Student Rating 4.12/5 (Showing 12 Reviews)

Best College for Operation Management

Posted on 27 Aug' 16 by Bikram
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | MBA Operations Management
SIOM is India's only Institute dedicated to Operations Management, constituted with a vision of Empowering and Leading Operations Excellence. SIOM is an effort to nurture the students mindsets and skills so that they master the ability to manage ambitious Ycorporate growth by achieving cost excellence, acquiring market excellence rapidly, strengthening and customizing X Ydesign and building global / regional operating footprints. It produces potential leaders with broad knowledge by inculcating practical and analytical skills. Its dynamic course curriculum helps in brazing the students along with the global framework. These include initiatives such as SAP ERP training, Six Sigma Certification, APICS certification, CII Logistics Workshop and SCS training, all of which are aimed at delivering globally competent managers. The SIOM Operations Management specialization empowers each engineer with sharp engineering and scientific capabilities along with smart business management disciplines.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Excellent curriculum but lacks infrastructure for sports

Posted on 23 Aug' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | MBA Operations Management
I think the curriculum is not just at par but better than many other colleges like NITIE, IIT-SoM etc. For example, students get hands-on exposure on SAP and Minitab whereas my counterparts never did anything similar in their b-schools. Hence, overall, I'll advocate this point of high exposure and very latest of the latest curriculum. Though the Alumni base being smaller is one disadvantage against the oldest of old colleges like NITIE. For example, an NITIE alumnus recently retired from my company. He was from 1968 batch. So for SIOM it’ll take some time to reach that level. Apart from this, rest all is cool.SIOM offers 24X7 internet connectivity to its students. The college has comfortable classrooms. However, not all the classrooms are air-conditioned only some of the classes have this privilege. Apart from classrooms the campus also encompasses yoga halls, aerobics halls, and latest gym equipment. SIOM also has a fully automated modern library & information center (LIC) to cater to the information and intellectual requirements of the students and faculty.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

SIOM is a college, where one can unleash his/her potential.

Posted on 20 Aug' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | MBA Operations Management
The overall academic curriculum is very good. It also gives a huge opportunity to improve management skills by taking part in different competitions and participate in various activities like sports cultural etc. For the overall development of the student. Participating in different events helped me out to built knowledge and confidence.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

SIOM is a college, where one can unleash his/her potential.

Posted on 20 Aug' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | MBA Operations Management
The overall academic curriculum is very good. It also gives huge opportunity to improve management skills by taking part in different competitions and participate in various activities like sports cultural etc. for an overall development of the student. A lot of live projects have been given to us which helped me gaining knowledge.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Awesome location of the college for study

Posted on 17 Aug' 16 by Elvin
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | MBA Operations Management
It's a residential college which makes you feel like home. During the time, we become ready-made managers with a lot of students driven events and activities through committees and at the same time to develop Industry experience through participation in live projects . Operations Management being a core specialization forms a background to different functions which makes it an evergreen field. We get to learn a lot of tools like 6 sigmas, Capstone, R, Summer internships which are the icing on the cake. There is a lot of synergies when it comes to linking theoretical concepts with the practicality because of the dynamic industry coordinated curriculum. The hostels are neatly maintained and are upgraded with facilities from time to time. The Return on Investment is another significant aspect which made me go for SIOM. I would like to conclude by saying that , it's been a wonderful one year and would recommend this college for anyone who would want to change their domain or industry after an experience of 2-3 years.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

GOOD ROI !! Average college with above average placements

Posted on 28 Oct' 15 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | MBA Operations Management
Infrastructure is average. But placements are good . ROI is good for the college and Nashik is nice calm place to be in, lots of natural beauty around, trekking happens at various hills including Kalsubai peak, which is highest in Maharashtra. Lots of rivers, lake and beautiful places around with good flora and fauna. Although, campus life is bit boring and monotonous.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

What Knowledge is to Power, SIOM is to Operations Management

Posted on 22 Oct' 15 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2016 | Post Graduate Diploma in Operations Management
As I decided to pursue my post-graduation from Symbiosis International University, I had options from other sister concerns of the University. After introspecting all of them, I decided to join SIOM (Symbiosis Institute of Operations Management). SIOM truly stands out as the perfect canvas for the engineering minds brushed with a splash of corporate colour. I still remember my Induction programme in which we were introduced to our esteemed faculty, the enriching curriculum and the itinerary of events round the year. Situated in the sylvan environs of Nashik, the college truly enjoys the perfect climate during the day and night. The college truly has good infrastructural facilities in tandem with the requirements of the budding operations managers. There are many committees who are active throughout the year like Research Committee, Cultural Committee, Spandan Committee, Sports Committee, Public Relations Committee , E-Cell etc., Cultural committee ensures all the major festivals of the country are celebrated. Apart from the festivals there are many interesting events like Drishti – the biggest techno-cultural extravaganza of the college being organized in which students from different B-schools participate. Events like Converges and Tattv help us to cope with the pace of emerging trends in operations management predominantly but through the lens of HR, Marketing, Finance and Analytics. The faculty here includes some of the most learned brains of the country having rich and diverse corporate exposure. The sports committee organizes event like Lakshya every year in which the students try their hands on around 7-8 sports. Sometimes the rigorous schedule of MBA takes a toll on the students, at that time these events tend to re-invigorate the dynamism of the students. E- Cell is the right place for the budding entrepreneurs who are ready to take the risk backed by innovation to come up with the right solutions in an unconventional way. Initiatives like Laundromat (Washing Machine for the student hostels) and InfiniTEA (Coffee and Tea Vending Machine) for the faculty and students have been really some of the disruptive innovations to name a few. To name a few, HR Summit which is a confluence of HR leaders from the all over the country giving their valuable insights on the best practices and key issues handled by HR in tandem with operations management and MIT Kumbathon – an innovation hackathon where budding innovators join their hands to tackle the problems being faced at Kumbh (this year’s venue is Nashik) are some of the eye-catching events organised every year quite unique to a B-school. Certifications like 6-Sigma – Green belt in association with the Big 4 Consultancy firm KPMG makes the curriculum one of the most sought after in the country. Students have come here with a belief that their career steers forward with an exposure to the field of Operations Management. SIOM caters to their dreams by giving them opportunities in sectors like Manufacturing, Consulting, ITES, BFSI, Chemicals, Pharmaceuticals, Textiles, Analytics, etc., to grow themselves. SIOM doesn’t believe in number of companies coming to campus, it just makes the right fit for each and every student’s aspiration. Last but not the least when I look back today towards the decision of joining SIOM after leaving my job , I realise that with time I have grown up to be a techno-commercial manager equipped with the right skills ready to face the challenges of corporate world. The future seems enlightened to me after the values and attitudes learnt at SIOM have been ingrained in me.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

GOOD FOR OPERATIONS MANAGEMENT

Posted on 22 Oct' 15 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | MBA Operations Management
WITH THE TAG OF SYMBIOSIS THIS COLLEGE IS QUITE DIFFERENT FROM OTHERS. YES THIS IS FOR ENGINEERS. IT PROVIDES BEST KNOWLEDGE ON OPERATIONS MANAGEMENT AND ALSO THE FACULTIES ARE VERY SUPPORTIVE. THEY WANT US TO BE BETTER PERSON RATHER THEN ONLY FOCUSING ON STUDIES.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Operation & supply chain

Posted on 13 Oct' 15 by Amerandra
Batch of Jan. 1, 2016 | Post Graduate Diploma in Operations Management
If you want to go for operations & supply chain management program, then SIOM is best college. You will get 100% placement here. Campus infrastructure is good. Faculties are very competent in their field. Six sigma certification course is provided.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Niche in Operations

Posted on 11 Oct' 15 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2016 | MBA Operations Management
An MBA college dedicated to engineers. Engineers who want to change their paths but still looking for a field where their technical and analytical skills count have SIOM as an excellent option. Candidates with relevant industry experience could get packages comparable to Tier-1 colleges.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Awesome Ambience, High focus

Posted on 11 Oct' 15 by AVINASH SEN
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017
It is a hectic life with bustling activity, on and off campus. Ambience of Nashik has no comparisons with the hill side and temples surrounding our campus. Facilities of Gymnasium and yoga on campus enforces the ideology of 360 degree development of the students. Its to good to true. Sorry I could not think much to write about my beautiful experience..
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Excellent College for Operations Management

Posted on 02 Oct' 15 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2016 | MBA Operations Management
SIOM a unique institution under the banner of Symbiosis, is a competency building institute, just a decade old , with phenomenal achievements. 100% placement at above industry average package is only one of the highlights of its achievements. Its students "wear many hats" as versatile, adaptable and multitalented and some one who has a rich and successful life and career. SIOM's innovative curriculum will challenge your thinking and introduce you to multiple business perspectives to build the foundation you need to be an effective Techno-Business Manager and a leader. The SIOM fraternity is highly committed to its mission in Empowering Operations Excellence. Perfection is the name of the game at SIOM campus. My faculty, staff and students individually and collectively strive hard and live by our mission. I thank you very much for choosing SIOM as an option to pursue your MBA career and I encourage you to explore the opportunities that SIOM provides. "SIOM believes that – a path is made by walking on it. As an Institution SIOM shall radiate Leadership, Creativity, Attitude, Skills and Learning from its every corner to cast its rays towards empowering Operations excellence in the Industry."
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?
Disclaimer: The reviews mentioned above truly represent the experience of the student / alumni. We do not allow manipulation / editing of these reviews by any personnel.
Interested in this College?

Download the Careers360 App on your Android phone

Regular exam updates, QnA, Predictors, College Applications & E-books now on your Mobile

Careers360 App
150M+ Students
24,000+ Colleges
500+ Exams
1500+ E-books