feb' 17 by Komal Preet
Batch of Jan. 1, 2020 | B.Tech Biotechnology
An overall good college with international standards in academics and sports.. good placements and great exposure.. great college life and a decent crowd.. non alcoholic or smoking campus with vast greenery.. an all in all great package with slightly high fees.. state of the art machines and well equipped labs.. friendly staff and students.. zero ragging..
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Good college with decent crowd

Posted on 14 Feb' 17 by gulshank kumar
Batch of Jan. 1, 2020 | B.Tech Biotechnology
An overall good college with international standards in academics and sports.. good placements and great exposure.. great college life and a decent crowd.. non alcoholic or smoking campus with vast greenery.. an all in all great package with slightly high fees.. state of the art machines and well equipped labs.. friendly staff and students.. zero ragging..
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

An overall good college with an amazing college life

Posted on 14 Feb' 17 by Shantanu Anand
Batch of Jan. 1, 2020 | B.Tech Biotechnology
An overall good college with international standards in academics and sports.. good placements and great exposure.. great college life and a decent crowd.. non alcoholic or smoking campus with vast greenery.. an all in all great package with slightly high fees.. state of the art machines and well equipped labs.. friendly staff and students.. zero ragging..
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Its a great college with great atmosphere.loved it.

Posted on 13 Feb' 17 by aman jaryal
Batch of Jan. 1, 2020 | B.Tech Biotechnology
Since i am in 2nd sem now..but my these 7 months have been great. Infrastructure is very good. A student gets a lot of chances to explore himself. Lots of Co-curricular activities are organised. Hostels are too good and the food is also good. Playgrounds are here for each game. Library is one of the best place here. I rate it 10/10.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Join rely and suceed

Posted on 11 Feb' 17 by Sachin
Batch of Jan. 1, 2020 | BE Computer Engineering
Thapar university is a college where students get ample of opportunities.Believe me no it is better than my nit's and new iit's.There are large no. of societies where students can participate for their enhancement and growth.The college life is awesome.Its a myth that government college have good placements.The trend has changed completely.The only demerit is that the fees is too high.But there are scholarships for the elite students.The college takes responsibility for your overall personality developement.You won't be regreting for your decision to join thapar in future.Hope you take a good decision.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Absolutely Amazing

Posted on 09 Feb' 17 by Madhur
Batch of Jan. 1, 2019 | BE Electrical Engineering
Thapar university is one of the best universities in india, especially north india. It has one of the best infrastructures. The overall environment is a really good one, where you can feel free express yourself and your views in front of your teachers and friends and always look do something new all the time. This college also boasts one of the best faculties in all the trades of engineering and management. Its been almost 2 years here and i have enjoyed every bit of it be it studying or chilling out with friends.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Healthy and useful experience has started studying here

Posted on 09 Feb' 17 by ISHAN SHARMA
Batch of Jan. 1, 2019 | BE Civil Engineering
The first very good thing is that there is no source of ragging. Seniors are very helpful.There ate lot of new societiea here which make us learn very good things.Placements are above 90 percent.Faculty is also experienced and helping .Living in hoatel has also made me learn a lot of new things.Academics and sports go hand in hand.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

College life has been a great source of new experience

Posted on 09 Feb' 17 by Manoj Kumar
Batch of Jan. 1, 2020 | BE Electrical Engineering
Thapar university is far better than other local colleges in area. As it is affiliated with Trinity college Dublin so course scheme has been modified according to that.Moreover the burden of study is less after such hectic days of coaching centers.Going to faculty point of view teaching lectures are good.Infrastructure is also good being a private university. Placements are also at good level but the only negative point is that its fees is not costly.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Placement wise good but fees are too high

Posted on 08 Feb' 17 by Harry Garg
Batch of Jan. 1, 2018 | BE Electronics Instrumentation and Control Engineering
College infrastructure is well developed along with lush green fields and grounds. Hostels are also decent but mess food is not up to the mark. Faculty is above average and few teachers are really knowledgable and helpful. College provides numerous job opportunities. Fests need to be more happening and interesting and budget of fests should be increased. Students can indulge in many co-curricular activities like sports, dance, music, art, acting etc. Fee is not affordable for someone who is from a middle class background.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Overall faculty and education quality is good but avg in pla

Posted on 08 Feb' 17 by Anurakt Rai
Batch of Jan. 1, 2020 | BE Electronics and Communication Engineering
The campus college life is ausumn the provided is good and the faculty is above average ,education quality is good but the Student quality is decreasing year by year as the no of seats are increasing so cutoff percentage is decreasing but overall University is reputated and good.From my personal experience there is lot to do in college and there are good opportunities.From placement point of view it is good but not according to my expectations.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

My college experience is quite good because there are so man

Posted on 07 Feb' 17 by kapil sharma
Batch of Jan. 1, 2020 | BE Civil Engineering
My college life is quite good because there are so many activities to take participate in and here it's a good exposure to get experience.There is a good infrastructure,proper amount of objects and instruments are available and proper discipline of doing different actives. Some national level marathon, and sports events are organised along with a main technical and cultural fest.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Good infra and staff

Posted on 07 Feb' 17 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2018 | BE Computer Engineering
College life here is awesome for hostlers . The student crowd is decent and people from different states study together. Infrastructure and facilities are really good. But the fees is very high and is not affordable by a student from middle class background.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

A good university altogether

Posted on 07 Feb' 17 by Nidhi
Batch of Jan. 1, 2018 | BE Electronics and Communication Engineering
This university will provide great opportunities in both academic and extra curricular field. Great infrastructure and other facilities .Though it is losing its charm, but it still provides good placements .Teaching faculty quality is degrading too. Moreover , college is getting over crowded .
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Good college to spend your 4 years if you can afford it

Posted on 07 Feb' 17 by Nikhil Sharma
Batch of Jan. 1, 2018 | BE Electronics Instrumentation and Control Engineering
My college life at Thapar University is pretty fine. The infrastructure of the campus area and hostels is very good (hostel rooms are much better than other colleges). Most of the faculty is above average but few of them are really good teachers. Students can join various clubs/societies/ groups to pursue their interest e.g music, dance, art, photography etc. Most importantly, our college provides decent-to-very good placement opportunites for students.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Thapar university is far better from other local colleges in

Posted on 05 Feb' 17 by ISHAN SHARMA
Batch of Jan. 1, 2020 | BE Electrical Engineering
This university has given me a very good experience till now.The burden of study is less as compared to school. Since this university is affiliated with Trinity College Dublin so syllabus is also according to that.Faculty is good ,as lectures are taken timely. And as far as placements are concerned , it is concerned it is ranked 3rd private university in india .Hostel and infrastructure is good.The only negative point is that it is bit costly as compared to other colleges.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

My college has best faculty and good laboratories

Posted on 05 Feb' 17 by Hitesh Sharma
Batch of Jan. 1, 2016 | BE Electrical Engineering
From my college experience, I hope to gain many things. Obviously college is a time that students can truly become individuals. When I attend college I will have the opportunity to become more independent and to take on new responsibilities. I have always relied on my parents for support, but at college I will be on y own an will have to push myself harder. This will help me to become more mature and will help me grow in character. Right now I have a fairly accurate idea concerning what I want to do with my life. Yet, I am also aware that I may change my mind several times before I begin a career. College will introduce me to new and various things, an I will develop new interests from this exposure. During my high school years, I have been very involved in school and community activities. In college, I will also be exposed to new clubs and activities. Involvement in extra events has provided a balance for rigorous course study. With the pressures college brings, I will probab! l want to be involved in many groups. I hope to find a balance between my studies and my social life, and I hope to offer my leadership qualities to my college community.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Thapar university is good

Posted on 05 Feb' 17 by Kapil Garg
Batch of Jan. 1, 2020 | BE Electrical Engineering
Thapar university is good as it is well known for its placement college life is very good and very fantastic.it is very attractive and imagination.a lot of society are available so it is well known for its placement and very good life. It is main competition with trinity dribbling.so a lot of extra work is created due to this .so my experience in college life till date is very good.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Enjoying college life and making new friends.

Posted on 04 Feb' 17 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2020 | BE Electronics Instrumentation and Control Engineering
I really like my college a lot. It has really vert good infrastructure and is provided with many facilities. The faculty is really very good and especially for electronics, mechanical, civil and computer department. The crowd is good and few people are really very friendly, helpful and amazing. Here we have many societies like EDC, urja and really amazing fest like saturnalia. We also have our own newspaper called "scribbler" and that is really famous among many universities here. Campus is very big and well maintained, gardens , labs, auditorium and seminar halls. We also have a market complex and every block has its own canteen and many other food cornerns. There are SBOP and ICICI banks in our campus. There are separate hostel for boys and girls, all are well maintained, also AC and non AC rooms are provided for students who want to accommodate according to their needs. Every hostel have their own mess and canteens. Overall I'm really happy to be a part of Thapar university.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Extracted the best out of me

Posted on 03 Feb' 17 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2012 | BE Electronics and Communication Engineering
Studying in this college was always a dream. The college has very alot to give to the students.But a slightly unfavorable about my college is that it is just more than like a school like attending classes from 9 to7 sometimes that becomes unbearable sometimes.Rest the hostels are good and the food is also good. The major drawback is the fee structure it is too high to easily afford.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Like school with more studying hours but uses full potential

Posted on 03 Feb' 17 by Jatin
Batch of Jan. 1, 2020 | BE Civil Engineering
Thapar university is good as per study as they uses the full potential of student not like other colleges where classes does not take place seriously .here teachers teach like in schools.we don't have refer books daily teacher here teach on projecter using slifes which they give us so we dont have to make note we just have to listen to teachers
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?
Disclaimer: The reviews mentioned above truly represent the experience of the student / alumni. We do not allow manipulation / editing of these reviews by any personnel.
Interested in this College?

Download the Careers360 App on your Android phone

Regular exam updates, QnA, Predictors, College Applications & E-books now on your Mobile

Careers360 App
150M+ Students
24,000+ Colleges
500+ Exams
1500+ E-books