Student Rating 3.71/5 (Showing 19 Reviews)

College is updated and makes students updated

Posted on 29 Jun' 17 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2014 | B.Tech Electronics and Communication Engineering
Infrastructure is one of the best thing in the college.it is well designed.seminars are held often to tell about latest technology.faculty is too good they will teach any thing indepth instead of copy-paste approach.placement percentage for this college is around 70%. a good number of reputated companies will come.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Fun time in college

Posted on 20 Feb' 17 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2016 | B.Tech Electronics and Communication Engineering
This college offers course on b.tech,bba,bca and mba,b.tech being the most popular one. The location is easily communicable. CIEM is a govt. aided college with average faculty members. Though on campussing scope is really very less but with potential in students off campussing jobs can be X definitely tried. Classes are regular and the environment is student friendly with a huge playground and canteen area for students to kill time in free time.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Great location

Posted on 20 Feb' 17 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | B.Tech Computer Science Engineering
Great location, various transport availability, great environment and a friendly neighborhood. This college has a great campus though comparatively small but has a nice ground and canteen. The Annual Fest of this college i.e, CELSIUS is one of the biggest attraction of the college. Along with Sports Club which consists of Cricket and Football teams there are Drama and Dance Clubs. Multiple workshops and seminars are conducted by management and faculty along with various companies and institutes. Job opportunities are fewer but some good companies come to CIEM for recruitment. All in all a great place to do you Bachelor's if you are an average or above average student.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Amazing place

Posted on 20 Feb' 17 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2016 | B.Tech Civil Engineering
CIEM is a place where you will never be helpless. Be it the seniors or the faculty, they are always ready to help. Building you career is and has to be a major priority but you will meet lots of people and learn new things. You will not just be bound by your books. You will have various opportunities to explore and increase your knowledge in your field and beyond. You will also get plenty of opportunities to widen and culture you areas of excellence. If you ever have any complaints (which I should add there are very rare chances that you might ), you can always contact just about anyone and the case will be resolved with care and support. There is also a strong anti ragging body in our campus, so if you are a newbie reading this, know it that you have nothing to fear. You can just freely walk to any place without any potential introductory fear.Talking about the studies, whenever you have any doubts about anything you can always contact the concerned teacher and they will definitely make sure your doubts are cleared. In short, CIEM is a package deal you will not regret. Have the time of your life while you pave your path to your goal. Work hard and also have fun. Keep smiling
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Good college

Posted on 19 Feb' 17 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2018 | B.Tech Computer Science Engineering
The infrastructure of this college is not as expected. The faculty is good and helpful. College life is pretty nice. The college is big and has nice rooms. The labs are furnished and spacious. Transport to the college is good as it is near to the main road. Overall it is good.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Average college

Posted on 08 Feb' 17 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2016 | B.Tech Civil Engineering
Infrastructure was simple, faculty was good, placement facility is good only for IT students. Overall a average college with average facilities. I would recommend this college to other if they want to study computer science,IT or electrical. For core engineers their is no hope for placement. Otherwise faculty was good. And rules and regulations was also tough.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
Is this Review Helpful?

Well friendly ragging free campus

Posted on 08 Feb' 17 by Arup
Batch of Jan. 1, 2016 | B.Tech Civil Engineering
Infrastructure is good. It has play ground canteen auditorium hall conference room canteen. Laboratories are good and well equipped. Library hall is quite big and contain large no of varieties of books for every department. Collage fees are very nominal with compare to other colleges. Faculties are very friendly manner . Management Committee is very helpful. But placement cell isn't good at all. Otherwise environment is very good .
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Quality education if you attend classes!

Posted on 21 Jan' 17 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2016 | B.Tech Civil Engineering
As far as education is concerned, the CE department has some very qualified and experienced teachers who are dedicated. Though the laboratories miss some of the instruments, it must be kept in mind that unlike other streams where a computer would suffice most of the curriculum in other streams, instruments required in CE labs are extremely costly. The library provides the students with most of the books that we require during the four years. What attracts students to this college is the yearly college fest 'celcius' which definitely raises the temperature of the college. It is a culmination of technical and cultural events and the student association tries to bring famous personalities and bands to join the festivities. Sunburn, Indian ocean, Agnee, Papon, Anupam Roy, Aditi Kakkar, Underground authority and many more have been part of our fest. All in all, it's the best that you can expect from a private university.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

The faculty was great but the TPO was bad

Posted on 19 Aug' 16 by Kritik Rohra
Batch of Jan. 1, 2015 | B.Tech Information Technology
The location of the college is great. The infrastructure of college is good. The faculty of the college is one of the best in the country. The placements are degrading year year by year, and the TPO is pathetic with no proper experience. The college has ample greenery. It also has enough free space to develop extracurricular activities.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Great college

Posted on 18 Feb' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2018 | B.Tech Electronics and Communication Engineering
It is one of the top private engineering colleges in West Bengal. Closing ranks prove that. CIEM (Tollygunge)'s 2011 pass-out batch has been recruited by the following corporate houses- HIDDEN BRAINS, REDCELL, SYNTEL, RAMKY, WIPRO INFO (BCA), TECH. MAHINDRA, MINELINE, WIPRO TECH(BCA), ISMT, GODREJ & BOYCE, HUWAEI, L&T, INSPIRA, KASURA, HIMADRI CHEMICALS, IGATE (BCA), FORADIAN, COGNIZANT (BCA), OMEGA, ORACLE, MU-SIGMA, CMC, VIOM NETWORKS, SANSOFT, TECH. MAHINDRA (BCA), CSS CORP., EVEREST, CUMMINS, SGI, SEVCON, Tuli e-Services Pvt. Ltd., Grm Tech, NIIT (BBA), Stesalit. The institute has successfully constructed a strong infrastructure to cater to the training needs of the students and provide them with a strong platform in respect to placement assistance in the industrial, technical and managerial fields. This year, the 2011 batch has a recorded placement of above 85% in B.Tech stream and up to 50% in BBA/BCA. The pass out batch has undergone vocational trainings at various reputed organisations such as BSNL, Siemens, DVC, TCS, Webel Informatics Ltd., IBM, Indian Oil Corporation Ltd., Tata Communications Ltd., NTPC, SAIL Power Co. Ltd., CESC Ltd., South Eastern Railways, Airport Authority of India, Air India Ltd., Variable Energy Cyclotron Centre, Metro Railways, WBPDCL, Durgapur Steel Plant, etc... HRD- The unique Mentor-Mentee Concept at CIEM ensures a constant interaction between the faculty and the students. AT CIEM, we are fully equipped to handle all sorts Managerial & Technical challenges and give each of our students a personalised attention that helps them develop leadership qualities and a self-motivating outlook. To do so, we conduct regular training programmes, one on one industry-institute interface, counselling and personality development sessions as well as propose various aptitude, technical, language and reasoning tests. All this to prepare our students as better professionals. As examples, our students have been well recognised in several blue chip and multinational companies. This is not the result of a stipulated curriculum but has been achieved through years of entrepreneurship development programmes and national conferences, workshops in various core areas. "
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

The best college

Posted on 17 Feb' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2018 | B.Tech Electronics and Communication Engineering
The Calcutta Institute of Engineering and Management (CIEM) is a Semi Government Institution in Tollygunge, Kolkata, West Bengal, India and is considered as one of the Best institutions in West Bengal. The Institute was founded in 2003 with an aim to develop a centre for excellence, by eminent educationalists, social workers and theGovernment of West Bengal It is one of the top private Engineering colleges in West Bengal. Closing ranks prove that. CIEM (Tollygunge)'s 2014 pass-out batch has been recruited by the following corporate houses- HIDDEN BRAINS, REDCELL, SYNTEL, RAMKY, WIPRO INFO (BCA), TECH. MAHINDRA, MINELINE, WIPRO TECH(BCA), ISMT, GODREJ & BOYCE, HUWAEI, L&T, INSPIRA, KASURA, HIMADRI CHEMICALS, IGATE (BCA), FORADIAN, COGNIZANT (BCA), OMEGA, ORACLE, MU-SIGMA, CMC, VIOM NETWORKS, SANSOFT, TECH. MAHINDRA (BCA), CSS CORP., EVEREST, CUMMINS, SGI, SEVCON, Tuli e Services Pvt. Ltd., Gum Tech, NIIT (BBA), Stesalit. The institute has successfully constructed a strong infrastructure to cater to the training needs of the students and provide them with a strong platform in respect to placement assistance in the industrial, technical and managerial fields. This year, the 2014 batch has a recorded placement of above 85% in B.Tech stream and up to 50% in BBA/BCA. The pass out batch has undergone vocational trainings at various reputed organisations such as BSNL, Siemens, DVC, TCS, Webel Informatics Ltd., IBM, Indian Oil Corporation Ltd., Tata Communications Ltd., NTPC, SAIL Power Co. Ltd., CESC Ltd., South Eastern Railways, Airport Authority of India, Air India Ltd., Variable Energy Cyclotron Centre, Metro Railways, WBPDCL, Durgapur Steel Plant, etc... HRD- The unique Mentor-Mentee Concept at CIEM ensures a constant interaction between the faculty and the students. AT CIEM, we are fully equipped to handle all sorts Managerial & Technical challenges and give each of our students a personalised attention that helps them develop leadership qualities and a self-motivating outlook. To do so, we conduct regular training programmes, one on one industry-institute interface, counselling and personality development sessions as well as propose various aptitude, technical, language and reasoning tests. All this to prepare our students as better professionals. As examples, our students have been well recognised in several blue chip and multinational companies. This is not the result of a stipulated curriculum but has been achieved through years of entrepreneurship development programmes and national conferences, workshops in various core areas. "
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

A good pace to learn but not upto the mark in placements

Posted on 29 Oct' 15 by Sourav Das
Batch of Jan. 1, 2013 | B.Tech Electrical Engineering
The college is located in one of the prime locations of Kolkata, with the metro service very nearby. The campus is very good.It is not a residential campus. It has highly qualified and amicable faculties.The lab infrastructure for the Process control labs are highly modernized. But the computer labs and the instrumentation lab requires much up-gradation. The placement scenario for the college is not at all satisfactory. This is a great place to learn theoretically but very limited scope for practical applications. So if you learn the subject well with out any consideration about the placements I would suggest this is the place to be.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Review of my college CIEM

Posted on 17 Oct' 15 by Soumik Chakraborty
Batch of Jan. 1, 2007 | B.Tech Information Technology
overall experience to me was a mixed experience. College life was awesome and I will never ever forget those times in my entire life. I got to know lot of different people some of them I consider as my best of friends till date. We helped each other a lot. In terms of faculty, few of them were really good and we did not miss/skip ;) a single lecture of them. Labs were not up to the mark as because we were the first batch and lots of things our management were learning to improve. Other facilities were good as well. At the end, I will always acknowledge my college for whatever I am today. I have learnt a lot of positive things, skills from my college and will definitely refer others.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

A good place to learn with industry exposure and experience.

Posted on 13 Oct' 15 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2013 | B.Tech Instrumentation and Control Engineering
A great place to learn engineering with lots of on hand practical experiences.Teachers are highly qualified and very helpful.It has one of the finest instrumentation lab with PLC and DCS.It has a lush green campus in the heart of the city with great metro connectivity.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

A good place to learn with industry exposure

Posted on 13 Oct' 15 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2013 | B.Tech Instrumentation and Control Engineering
A great college to learn the subjects with great faculties.You can get to work on real life projects.It has one of the finest PLC and DCS labs in kolkata.But placement is not upto the expectation.It has a great lush green campus in the heart of Kolkata.A great metro connectivity in 5 minutes walk.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Best collage in kolkata... love to a part of this collage.

Posted on 12 Oct' 15 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2014 | B.Tech Electronics and Communication Engineering
his college has provided me the platform to venture in different fields of engineering...m very proud to be a part of the ciem family...also the most important thing about this college is its interest to grow as one of the most vital institutes specially in the fields of research etc...this dream gonna soon come true after being accredited by the NBA
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

My College... The most important phase of life..

Posted on 12 Oct' 15 by Deepabali Dutta
Batch of Jan. 1, 2013
The four treasured years of my life... Which gave me knowledge. ... About the technical aspects of corporate world... Life was well disciplined out there. Our teachers were so co operating... I love and respect my college .. It gave me a bunch of good companions... With whom I shared a healthy competition.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Spacious Campus with all shorts of entertainment facility

Posted on 06 Jul' 15 by Ankit
Good infrastructure, good placement,canteen is not good enough, library with huge collection of departmental books, state of the art laboratory, good sport facilities with a well maintained play ground. Good faculties,regular classes, fine location with easy transport........
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
Is this Review Helpful?

Best private engineering college of WEST BENGAL

Posted on 18 May' 15 by Aniket
Though the infrastructure is not very hi-fi in my college but if you want a good placement you can rely upon this college.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
Is this Review Helpful?
Disclaimer: The reviews mentioned above truly represent the experience of the student / alumni. We do not allow manipulation / editing of these reviews by any personnel.
Interested in this College?

Download the Careers360 App on your Android phone

Regular exam updates, QnA, Predictors, College Applications & E-books now on your Mobile

Careers360 App
150M+ Students
24,000+ Colleges
500+ Exams
1500+ E-books