Xavier Institute of Social Service, Ranchi Reviews Xavier Institute of Social Service, Ranchi

Apply

Rating Summary

3.9/5
37 Reviews
College Infrastructure
3.5/5
Academics
3.9/5
Placements
3.7/5
Value for Money
3.0/5
Campus Life
3.8/5
Student Rating 3.9/5 (Showing 37 Reviews)

So far, a great experience.

Verified Review
Posted on 27 Apr' 17 by Vaibhav Sinha
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | PGDM Finance
The huge alumni base speaks for itself. The college provides ample opportunities if you're up for it. HR is one of the best in the country and other departments are catching up too. The dedicated faculties are always there to guide us. The ROI and quality placement makes XISS a diamond in the rough.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Value for Money
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

XISS Ranchi - it's the place to be.

Verified Review
Posted on 05 Dec' 16 by Nipun Jain
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | PGDM Marketing
At XISS, we learn to manage business well, we serve the society too. Thus, we have an extra edge. Faculty Members have good corporate experience. Faculty Ratio - 15:1 We have both International as well as Rural Exposure (part of course curriculum) Decent infrastructure, well located and maintained hostels, The ROI is one of the best in the country. And, Ranchi - a progressing city.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Value for Money
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Good place

Verified Review
Posted on 19 Sep' 16 by Richa
Batch of Jan. 1, 2016 | PGDM Rural Management
XISS has a very good college crowd and faculties here are cooperative. There is relative marking scheme. The best thing about here is industry exposure. We are given projects and assignment and facilities to visit industries outside the city too. There are so many fest and events which keeps life here much happening. The college is not situated in outskirts unlike most of the B-Schools. Placement here is almost 100 %. The hostel is not so good and should be more worked upon. There is no AC and mess service also not that good but ignoring this part the college is affordable in terms of investment.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Value for Money
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Great experience till now ready to learn more

Verified Review
Posted on 12 Sep' 16 by swati jain
Batch of Jan. 1, 2018 | PGDM Marketing
It was my dream to join XISS for my management as in past also I was a student of Xavier's group. It is a great experience till now and possibly it will my life's best productive 2 years. as far to the placement concern it is quite good especially for human resource department. faculties are very supportive and helpful as well as they also now how to make students maintain the decorum in college. but there is a lack of exposure which is the most important thing for a management student for getting experience as well as the required confidence. But overall it is great to be a part of such a great educational organisation wit studies it also teaches us the social responsibility of a citizen of Indian and that makes it different from others.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Value for Money
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Great experience till now ready for more

Verified Review
Posted on 12 Sep' 16 by Rishika
Batch of Jan. 1, 2018 | PGDM Finance
Joining XISS was my dream as for my past education also I was connected with Xavier's group and that was the biggest reason behind my choice. Till now it is a great experience but to some extent, the exposure is missing and I believe that is something very needed for a management student for bringing the confidence. Faculties are good and helpful they know how to make students maintain decorum. Placements are great especially for human resource department.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Value for Money
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Good and not so good.

Verified Review
Posted on 11 Sep' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2018 | PGDM Marketing
The college is pretty good with good faculty and good curriculum. They keep the students busy with some activity or the other. The college is the centre of our lives for 2 years. This is the best college one can get at an affordable price unlike the other colleges which burn a hole in your pocket. The faculty is very much approachable and very knowledgeable. There are various electives to choose from in the second year depending upon the choice of the students so the curriculum is flexible. Social service is an integaral part of the ccurriculum, thereby imbibing value about the society. The downside of the college is I would say the infrastructure and the locality. It is situated in a city like Ranchi which doesn't attract many outsiders.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Value for Money
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

College gives you more than study

Verified Review
Posted on 10 Sep' 16 by AKSHAT GUPTA
Batch of Jan. 1, 2018 | PGDM Information Technology
From the first day, you get an orientation about how you can be professional with the difference, Student and Department workout is awesome. You can have responsibilities where no teachers and HOD interfere. And college is unique with departmentalization method every department have the different uniform and also faculties are so much experienced .
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Value for Money
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Nurturing my life at XISS

Verified Review
Posted on 06 Sep' 16 by Jasleen Kaur
Batch of Jan. 1, 2016 | PGDM Human Resource Management
XISS is one of the premium institutes of India where one can get the standard education with industry exposure.It offers PGDM courses in Human resource management, Marketing, Finance, Rural management and Information technology.The education provided is good and faculties are extremely helpful and cooperative.They are well educated and explain the course in a very well manner.Students from various states come here to study.The placements and internship programmes are of high quality which is progressing every year.The fee structure is feasible compared to other b-schools.There are also industrial tours and rural camps organized for students.The thing in which XISS lack is the improper hostel and infrastructure facility.Panache is a cultural fest which is held every year and it is a big program where different colleges are also invited to participate.Overall it can be said that XISS is one of the top b-schools which provides education with a difference.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Value for Money
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Experience of real corporate life

Verified Review
Posted on 03 Sep' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | PGDM Human Resource Management
Institute gives a good exposure to the corporate world as it gives us assignments, take tests, presentations, small class projects on a local company. We have events too. Everything goes simultaneously. The college gives a good exposure to real life through Social Service Field Work and Rural Camp. We have Industrial Visits too. We regularly have a session with our alumni through whom we get to know about the corporate world.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Value for Money
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Healthy academic environment but less practical study

Verified Review
Posted on 01 Sep' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2018 | PGDM Finance
Experience as of yet good Faculty good Campus good Good Food Apart from bookish knowledge nothing else is done. Teachers want the answers according to them in an exam. No practical knowledge provided. Class hours are all about reading the slides and making students understand the meaning of that.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Value for Money
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Oldest institution and best for hr

Verified Review
Posted on 28 Aug' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | PGDM Human Resource Management
Our college is best for hr. Faculties are experienced and help student to develop in a holistic way and help us grow. Summer internships are provided in companies like Exide tata nomura itc etc. this is the best college for hr in the eastern region and known for its in specialized alumni
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Value for Money
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Best two years of my life

Verified Review
Posted on 28 Aug' 16 by Uzma Maryam
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | PGDM Rural Management
Rural Management is the flagship department of our college.Many companies or NGO's visits our campus to recruit students from our department.It has many programs that provide students international exposure like some of our students are sent to Belgium or Korea for Exchange Programs.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Value for Money
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Awesome experience

Verified Review
Posted on 28 Aug' 16 by Sweta Padhi
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | PGDM Rural Management
It has a very good practical exposure. Also, we had an opportunity to visit abroad to represent our college. The faculty is extremely cooperative and guide us in every possible way. Rural management has the highest rate of placement and is known for its social activities
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Value for Money
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Moderate for finance management

Verified Review
Posted on 28 Aug' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | PGDM Finance
Our college is not very good for finance management. Infrastructure is poor and placement record is not upto the mark. I feel Finance has a lot of scope if properly taught and studied. I recommend students to enquire properly and join this college only if they wish to be a part of hrm dept
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Value for Money
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

XISS has made good on its promise to making me grow

Verified Review
Posted on 28 Aug' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2018 | PGDM Finance
XISS has helped me manage my time a lot better. The faculty here has been a great help in clearing my doubts. The various clubs in college make sure that a holistic development of a student takes place. While the hostel facilities can certainly get better, I'm positive that at the end of my stay this will prove to be an enriching experience.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Value for Money
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Best For HR

Verified Review
Posted on 27 Aug' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | PGDM Human Resource Management
My college life is rocking. Human resource department is one of the best department of our college and is also the flagship department and the placement scenario is also very good at least better than many good colleges. I am happy that I could be a part of this institution
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Value for Money
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Best of both world

Verified Review
Posted on 25 Aug' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | PGDM Human Resource Management
All the amenities are provided in the hostel as well as in college making it overall good. Industrial exposure plays a vital role in overall development of the student. Faculties help the students with subject concerned. Talent from the different part of India come over here and thus we have a very competitive environment. Compared to other MBA colleges , XISS is affordable in terms of its tuition fees.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Value for Money
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Awesome college life

Verified Review
Posted on 25 Aug' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | PGDM Marketing
XISS is a decent college for marketing.Placements are really good . Companies like HDFC , ICICI visit our campus.Industry exposure is nice and our faculties extremely cooperative. College life is rocking.. Confluence is some of the biggest events of our college.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Value for Money
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Perfect when compared on return on investment.

Verified Review
Posted on 25 Aug' 16 by Vaibhav
Batch of Jan. 1, 2018 | PGDM Finance
Quality education with experienced teachers. The pattern of teaching provides overall development and transformation of an individual in manager personality. The return on investment of the course is optimum and good. The life of college is a bit hectic but it is enjoyable and explores every trait of a person and enhances it.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Value for Money
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Insight to XISS

Verified Review
Posted on 25 Aug' 16 by admirable apurva
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | PGDM Marketing
XISS is a reputed institute in east zone,it's among most premier college.It has well basic amenities and provides lot and lot time to learn new things,it allows it's students to dive deep into the ocean of knowledge.It helps us to know what's present scenario of b schools,it allows enlightened minds to know what is the present problem and what steps can be taken to solve these existing problems.It allows students to learn from top-notch corporate leaders,it gives an exposure to students to know well and learn how to face this volatile,uncertain ,dynamic and abrupt environment ,it allows the managers to adapt to changing needs and perceptions of industry,it helps in overall development of person,it allows grooming,training, and overall personality development.It stands a bit far from other b schools in terms of infrastructure and has a good canteen wherein people from all walks of life be it a faculty member,a staff,a student relaxes and enjoys to be refreshed away from studies. The placement process is good and decent packages are offered provided students owe potential similar to the expectation of industries. Overall it's a very good college for a fresher to explore in the world of management. Last but not the least,IF POSSIBLE GO FOR IT!!
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Value for Money
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Professional with a difference

Verified Review
Posted on 23 Aug' 16 by prince madhup
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | PGDM Information Technology
XISS helps in grooming the students to be a professional with a difference and justifies the tagline. It also includes subjects over social work that teaches students, being a manager is incomplete if you are not taking care of the society. Even it is one of the best management institutes in the north-eastern states.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Value for Money
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Insight out of being at XISS Ranchi

Verified Review
Posted on 22 Aug' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2018 | PGDM Marketing
XISS is quite a preferred institute for that planning to ; go for PGDM with a difference. It offers PGDM courses in marketing, finance, human resource management, rural management and information technology. It has been progressing year by year in terms of CTC (cost to company ) being offered. One of the fields were XISS need to improvise upon is infrastructure compared to another B-School but the same has a reason that XISS is situated at the heart of the city and therefore maybe getting ample space out it is not possible. If we talk of the faculty out here they are quite supportive which is generally not seen in other B-Schools. One major emphasis given at XISS is the code of conduct and the discipline and the punctuality of the students in and out of the campus. The fee structure though is not less but then the matter of fact is that it's quite less compared to other B-School of similar ranking. The life at campus is okay since I said it need to improve upon the infrastructure and therefore there is a canteen for students to hang out around and students like to spend their time in a canteen. The hostels are clean and healthy with all the basic facilities provided to the students. XISS has got 2 libraries wherein 1 need some update since it has been there for quite a long time and the other one is having a good collection. The most happening thing at XISS is the annual fest panache with all sorts of fun incorporated in it. Overall it can be said that if you are given a chance to join XISS do not think twice and join unless you are into top rated B-Schools because XISS is recognised everywhere over the globe.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Value for Money
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Professional with a Difference

Verified Review
Posted on 21 Aug' 16 by Rajesh
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | PGDM Marketing
The college has a well-equipped library, classrooms, cafeteria, gym and other Infrastructure. Almost hundred percent placement record, compact fee structure. The college has a set of trained and experienced faculty members who act as a mentor and guide to the students and encourage them to be innovative. Various events are been organized to make students interact and give them the opportunity to manage a live event .
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Value for Money
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

"Affordable and best in class"

Verified Review
Posted on 20 Aug' 16 by Himanshu Dangi
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | PGDM Marketing
Xavier Institute of Social Service. The name speaks for itself. XISS has 60 years of glorious journey. It's a college which boasts its affordability and best in class education. XISS has spacious classrooms which are well-equipped with LED projectors and air conditioners. XISS has a 24X7 fully wifi enabled campus. It has a state of art auditorium which has a seating capacity of around 400 people. The basic amenities such as basketball court, gym and canteen also add up the student life. XISS has a dedicated team of faculties which help students find the summer internship, they help students to get SIP and convert most of them to PPO. Summer Internship being a very crucial part in PGDM course curriculum is taken very seriously in XISS. For industrial exposure 2nd year PGDM students are taken for 10days industrial visits to different parts of India, such as Mumbai, Bangalore, Kolkata, Delhi. In addition to industrial exposure, XISS also gives a rural exposure of the 1st year students by sending them to rural visit. Students are prepared very diligently by the faculty members for the placement season. Soft-skill sessions are conducted which is backed up by mock group discussion and Personal Interviews. Students are evaluated at every point and are given proper feedback and guidance to hone their skills. In terms of, corporate exposures numerous industry leaders come down to XISS to have an interaction with the students. During these corporate exposures students of XISS get a chance to know the current industrial trends and what the corporate world expects from a B-school graduate. To hone student’s skills apart from classroom studies, live project, seminars, panel discussion, Group discussion, case studies, and research projects. Apart from studies XISS boasts its extra-curricular activities. National level fest “Panache” is the main attraction of the academic year.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Value for Money
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

"Awesome place where you got beyond your expectation"

Verified Review
Posted on 20 Aug' 16 by Subham Sahu
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | PGDM Marketing
Xavier Institute of Social Service, Ranchi is one of the leading premier B-school in East region that nurtures “Professionals with difference”. The motto of this institute is leaven in the dough whose meaning is everyone is equal. It is a place where you learn new thing, adopts new thing, explores your ideas, and what not. The college makes sure that every student got equal chance to make a balance between academic life and recreational activities. Various types of recreation activities such as sports facilities, gym, cafeteria, library, classroom infrastructure, etc. The college tries to make fit for industry ready. Various programmes have been organized during a year such as Independence Day, Panache, Confluence, Rural visit, Industrial visit, etc. If I talk about placements then I would say that entire placement was pretty good. At the end of the placement season, we found that almost 90 percent students are placed. We can say excellent placement. Good enough infrastructure with good faculty which leads to the development of the entire institute.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Value for Money
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

The Return on Investment is a strong plus point here

Verified Review
Posted on 09 Aug' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | PGDM Marketing
College is affordable with good Return On Investment. Infrastructure is fairly decent, with room for improvement, though. It should be marketing itself better in the south. The admin should consider making this a residential college. Branding activities need be geared up. Overall - commendable.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Value for Money
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

The most disciplined college

Verified Review
Posted on 23 Oct' 15 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | PGDM Human Resource Management
College has till now has been extremely fulfilling with an added emphasis on extra curricular and social service activities. This college has helped in a wholesome development of my personal character and values. The consistent academic quality has helped me in many ways as well.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Good ROI, good for HRM. Other depts catching up.

Verified Review
Posted on 23 Oct' 15 by Sylvia Francis
Batch of Jan. 1, 2016 | PGDM Human Resource Management
XISS is well known for its HRM and Rural Management course although the standard now is decreasing. It still is among the best institutes for this course in particular. Then again, if you join the course because it's the flagship dept of the institute then you're in the wrong place. Average infra, college life is okay but if you're focussed and can adapt, XISS is good. Makes you a grounded HR professional and gives you good returns too. All the best!
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Room for improvement

Verified Review
Posted on 23 Oct' 15 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | PGDM Human Resource Management
Something I would like to state is that the college is good and corporate exposure is excellent with 1-2 senior alumni's showing up for a lecture every month and but the infrastructure lets it down, the institute lacks a large campus and is basically bound to a 4 story building. The faculty members apart from a few exceptions are very good and they engage the whole class and try to make it interactive. The fests organized are in small scale from other MBA colleges but in terms of it being in Ranchi, its alright.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Once in a lifetime experience

Verified Review
Posted on 22 Oct' 15 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2012 | PGDM Rural Management
Xavier Institute Of Social Service holds up to the promise of creating professionals with a difference. The industry exposure as well as the opportunities of social experiments by way of rural camps brings about your all round development. And makes u industry ready.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?
Disclaimer: The reviews mentioned above truly represent the experience of the student / alumni. We do not allow manipulation / editing of these reviews by any personnel.
Interested in this College?

Download the Careers360 App on your Android phone

Regular exam updates, QnA, Predictors, College Applications & E-books now on your Mobile

Careers360 App
150M+ Students
24,000+ Colleges
500+ Exams
1500+ E-books