Student Rating 3.74/5 (Showing 21 Reviews)

The best exposure to college life

Posted on 03 Feb' 17 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | B.Tech Leather Technology
Alumina network in our college is very strong.Alumina association organizes various industry related workshops.our oraganization is called gcect alumini.Every passed out senior is a member of it.they helped in placements.And senior students are also very good,they have their way of teaching us for our studies,which helped me a lot. The college life is very astonishing for me,the seniors,juniors are very interactive with me.there is no ragging in our college.We organized android workshops and robotic workshops in our college.There is a playgrond where we play football,cricket.a common room is there where we enjoyed our tiffen periods with our friends.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

GCELT campus prime

Posted on 02 Feb' 17 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | B.Tech Computer Science and Engineering
Campus Placements - Placements are average. Every year, one or two mass recruiter comes like Wipro, Tech Mahindra etc and if you are quite good with your aptitude skills, decent communication skills and technical knowledge then getting placed in such companies is not that difficult. CGPA does not matter much but luck plays a role. But if you miss the initial one or two mass recruiters, then you will be in trouble. Placements afterwards will be dependent on few pool campus and off drives where getting placed wont be that easy. Faculty - Average. Sad but true !! I must also mention that some faculties are even below average and are not open to new ideas, challenging projects etc. Peer Learning - Very Good. Most of my friends possess expertise in various fields and comes from diverse backgrounds. You may meet a lot of smart people here who will influence you in a positive way. Our batch consisted of a lot of talented students from whom I have learnt a lot. Infrastructure - Labs are average. The Library is pretty good. There is no college canteen due to less student population in the college but a 10 min walk will take you to some nearby good canteens. Location and Campus - It is situated beside the E.M Bypass and is well connected from various parts of Kolkata. The campus is decent. Some of the other good things about the college are - Scoring good marks in practicals is not that difficult. Being a government college, it has excellent ROI. Considering you will be passing out from MAKAUT even if you go to a private college, preferring a private college does not make much sense as there you have to spend around 4 lakhs. If you are not skillfull enough, you will not get placed even at a private college. If you want to work hard and want to develop by yourself, there is a lot of free time which you can invest in other activities like learning coding, preparing for competitive exams etc. But the disadvantage is as the student population is very less ( as there are only three streams taught in our college ) and there is a lack of college activities ( like student run clubs, competitions, not a good enough fest etc ) so you may not get a chance to enjoy your college life fully. I have tried to give an honest answer highlighting all the pros and cons of the college. To sum it up, it lies among the average colleges of the state as it cant compete with the likes of JU, IIEST, IEM etc but again a way better than a lot of other colleges. But remember whichever college you choose, what matters at the end is your level of competence and skills. Good Luck buddy !!!
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

This college helped mr grow faster

Posted on 02 Feb' 17 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | B.Tech Information Technology
In terms of campussing: Campussing is always variable every where depending on market condition. I can tell you that in 2015 the campussing was around 50% which increased a lot in 2016 around 95% (Wipro as a mass recruiter) . Location: Very good and very well connected through EM Bypass. Buses, taxis, autos to sealdah, phoolbagan available . Campus: Before 4 year It was like a haunted campus but believe me in 4 year we just can not believe that this our old CELT campus. Much much development has taken place. Blue campus, greenery, cricket ground development has taken place. It is an excellent campus now with lift and wifi. Canteen: You would not find any canteen inside campus as nobody wants to give canteen for 120*4=480 students only. But walk few seconds from college and you will find lots and lots of good quality canteen there. Education and teacher: Education quality is Fair. No comments. Few teachers are excellent , few are good and others are average as it happens in other colleges. Lab and Practical: If I have to be honest labs are average. Computers are not so good but will be sufficient for your course. Afterall GCELT is one of the two government engineering colleges of kolkata. I have secured a WBJEE rank 3660 and choose this college over kalyani as I was from beliaghta , the college was near my home. So my brother, dont waste your time thinking so much. Just got admit to this college. This college will serve you its best . I assure your future will be settled.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Choose GCELT wisely

Posted on 02 Feb' 17 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | B.Tech Computer Science and Engineering
Well I am a passout of this college , and to say the least I would advise the students (fresher’s) Plz don’t take admission in any colleges under MAKAUT. Its one of the worst university of India. This University doesn’t have a proper schedule and often stays behind from other universities. This year I got to know from my juniors that exam was delayed by 1 month, due to which many students lost their jobs as they could not submit their provisional certificate of passing the exams on due date. Coming back to Government College of Engineering and Leather Technology or fondly called Gcelt by the students is a college which is not at par with any colleges like JU, IIEST, IIT or NIT. Talking about classes most of the teachers here are associate professors(which means they are not permanent) teaching is quite average and it is the matter of your own interest whether you are interested in that subject. Otherwise if you can’t understand the subject just mug the ORGANIZER (Oh! I forgot to tell you about this, This is Holy Bible for each WBUT aka MAKAUT students). Coming to Labs its below average , our Computers still run on Windows XP, other labs such as mechanical , electronics also has shortage of components and sometime the entire batch has to work with single machine. The teachers and staff has a very laid back attitude. One more fact about this college is its website and Wikipedia page go and search them you will return disappointed , things haven’t been updated there for a long time(For eg- The college website states that their is a college canteen,Well I wasn’t able to figured it out!! in my 4 years of Engineering) plus their is no proper information provided. A new student always lacks proper knowledge about this college. One more important thing 95% of Kolkata’s population has no knowledge about this college they don’t even know that such a college do exist! Coming to Library its quite average , work is still done manually here. Its quite an irony being a college which teaches student CSE & IT , the college’s library is not computerized. Good books are available yet the quantity is short. This was about academics . Now after completing his daily dose of studies a tired student’s mind requires recreation . Where will he find it ? Sports Ground ?right . Sorry Guys Gcelt has a ground but it is not managed well Thanks again to poor management , the ground has long grasses and which is not pruned regularly. Only during the sports event(cricket and football) the grasses are pruned and the ground is managed , again confirming the lackadaisical approach of the management and the students union. Coming to Fest part. Students are always excited about fest both Tech-fest and Cultural fest. But again sorry guys these fest are quite substandard and they are organized just for the sake of doing so. The students from JU , IIEST never visit our fest! cause they know our reality. This college has no clubs or societies like TED, ISTE , No Theatre where students could enhance their extracurricular talents. I am being extremely brutal and honest here. The Student Union which organizes this is worthless to say the least . When the seeding is not good how can you expect a great harvesting! This is true for placements , when the teaching and infrastructure are not good how can you expect a great campus recruitment . Here comes your own knowledge , skills and competence . Wipro , Tech Mahindra are the chief recruiters and the CTC they provide is even less than a Government Clerk(shocked!you read it correct) . One more thing which I heard from my friends who stayed at Hostel said that the infrastructure there was not upto the mark. So everything till now looks dull and negative. But this is reality , I don’t want to tell any sugary story full of myths. Only few positive points could be wifi , lift , and location of the campus. Many people reading this might say “kaisa banda hai yaar apni clg ki burai karta hai”.But it hurts despite getting a 5000 rank in WBJEE when you get a college with these qualities . We are not that bad right? ! Another question can be about being anonymous? Well it just gives you the power to write the reality ! lastly if you have no option then join it , else find some other good college. The college is good but its the management which ruins it , Time and Again you are gonna realize it! IF incase there is no option for you, join the college but don’t waste your time , make plans for Higher studies or you gonna regret it later . This is not a criticism , but a healthy criticism after all I want my alma mater to Shine! open to questions but don’t ask identity! LOL . Have a great future!
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

College Bites

Posted on 02 Feb' 17 by Dipayan Adhikary
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | B.Tech Leather Technology
It is a very good college indeed. Backed and funded by the Government Of West Bengal, the college has got a decent updated infrastructure for all the streams it offers. The total intake for each year is around 150. The college has got a very big campus compared to the number of branches it offers. The college is wifi-enabled(which is a big plus) and air-conditioned labs which proper machines in enough numbers. The faculty members aren't that great overall though some of them are really amongst the best in the state, but if one wants to learn, he/she can find ways to do so with the help of the faculties present in the college itself. The placements are also pretty decent with companies like Wipro Technologies, Capgemini, Infosys, Amazon, Tech Mahindra, Oracle, TCS etc visiting the campus every year(for CSE & IT only), and again companies like Tata International Ltd, VIP, Drish Shoes etc with some leading chemical companies recruits the students pursuing Leather Technology. The college is also located in a very convenient location over the EM-bypass in Salt Lake with a good student ambience around with colleges like NIFT,NUJS and JU(2nd campus) nearby. The college has got facilities for cultivating extra-curricular activities like sports etc with a 7-a-side football ground and volleyball, badminton courts. The fees structure for the courses is very economical, hence affordable or value for money as one could think of it ranging from 3-12k INR per semester(which is actually economical) and also provides TFW(Tuition Fee Waiver) and other merit-based scholarships(Half/Full Fee) for the students who qualify its eligibility criterion. The college-life which the students experiences varies from individuals, though the students are very active with co-curricular and social activities like organizing tech fest, cultural fest, various competitions etc every year to taking part in nationally organized events. The student crowd is not a very high-end one which has a blend of students coming from different ethnic,community and financial backgrounds who are comfortable with the vernacular languages mostly. The college is affiliated to the Maulana Abul Kalam Azad University of Technology(Formerly WBUT). To end my review, I'd say this not just because am a student of this particular college, but this college could be preferred over any private engineering colleges present in the state. If one couldn't make it into JU, IIEST(shibpur),NIT(dgp), NPTI(though it only offers BTech in Power Engineering) or Jalpaiguri Government Engineering College, then GCELT can be considered as an option at par with Kalyani Government Engineering College(though stream preferences could be there for the unlike streams) and also better than any other Government Engineering Colleges in the state considering its prime location in the city of Kolkata and also as well the placement record it has have had over the years.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Campus Chronicles at GCELT

Posted on 02 Feb' 17 by Trisha Ghosh
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | B.Tech Leather Technology
The faculties are friendly. The infrastructure is good given the number of students. The placements are good for computer science. The library is quite good and big There is no attendance structmess so we are quite lucky. The class crowd is not that big so we dont feel in a rat race. Classtests are conducted regularly. The leather department faculties are really nice. Labs are well designed.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

GCELT Pros outweighs Cons

Posted on 29 Jan' 17 by Srinjoy Das
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | B.Tech Computer Science and Engineering
Campus Placements - Placements are average. Every year, one or two mass recruiter comes like Wipro, Tech Mahindra etc and if you are quite good with your aptitude skills, decent communication skills, and technical knowledge then getting placed in such companies is not that difficult. CGPA does not matter much but luck plays a role. But if you miss the initial one or two mass recruiters, then you will be in trouble. Placements afterward will be dependent on few pool campus and off drives where getting placed won't be that easy. Faculty - Average. Sad but true !! I must also mention that some faculties are even below average and are not open to new ideas, challenging projects etc. Peer Learning - Very Good. Most of my friends possess expertise in various fields and come from diverse backgrounds. You may meet a lot of smart people here who will influence you in a positive way. Our batch consisted of a lot of talented students from whom I have learned a lot. Infrastructure - Labs are average. The Library is pretty good. There is no college canteen due to less student population in the college but a 10 min walk will take you to some nearby good canteens. Location and Campus - It is situated beside the E.M Bypass and is well connected from various parts of Kolkata. The campus is decent. Some of the other good things about the college are - Scoring good marks in practicals is not that difficult. Being a government college, it has excellent ROI. Considering you will be passing out from MAKAUT even if you go to a private college, preferring a private college does not make much sense as there you have to spend around 4 lakhs. If you are not skillful enough, you will not get placed even at a private college. If you want to work hard and want to develop by yourself, there is a lot of free time which you can invest in other activities like learning coding, preparing for competitive exams etc. But the disadvantage is as the student population is very less ( as there are only three streams taught in our college ) and there is a lack of college activities ( like student run clubs, competitions, not a good enough fest etc ) so you may not get a chance to enjoy your college life fully. I have tried to give an honest answer highlighting all the pros and cons of the college. To sum it up, it lies among the average colleges of the state as it cant compete with the likes of JU, IIEST, IEM etc but again a way better than a lot of other colleges. But remember whichever college you choose, what matters at the end is your level of competence and skills.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Lifetime Experience.

Posted on 29 Jan' 17 by SOURAV SARKAR
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | B.Tech Leather Technology
Something out of the box If in the middle of btech u happen to realize that engineering was something which u never wanted to do then u need time to mould ur path to the kind of destination u r looking for. As a student I think the more the flexibility my college provides me the better I can be relieved of the pressure of pursuing a career that I might have chosen by mistake or family pressure. I can always have the time to switch to new plans without losing my degree. Gcelt cares on both the sides of the coin. Now if U want to change ur goal then again u won't have to think about the possible resistance that college might offer No worries about attendance so u can pursue what u want to Internal exam is only a formality (if ur goal is engineering u can always take it seriously … no body is going to stop u) Semester exams can be passed with fairly good sgpa if u can study overnight Assignments short and lesser in frequency Teachers are understanding so if u r doing something outside engineering they can consider ur situation and relieve u of the pressure.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Doesn't live up to its potential

Posted on 29 Jan' 17 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | B.Tech Computer Science and Engineering
Hope the rating says it all. The college lacks is the On-campus canteen experience. No girls' hostel either. Faculties are qualified and most are helpful. The fees structure,being a government institute, is very less when compared to other private engineering colleges here.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Life time cherishable experience

Posted on 29 Jan' 17 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | B.Tech Computer Science and Engineering
The infrastructure of the college is very developed. The campus surroundings are quiet and healthy which is helpful for studies. There are some departments under development to accommodate a large number of students. The classrooms are well constructed and have space for about 150 students. It has a well-organized library with easy book search and reading facility. The college has an excellent hostel and sports facility. Placements are sure for students with average standard especially and has high placement options. The faculty here is good and supportive, teachings are done with modern methods like power point presentation and practical views experimentation.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Experience of the college life is awesome and beneficial.

Posted on 29 Jan' 17 by UPASANA PODDAR
Batch of Jan. 1, 2018 | B.Tech Computer Science and Engineering
College life helps to gather a lot of experiences. The faculties of the college are very good. The infrastructure is fine. The placement is also good in this college. The college also provides good facilities. The hostel of this college is good too. Overall the college is really good.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Best place to be in. Exotic,stimulating but challenging.

Posted on 28 Jan' 17 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | B.Tech Leather Technology
The 4 years of college life in Gcelt will be the best 4 years of your life. You need to make the most of it. The college has no dearth of good faculties. Infrastructure wise also it is above average. Only what can concern you is the placement figures of the college specially of the leather technology stream. It has been in a decline. But it should not concern you if you can prepare yourself well and make yourself compatible along with the fun ride you will be in here. Also the fees here is quite low and affordable so great roi. Overall its a good experience.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

The Best so far!

Posted on 28 Jan' 17 by Anisha
Batch of Jan. 1, 2020 | B.Tech Information Technology
Well, it has always been my dream to stay in kolkata and study in a government college because that it is about- quality education and reputed college. I think it is just my best luck that I got a chance in GCELT. And truth be told, it has been an amazing experience so far. Starting from the teachers to the seniors, people have been supportive and the exposure to various companies and seminars have been really educative. Infrastructure, well, it is perfect. The library of this college contains a huge collection of books, so there you are, everything in one place. Apart from that, if you want to stay in Kolkata and do your engineering, it is the best college for you.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Best College To Not Study Or Learn Anything

Posted on 28 Jan' 17 by anonymous
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | B.Tech Computer Science and Engineering
The infrastructure present is more than adequate, thanks to government funds, however they are seldom if ever used for anything productive. The lack of a canteen however is an awful gaffe. Corporate exposure can be strengthened(!) by actually taking any starting step in that direction, because currently there is none. College life is extraordinarily enjoyable, with great classmates and friends. There are plenty of recreational areas, (sometimes more in number than educational areas) including but not limited to common room, grounds. Regular sports tournaments, technical fest, cultural fest(a bit iffy) are organized. Overall it's an incredible experience. Placements - no comments please. (I did get a job if that matters) Hostels - I am a day scholar, I wont post a review based on hearsay. Affordability - Extremely affordable. Additionally there are lots of scholarships and fee waivers available for students.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

A great place to learn and spend college life

Posted on 28 Jan' 17 by Resham Das
Batch of Jan. 1, 2018 | B.Tech Information Technology
Our campus was constructed 98 years ago, and till 2000, it only offered courses in Leather Technology. Currently, it offers B.Tech courses in Information Technology and Computer Science and Engineering as well, with less number of seats which eventually betters the study environment. As a government institution, it has fair infrastructural facilities, still there exist some problems while replacing damaged lab materials. Our college has very poor fame, although several leather technologists who are excelling in their field settling in the U.S., graduated from here. I think, somehow, this institution should be promoted by the state Govt. itself to help bring in better industry exposure. My college life is great here, with quality education, sufficient practical classes, and a large ground available for sports like cricket, football, badminton, handball etc. We organize annual technical fest which is popular among neighbor engineering college students, and we also host a cultural fest every even year. We are also encouraged to take part in programs all over the city and represent our college. As I'm studying in 3rd year, I have not received any job offer till now, but my seniors are already placed in several IT giants. The students here come from all over the state of Bengal, and the diversity causes a good mix while learning separate subjects in separate semesters together. My favorite professors would be the ones who take care of what students think, and the ones who would clear any conceptual confusion with patience and smile in face! I am lucky to have found such faculties in our campus too. As our college is a Govt. institution, its fee structures are very reduced compared to 150 or more other private engineering colleges over this state, under MAKAUT. For IT, it's 24K per semester, 12K for CSE and LT students need to pay just 6K per sem to study here. Even, there are several concessions for TFW, and SC-ST students.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

The Best 4 years of my life which made me grown-up.

Posted on 28 Jan' 17 by Driptarup
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | B.Tech Computer Science and Engineering
One good college at great location beside EM Bypass, great connectivity from various directions and by means of transportation. Nice campuss, nice professors and faculties along with different sorts of facilities like library, project labs etc. Being government aided, minimal semester fees and no donation as privateer. College environment is so good. Sports are available too. Makes yourself comfy enough..
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

The Amazing GCELT Youth Pulse

Posted on 28 Jan' 17 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | B.Tech Computer Science and Engineering
Excellent student atmosphere, amazing ROI, decent placements and experienced faculty are some the striking features of my college. The students get to interact with professionals at seminars and workshops organized at different times during the year gaining first hand knowlegde regarding how the industry works. Students get to actively participate in projects in order to develop team-building skills. Several cultural events are organized by the Students' Welfare Association which bring together the entire college as well as external guests of honour. Residing at the college hostel might be inconvenient for some and this issie needs to be looked into by the authorities, but the pros outnumberthe cons. Experienced and professional faculty staff, intra and inter college events throughout the year and an amazingly versatile and diverse student atmosphere make students all the more competitive and ready to face challenges and endeavours at the industry. The affordable fee structure and decent campus placements make the college a preferable choice in terms of a remarkable ROI.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Friebdly ambiance

Posted on 18 Aug' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | B.Tech Computer Science and Engineering
The faculties are friendly. The infrastructure is good given the number of students. The placements are good for computer science. The library is quite good and big There is no attendance structmess so we are quite lucky. The class crowd is not that big so we dont feel in a rat race. Classtests are conducted regularly. The leather department faculties are really nice. Their labs are big and have all the amenities.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

The best college in india

Posted on 26 Jun' 16 by bijaya nanda
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | B.Tech Computer Science and Engineering
The faculty here are extremely helpful. They are always ready to help you out in every situation The professors have a connection with the professors of Jadavpur university and help you prepare for gate accordingly to get a mtech at Jadavpur university. As a conclusion gcelt is awesome
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Life's Good at GCELT

Posted on 17 Apr' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | B.Tech Information Technology
It is a very good college indeed. Backed and funded by the Government Of West Bengal, the college has got a decent updated infrastructure for all the streams it offers. The total intake for each year is around 150. The college has got a very big campus compared to the number of branches it offers. The college is wifi-enabled(which is a big plus) and air-conditioned labs which proper machines in enough numbers. The faculty members aren't that great overall though some of them are really amongst the best in the state, but if one wants to learn, he/she can find ways to do so with the help of the faculties present in the college itself. The placements are also pretty decent with companies like Wipro Technologies, Capgemini, Infosys, Amazon, Tech Mahindra, Oracle, TCS etc visiting the campus every year(for CSE & IT only), and again companies like Tata International Ltd, VIP, Drish Shoes etc with some leading chemical companies recruits the students pursuing Leather Technology. The college is also located in a very convenient location over the EM-bypass in Salt Lake with a good student ambience around with colleges like NIFT,NUJS and JU(2nd campus) nearby. The college has got facilities for cultivating extra-curricular activities like sports etc with a 7-a-side football ground and volleyball, badminton courts. The fees structure for the courses is very economical, hence affordable or value for money as one could think of it ranging from 3-12k INR per semester(which is actually economical) and also provides TFW(Tuition Fee Waiver) and other merit-based scholarships(Half/Full Fee) for the students who qualify its eligibility criterion. The college-life which the students experiences varies from individuals, though the students are very active with co-curricular and social activities like organizing tech fest, cultural fest, various competitions etc every year to taking part in nationally organized events. The student crowd is not a very high-end one which has a blend of students coming from different ethnic,community and financial backgrounds who are comfortable with the vernacular languages mostly. The college is affiliated to the Maulana Abul Kalam Azad University of Technology(Formerly WBUT). To end my review, I'd say this not just because am a student of this particular college, but this college could be preferred over any private engineering colleges present in the state. If one couldn't make it into JU, IIEST(shibpur),NIT(dgp), NPTI(though it only offers BTech in Power Engineering) or Jalpaiguri Government Engineering College, then GCELT can be considered as an option at par with Kalyani Government Engineering College(though stream preferences could be there for the unlike streams) and also better than any other Government Engineering Colleges in the state considering its prime location in the city of Kolkata and also as well the placement record it has have had over the years.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Gcelt ians the future

Posted on 10 Jun' 15 by DEBJYOTI BHATTACHARJEE
Govt.college of engg.& Leather technology was founded in the year 1919.WE Have excellent placement records in leather technology discipline average 95-98% the fees also is very less ranging from rs.500-2000. The placements in cse and it stream ranges from 50%-70%. Top companies like infosys,cmc ltd.,Wipro ,cognizant,tata international leather,capegemini etc.visit our colleges regularly.the infrastructure of these college is quite good.good computerised advanced machine labs and also the imported branded equipments are present as the focus in these college is in underlying the concepts of engineering rather than mugging it. There are vast fields,playground and also various indoor and outdoor sports too .TOURNAMENTS Like cricket,football,carrom,tabletennis ,badminton are held twice a year.also the new branded kfc canteen is under construction in these college.after it is completed by 2015 it will be a gala treat for all the seniors and junior out there.no fear of ragging exist in the mind of freshers in these college as they are given a gala freshers welcome which they remembers throughout their life.also the library has a vast resource of books approx.about 30,000 to 40,000 .WITH Multiple copies of best selling books in the three disciplines -cse.,It and lt. There are facilities of e-book too. The rmds lab ,cad lab are a place to learn in these college.regular workshops and training programmes for students are conducted regularly in these college.the faculties boost phd.DEGREE In their respective discipline in the college.they blend with the students smoothly making a homely learning atmosphere prevailing in the college.the students also have access to wi-fi network in the college.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
Is this Review Helpful?
Disclaimer: The reviews mentioned above truly represent the experience of the student / alumni. We do not allow manipulation / editing of these reviews by any personnel.
Interested in this College?

Download the Careers360 App on your Android phone

Regular exam updates, QnA, Predictors, College Applications & E-books now on your Mobile

Careers360 App
150M+ Students
24,000+ Colleges
500+ Exams
1500+ E-books