Jesus and Mary College, Delhi Reviews Jesus and Mary College, Delhi

Student Rating 3.92/5 (Showing 71 Reviews)

Life at college:The most beautiful phase of one's life

Posted on 25 May' 17 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2018 | B.Sc Mathematics Hons
One of the most interesting stages in life that gives one an opportunity to explore is the ‘college phase.’ Life at college is the time when the teenage years end and we all dive deep into the ocean of new beginnings and possibilities. This golden period better equips us for all the challenges we'll face in life and creates a strong foundation of knowledge. I scored a good percentage in class 12 and was confident enough that I would get into some good Delhi University college.My hopes were quite shattered after the high cutoffs .But fortunately I cleared the cutoff of JMC and got admission in Bsc Mathematics (Hons). My experience at Jesus and Mary college has taught me one fundamental thing – life is unpredictable. It might be good, it might be bad, it might be weird, and it might not interest us sometimes, but expect anything to happen.It is a perfect blend of joy and hardships. We meet different people, we interact with them, we learn about their cultures and grow as a person. We learn how to talk to different people, how to judge their behavior, thus helping us with important life skills. We learn to sit through a boring lecture; we try to cope up with the surprisingly strenuous syllabus, and we have the opportunity to learn from some great research minds. People might try to misguide us by telling that one needs to study only through one's school years and chill during the college life, but that isn’t true in Delhi university.One has to study hard to score well. My experience is an amalgamation of joys and sorrows. My college is a very reputed college and the faculty is excellent.The college campus is spread over an area of 15 acres with lush green trees and sprawling lawns.As JMC is an all girl's college,the college is very strict in discipline.The college hosts a variety of events where other colleges participate in good numbers. Being an outstation student my life at college is different from other students.Our college doesn't have a hostel so I stay in paying guest accommodation nearby.I have to juggle between studying and coping with living alone in a new city away from home. Another life lesson to remember in college – learning never ends. One find campus groups or student groups where one can explore various co-curricular skills along with many other students like us. The life at college is a time when we decide our career. It’s a time of dreams and innumerable paths. I worked for a non-profit organization and even gained the satisfaction of being a humanitarian. Every nook and corner of the college we find a peaceful spot full of natural surroundings, who’s value we will only realize once we graduate . We will always remember the early morning fog, or even our grumpy stationery shopkeeper. So, remember that there will be moments that carry a lot of sentimental value and one can’t help but miss those years later. The friendships we make in college life is the most important aspect. These people will give us strength and be our knights in shining armor all our life.Planning road trips, occasional adventure surges, and impulsive journeys—all these things make emotional when we bid adieu to the institution. Life at college is a wild mish-mash of experiences, what with all sort of hilarious stuff going down in the campus!
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
Is this Review Helpful?

Simply the best.

Posted on 05 Apr' 17 by Kirti Kerketta
Batch of Jan. 1, 2018 | BA
Last 2 years of life in this college has been really awesome. Its a very famous girl college. It has a very friendly Environment that any person can adapt. It provides you immense exposure and opportunities in different fields. It has a every kind of facility i.e. lab, library, sports etc. Faculty is good but you can find really genius students here. Infrastructure is well maintained and provides all the necessity. In extra curricular activities there are different societies that help students grow more as a person. It's the best in it's own and I'm glad being a part of it.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Days of our life

Posted on 26 Feb' 17 by Shruti Gabriel
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | BA
The infrastructure of Jesus and Mary College is excellent, and can without doubt be among the best in DU colleges. As the college is built on rocks, there is a gradual increase in altitude as you go deeper inside the college. Classrooms are huge and spacious, and there are green gardens all around. Large areas of open lawns and gardens make the environment very student friendly, and that’s what makes you fall in love with the college. The 3 storey library of JMC is good, and students go on to say that it’s even better than any other south campus college library, with separate sections for UG and PG students, and there is enough seating available too.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
Is this Review Helpful?

Not as expected but good enough

Posted on 25 Feb' 17 by Srishti
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | B.Sc Mathematics Hons
Pretty good college. Resourceful and competitive faculty. Exposure, not so much. One of the better colleges of DU, though. Crowd is very decent. My experience has been good. At first, it was difficult to adjust to the lifestyle of an all girl's college, having studied in co ed institutes all my life. But gradually, it became easier. I met some great people and made amazing friends. I've been a part of so many activities that I wouldn't have had access to had it not been for this college. Event management is a little sloppy but there's a sense of purpose and belongingness. By Srishti Singh Parihar Third Year B.Sc. (Honours) Mathematics student Jesus and Mary College University of Delhi
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Bestest college one can ever get into

Posted on 13 Feb' 17 by Jisha
Batch of Jan. 1, 2018 | B.Com Hons
As every student loves his or her college the most even i love my college a lot i would say my college is the bestest of all even though its a girls college we never felt the need of boys in our college. The only thing which i don't love about my college is that celebrities are not allowed during fest or in any event.. Infrastructure is quite good.... one of the thing which i like is near to our college we have many places to hang around with friends. We basically love coming to college... our teachers are the best they are not so strict they are friendly, loving and caring... My first day itself was so cool at first i hesitated to interact with others but later on i made a group of 12-13 people in it.. we enjoy a lot in our college.. another best part of our college is that it promotes sports for women we have womens football team, cricket team, hockey team, basket ball team etc.. we have many societies as well other than the compulsory societies these societies really helps us a lot as it inculcates many things in a student it develops our personality, it helps us gaining confidence and more.... it feels refreshing when we get into college as the atmosphere is really great.... in short am in love with my college..
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

A joyful life I never lived

Posted on 12 Feb' 17 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2018 | B.Com
My college life has been great and will continue to be in the next year. The faculty and students deserve this appreciation. Every single place in the college has given tons of memories.. thanks to the infrastructure. These 3 years would be the most memorable.. including the various opportunities given to me, securing first position in first year, along with all the fun with the friends, seniors and teachers.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Girlfriends can be fun and drama free!

Posted on 11 Feb' 17 by Prerna Mehta
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | BA Psychology Hons
It's been a great journey uptil now. Coming with certain apprehensions and doubts or lstes to studying in an all girls college, I was soon at ease having made the best of friends and not having any particular bad experiences. One thing that however is a little frustrating is the ongoing construction process (1st year to 3rd) and also lack of allotment of funds for our college fest, montage. Despite this, the faculty is amazing. The teachers are dedicated and experienced. Overall my experience has been a great one and I'll be leaving with some great memories!
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

The best experience ever

Posted on 09 Feb' 17 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | BA
College life didn't start off great but over the years I grew a special love for this college, its people and everyone who I had the chance to interact with. To the best three years, definitely going to Miss college way too much! JMC will always hold a special place in my heart
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

This college holds great potential

Posted on 08 Feb' 17 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2019 | BA
If given the right opportunities, this college will definitely be one of the best colleges in near future. It is well-connected with the metro station. The faculty here is extremely knowledgable and student-friendly. The infrastructure is developing and is continuing to develop.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

One of the worst experiences of my life

Posted on 08 Feb' 17 by Manyata
Batch of Jan. 1, 2016 | BA Psychology Hons
My college experience, ruined because of the Delhi University FYUP fiasco was not made better by the college authorities. A subject as rich as psychology was made bland by teachers where the rigor was superficial yet strenuous. Disheartened with the level academics in my course, many of my classmates have now left the field. Internal departments are full of politics amongst teachers which is not an ideal environment to foster intellectual curiosity of children. Teachers were vengeful and not fit for the positions they occupied
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

It's more pomp less substance.

Posted on 26 Jan' 17 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | BA Psychology Hons
Overall it is nice college. However, a few things that it needs to work on are most importantly being more receptive towards the needs of the students. The faculty is amazing but the majority of ad-hocs makes it a problem for students who're planning to apply abroad.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

This college leads to one's all round development

Posted on 21 Sep' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2019 | B.Com Hons
A word or a sentence,even a whole book of characters formed of letters and punctuations wouldn't suffice the beauty of the experiences I have in my college.Jesus and Mary are just not another colleges in DU,it is an another world in itself which has an aura of its own of being awesome and cultured at the same time.I was lucky enough to be a part of this rare combination for years which is developing me as a better woman who is self-sufficient,independent and confident . The cosmopolitan crowd of Jmc has taught me to respect the views and principles of different people who are just not different linguistically and culturally but also intellectually. The exposure in Jmc through various societies has widened my mental horizons and social outlook in general. The faculty of the college is just another feather to the GMC crown.The professors are so hardworking and jovial ,they are absolutely open to our suggestions and are always ready to help us in our time of need without any consideration to their own hardships .The professors play a big role in developing a team spirit in me through assigning of group activities which taught me that "WE"is more powerful than"I".
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Great experience

Posted on 20 Sep' 16 by Sanya Madan
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | B.Com
Proud to be a Jmcite..excellent college with an ellite crowd and efficient and respected professors..the various student's societies of the college are its highlight that makes it stand out from other colleges. The Placement percentage of the college is very high which is yet the best part of the curriculum..jmc fest Montage is worth attending and even the department fests are amazing ..3 years of graduation become memorable when one is a part of this prestigious and esteemed college.The personality grooming students get here is way too good and makes the students stand out in the crowd.Its a pleasure or in fact a blessing to have got admission in this reputed college ,Jesus, and Mary College,Delhi University.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

It is going really good and exciting.

Posted on 19 Sep' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2019 | BA Economics Hons
JMC life has been really fun filled and amazing. The faculty is really good and experienced. We always have something or the other activities going on always. Every Department has their own fest which is on a grand level. JMC's annual college fest MONTAGE itself is a grand thing. Our college as many socities including MUDRA:the western dance society which is the best dancing society of DU. JMC is one of the really good colleges
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Located in chanakyapuri

Posted on 15 Sep' 16 by Ritika
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | BA Economics Hons
Students are the best judge of a teacher, and when you ask the students here about the faculty, they say they’re the BEST. Very famous for its English, and Psychology faculty, the rest are not behind either. Also, the university toppers also are most of the times, from JMC. The professors are easily approachable and available on and Off-campus, contact them after lectures or stop them during the lecture they’re always ready to help. Nice people teaching out there. Although from the side of the students, only students from B.com don’t respond at par with the level of teaching the faculties to provide, as they really don’t care much. The infrastructure of Jesus and Mary College is excellent, and can, without a doubt, be among the best in DU colleges. As the college is built on rocks, there is a gradual increase in altitude as you go deeper into the college. Classrooms are huge and spacious, and there are green gardens all around. Large areas of open lawns and gardens make the environment very student friendly, and that’s what makes you fall in love with the college. The 3 storey library of JMC is good, and students go on to say that it’s even better than any other south campus college library, with separate sections for UG and PG students, and there is enough seating available too. Book bank facility is also available for the needy students. Although there is no Wi-fi in the campus, Students and faculty members can access the internet at desktops computers in the Library. The air-conditioned labs are decent, and are all equipped with LCD projectors, and printers, and connected to the internet as well. The college does not have its own hostel, so students who are not from Delhi; have to manage PG accommodation, in the nearby areas of Satya Niketan or R.K.Puram. Fees: For the Graduation, courses are around Rs.6,000 and around Rs.8,000 for post-graduation courses.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Brand name but boring

Posted on 14 Sep' 16 by Stuti
Batch of Jan. 1, 2019 | B.Com Hons
Coming from a co-ed boarding school I personally found it difficult to adjust to this strict all girls college. It at times gives me the feeling of a school due to its regulations. The faculty is good. Canteen is expensive. Nice exposure. Overall it is a great college with an international name. The fests are rejuvenating and fun to attend. People who seriously wish to study should join this institute.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Proud to be a part of this college

Posted on 11 Sep' 16 by Vishal
Batch of Jan. 1, 2014 | BA Economics Hons
Jesus and Mary College is not only a brand name in itself,but it definitely lives up to its high standards. Being amongst the very few all girl's colleges' in Delhi,it offers all the opportunities as other colleges do. After school,college is an entirely new environment. New people,new teachers, they're a way of life. JMC is that way a very welcoming and easy college to settle into. The faculty consists of teachers who have been teaching for donkey's years and definitely know their subjects well. You can call them for help, whether it's related to academics or your future plan they'll be happy to lend you an ear. JMC's infrastructure is up to the mark and even though it was under construction when I joined,it's now finally getting a new look! The lawns are well kempt and a good hangout place during free periods. One must give auditions for the various societies of the college as they are a treat to be a part of. All in all,I'm a very happy and proud student of Jesus and Mary College!
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Learning Experience

Posted on 10 Sep' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2016 | B.Com Hons
Infrastructure is really impressive. Lots of reputed companies come for placement of commerce students. Professors are good but there should be more discussions on practical matters in class. There is a lot of focus on bookish knowledge. Canteen could be better.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Girls college are not that bad as someone thinks about it.

Posted on 09 Sep' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2019 | BA Sociology Hons
Jesus and Mary is one the best college. In terms of faculty, crowd, infrastructure, locality. The atmosphere there is so sophisticated that no one will mind going there. The value of college is 'A' grade. Girls dream of this college since ninth and tenth grade. So studying there is a privilege. As well as a girl can be groomed here as so many events take place and so many activities. An introvert and a less confident person can become an extrovert and a confident fellow.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
Is this Review Helpful?

I am amazed by the infrastructure.love the canteen

Posted on 09 Sep' 16 by Apoorva Messi
Batch of Jan. 1, 2020
Infrastructure is amazing. Excellent placements. The campus is huge so u can hang out anywhere u like and a great place for selfies. Food is really tasty. The area around the campus is really peaceful. The crowd is really good and fashionable. All in all, i love my college.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Amazing experience

Posted on 08 Sep' 16 by Mahima Joshi
Batch of Jan. 1, 2019 | B.Sc Mathematics Hons
The college possesses very good faculty and a crowd. JMC has a good infrastructure containing all kinds of facilities. JMC proves itself to be one of the best colleges. The college also takes part in extra-curricular activities as well which provides great improving opportunities to the students.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
Is this Review Helpful?

JMC Diaries

Posted on 08 Sep' 16 by Aakanksha Singh
Batch of Jan. 1, 2019 | BA
College in a whole is a fun but the biggest problem is reaching the compulsory attendance percentage. The canteen needs to have a better infrastructure. The college has a lot of greenery and the classrooms are vast and airy. The college life is good and the societies here are great. The crowd is good and you'll find all kinds of people. The fests are great and a lot of fun. They're probably the highlight of college life at JMC. Some of the faculty is really good and the tutorials help a lot as well if you aren't attentive in class.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Jmc in my eyes

Posted on 08 Sep' 16 by ayushi choudhary
Batch of Jan. 1, 2019 | BA
College overall is good but the biggest issue would probably be the attendance. Jmc is very strict about their attendance and marks, unlike other DU colleges. Being a girls college, the crowd is good. During the first week, college seemed boring and frustrating but it got better l joined the societies and started interacting.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

JMC as a college

Posted on 08 Sep' 16 by Palakh Arora
Batch of Jan. 1, 2019 | BA
The attendance issue in JMS is a lot. But as a college, it's very good overall. The crowd is good and so is some of the faculty. Being an all girl's college, they are smart to not have any mirrors in the washrooms. For the first two weeks, you'll cringe and cry because of college but within the time you will find good friends and start enjoying.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

My window to reality

Posted on 06 Sep' 16 by Vipasha
Batch of Jan. 1, 2018 | BA English Hons
JMC is one of the best colleges of the University of Delhi. The faculty here simply the best of the best. The college buildings are currently under renovation and have been so for the past five or so. Though the new buildings are well made and practical, the construction work does spoil the ambience with perpetual noise. In terms of research and reading material, the college library is well stocked with books of all ranges and the rest can be found online, for which the college provides with computers and WiFi facility. My experience in this college has been amazing, to say the least. There is always something going on besides everyday studies; be it a talk from renowned writers and poets or seminars by professors from other colleges, or fests and plays - Jesus and Mary College is a pretty happening place. The only regret one may have would be to take the college co-educational.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
Is this Review Helpful?

My college life is amazing love the atmosphere and teachers

Posted on 04 Sep' 16 by Marilyn Cherobin
Batch of Jan. 1, 2015 | BA
The infrastructure of Jesus and Mary College is excellent, and can, without a doubt, be among the best in DU colleges. As the college is built on rocks, there is a gradual increase in altitude as you go deeper into the college. Classrooms are huge and spacious, and there are green gardens all around. Large areas of open lawns and gardens make the environment very student friendly, and that’s what makes you fall in love with the college. The 3 storey library of JMC is good, and students go on to say that it’s even better than any other south campus college library, with separate sections for UG and PG students, and there is enough seating available too. Book bank facility is also available for the needy students. Although there is no Wi-fi in the campus, Students and faculty members can access the internet at desktops computers in the Library.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Had a life changing three years here

Posted on 03 Sep' 16 by Pallavi
Batch of Jan. 1, 2014 | BA Psychology Hons
We had a lot of material available to us that we needed as Psychology students. Lots of tests and equipment available, as well as people to guide us on how to use the material. The college is currently undergoing renovation and is becoming better. Especially the Psychology department. We should get more updated tests, though. I made a lot of very close friends here. After school, stepping into the big bad world was made easier because of JMC. The Psychology department itself does not have a placement cell, which I think it should have. Although the college cell was good, and many people were placed well. Most of the faculty really knows their stuff. And the best part is that they are available for any queries, be they academic or life-related. You are made to feel pretty comfortable while being allowed to stand on your own feet. The College is largely quite affordable, you can eat quite well at the canteen in 50 to 60 bucks. The fees are also very reasonable considering a lot of other private universities.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
Is this Review Helpful?

College journey with ups and downs

Posted on 02 Sep' 16 by Annanya
Batch of Jan. 1, 2019 | BA Economics Hons
Jmc is one the best colleges in du. The opportunities are vast, something or the other keeps happening and the students are always active. The canteen, multi-purpose hall, and the garden are few favorite spots. The cons are that the infrastructure is not up to the mark.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

My experience in Jesus and Mary has been very amazing

Posted on 01 Sep' 16 by Aaneeshaa
Batch of Jan. 1, 2016 | BA Political Science Hons
Jesus and Mary's college are one of the best D.U colleges. And I have experienced that. It has not only given me great teachers to help me out with my studies, friends to go mad and crazy with, a canteen to fill my tummy with delicious snacks but also a huge platform to me for my talent. I was a part of Western dance society of JMC and I am proud of it because it comes under top 10 societies of D.U so am blessed to be a part of JMC.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

One of the best college for women in Delhi

Posted on 01 Sep' 16 by Deepna Mehta
Batch of Jan. 1, 1983 | B.Com
It was an experience to study in JMC , such a beautiful premises with greenery all around. The College had squeaky clean floors and was known for its discipline. Academically sound with excellent staff the college was an enigma for the outsiders. I can say without a doubt that those 3 years in the college were well spent and have left a stamp of confidence in my life.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
Is this Review Helpful?
Disclaimer: The reviews mentioned above truly represent the experience of the student / alumni. We do not allow manipulation / editing of these reviews by any personnel.
Interested in this College?

Download the Careers360 App on your Android phone

Regular exam updates, QnA, Predictors, College Applications & E-books now on your Mobile

Careers360 App
150M+ Students
24,000+ Colleges
500+ Exams
1500+ E-books