Student Rating 3.08/5 (Showing 13 Reviews)

You will graduate with memories of beautiful landscapes.

Posted on 25 Feb' 17 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2018 | B.Tech Electrical Engineering
An amazing experience of college life with beautiful memories of soothing landscapes, tea gardens. Well infrastructure can be compared with any resorts at the foot of hills. Faculties are good and library hours used to be fun. Placements use to vary with market needs.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Not a good college

Posted on 04 Feb' 17 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2015 | B.Tech Electronics and Communication Engineering
Siliguri Institute of Technology is a private engineering college of TIG group. This college has good infrastructure but faculties are not good. College laboratory is average. Placement is poor. Natural beauty is awesome..college life without knowledge and placement is very good. Some fake companies also recruite students.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Siliguri Institute of Technology-Good but not Great

Posted on 30 Nov' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2012 | B.Tech Computer Science and Engineering
Siliguri Institute of Technology is a part of mighty Techno India group located at Siliguri,West Bengal.There are all total 5 streams are available i.e CSE,IT,ECE,EE & CE. The college has a good no of faculty both in numbers and quality.The laboratories are very good for practical works.It is spacious and has all required modern instruments for required courses.Every department has different floor and for 1st-year students, it has a different building.The whole campus is ragging free zone,have an active anti-ragging cell working 24x7.Placement is also good in terms of quality companies were coming past years.The hostel is very poor,I will recommend PG or rented flat.There are 3 canteens in the campus,all cooked hygiene food and drinks.Gym,common room,basket ball court is there and a big play ground. Overall it is a good college if you want to pursue your career in IT sector.I got my First job from this college :).
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Very good college for management field

Posted on 31 Aug' 16 by Soniya Saha
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | BBA
One has to self learn rather than being taught more focus should be on case study and real life experience based learning rather than text book or course book based. I selected the college as it was referred by a close family friend was relatively close to my house and found the campus good. Seniors were good and co-operative many were source of Inspiration and learning for organising events. Alumni Network is good unfortunately i am not so active so can not comment. Campus life was good gave new dimension to life Taught new lessons of life out of Comfort zone of family Learned meaning of Teamwork,Tolerence,etc.. Lectures we through out the day. There is little time to chill Problem is the education system and process rather than being case study oriented. It is race to complete the course.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

I feel lucky to be a part of this college.

Posted on 30 Aug' 16 by Mousuma
Batch of Jan. 1, 2016 | B.Tech Electronics and Communication Engineering
Hi,This is Mousuma Roy.I have completed B.tech in ECE from Siliguri institute of Technology.My college was good enough for a student,who would like to pursue a b.tech/BCA/MCA degree.The labs are very good and the faculties are very intaractive and helpful.The hostel facilities are not good though,specially for girls.The training and placement department should be more actively involved to recruit more amount of students.Training and placement department is getting improved day by day.The strength of the student is very strong in our college,but it would be better by the previous record of placement of our college.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Learning stage of my life.

Posted on 30 Aug' 16 by Shraddha
Batch of Jan. 1, 2015 | B.Tech Electronics and Communication Engineering
My college has a very nice team of faculty members who not only supports the strong ones but also the students facing problems. In our final year, they had supported a lot. We had freedom for the knowledge in our college. Our college environment is very beautiful. Yeah, one thing I would mention, that beyond all the hard work of both teachers and students, that one thing because of which we are behind is the business. They forget about the future of hundreds and sell our career for their selfishness.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

I joined here because of my own performance So what I got

Posted on 19 Feb' 16 by Ravi Prakash
Batch of Jan. 1, 2016 | B.Tech Electrical Engineering
Nice infrastructure. Rest I already told that I am here because I deserved to be here. so I will only admire this college because I am under the debt of this college that this college welcomed me and give me the same degree which an iitian would get in iits.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Awesome Infrastructure with average placement

Posted on 24 Oct' 15 by Soumen Kundu
Batch of Jan. 1, 2009 | B.Tech Computer Science and Engineering
Siliguri Institute of Technology has one of the best infrastructure you will ever get to see in India. It lies in the heart of Darjeeling. The college has pretty descent faculty and hostel life. The placement here is average. They should focus more on innovative teaching and learning.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Average and needs lots of improvement

Posted on 20 Oct' 15 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2010 | B.Tech Information Technology
This college has some very good lecturers and even they engage in some really nice training programs for pre placement stuffs.I personally had learnt a lot due to these programs.The loopholes would be the lack of better placement opportunities, mostly we had pool campus ....also the library is not well furnished and has limited books issuing problems....keeping in mind the location is also important...though situated in a beautiful location, we always suffered due to continuous strikes and it hampered our studies and classes a lot...
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Excellent location

Posted on 11 Oct' 15 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2009 | B.Tech Computer Science and Engineering
Situated in the foothills of The Himalayas, Siliguri Institute of Technology is one of the best college in terms of location. If someone wants to travel a lot, then one should come to this college. You can travel a lot since many hill stations are nearby. The faculty members are not good. They act like they know everything and more often mislead you for some of your doubts. Some of senior Faculty members are really good though, and are quiet helpful. The management of this college is really not stable e. The principal keeps changing within every six months. A lot of politics involved within the management, and that does effect the students.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Need to focus on innovative teaching and learning

Posted on 11 Oct' 15 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2009 | B.Tech Computer Science and Engineering
Innovation is "a learning approach focused on the development of innovation competences, defining how knowledge is assimilated, produced and used in a manner that can create innovations". Innovation competences are learning outcomes that refer to knowledge, skills and attitudes needed for the innovation activities to be successful.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

college at the lap of himalaya

Posted on 07 Oct' 15 by Poulami
Batch of Jan. 1, 2011 | B.Tech Computer Science and Engineering
My college is an IT based intitution located in the queen of the hills of Darjeeling.Enjoyed 4 years of my college life to the fullest. SIT has a great team of experienced faculty . My college is fully encircled with greenery of tea gardens and hill.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Not so GOOD

Posted on 18 May' 15 by DEBASISH CHAKRABORTY
Our college infrastructure is very good but the placement is not so good. Yes the canteen provides excellent food but the worst ever faculties i have met in my life. Administration goes on politics and nothing else. Do hell with this college
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
Is this Review Helpful?
Disclaimer: The reviews mentioned above truly represent the experience of the student / alumni. We do not allow manipulation / editing of these reviews by any personnel.
Interested in this College?

Download the Careers360 App on your Android phone

Regular exam updates, QnA, Predictors, College Applications & E-books now on your Mobile

Careers360 App
150M+ Students
24,000+ Colleges
500+ Exams
1500+ E-books