Indian Institute of Management Sambalpur Reviews
Indian Institute of Management Sambalpur (Also known as: IIM Sambalpur)

Sambalpur, Odisha
Download Brochure
4.3/5
Based on 18 Reviews
College Infrastructure
3.7/5
Academics
4.6/5
Placements
3.8/5
Value for Money
3.2/5
Campus Life
3.7/5
Showing 18 Reviews

IIM Sbp, An experience of a lifetime!

Verified Review

Last Seen: 13 May' 20

Joined On: 11 Nov' 13

Education Interest: Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences

Education Level: Graduate & Above

Posted on 13 May' 20 by Souranil
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2020
  • MBA
College Infrastructure
Operating out of the temporary campus at Sambalpur University, IIM Sambalpur's facilities include a full Wi-Fi enabled academic block and hostels, an ac gymnasium, a 200+ seater-auditorium, outdoor volleyball, football and cricket grounds alongwith spacious classrooms and a library. The classrooms house all sorts of equipments necessary in delivering a superior learning pedagogy. The library houses an immaculate collection of books, journals, databases and a Bloomberg terminal.
Academics
Academics are supplemented by an institute wide industry-academia engagement which brings industry stalwarts into the classroom to deliver and supplement a practical element of the industry alongwith the theoretical standards delivered by the faculties. Apart from in-house faculties, students are taught by faculties from top B Schools in India such as IIM A, B, C, Indore, MDI G, NITIE, etc. Classroom teaching follow a case-based methodology and is aided by experiential learning.
Placements
Placements have been historically recorded as 100% for both Summer Internships and Final Placements with companies visiting campus and hiring students from all the domains such as ITeS, Consulting, BFSI, Operations, Logistics, HR, Sales & Marketing, etc. Companies visiting have offered highest packages of 20-30LPA (domestic) whilst international placements have recorded a high of 58 LPA over the years. The average has steadily risen to the range of 11+ LPA.
Value-for-money
With an all inclusive fee of 13L for 2 years, IIM Sambalpur provides one of the best ROIs in its league of MBA colleges. Although a new IIM, IIM Sambalpur has been quick to establish its name in the corporate circles and students do not need to borrow a huge sum of capital to pay for their college fees. The students count is also lesser than its contemporaries which makes it a great place for learning and mentorship all the while providing the best of the placement opportunities to its students.
Campus Life
Campus life is always energetic as an MBA aims to impart a holistic development of an individual. Students, apart from their academic endeavours, take part in various social, cultural and sporting events alongwith various corporate competitions that are hosted by companies. Faculties are never shy of helping students choose their career paths and are thus instrumental in shaping a student's life in ways more than one. IIM Sambalpur bears testimony in forging the spirit of peer-to-peer learning!
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

Emerging new IIM in sambalpur, odisha

Verified Review

Last Seen: 22 Sep' 16

Joined On: 10 Sep' 16

Education Interest: n/a

Posted on 12 Sep' 16 by ARPAN MONDAL
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2016
  • MBA
IIM Sambalpur is among the newest IIMs which is located at 20 km away from Sambalpur city in Odisha . The exposure it provides is unparalleled and it provides a lot of opportunities in whatever areas/field one is interested in.It shares its campus with silicon institute of technology. Infrastructure is good. vehicle are there , whenever a person needs it . since, it is a new baby IIM , under the mentorship of IIM Indore. professors from IIM Indore came here to teach students. PGP batch 1 and PGP batch 2 consists of 47 students each. Here one gets a lot of exposure to industries that are situated nearby IIM Sambalpur. coming to placement , summer internship of batch 1 is good . Most important is friends and faculty members , all helps you to motivate you and teach you the best so that one can stand on their own feets , make you well establish and can perform well and get your dream job. Different clubs and communities are there where one can nominate themselves and can hold a position of responsibility. Finally , being one of the new IIM , one gets immense scope to improve in his field of interest.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

The thoughts of an IIMer

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 07 Sep' 16

Joined On: 07 Sep' 16

Education Interest: n/a

Posted on 06 Sep' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2017
  • MBA
What exclusive pieces of infrastructure does your college provide? Being an IIM, we've got the best infrastructure among all the six new IIMs. Fully equipped and Hi-tech computer labs, classrooms with sound systems, projectors and display screens installed, it's all here. Our library is new but there is no dearth of books here, over and above that we've got an online databank filled with books ready to be read at our disposal. Multiple companies have offered their resources databases, which are available for the students to use year round. What is being done by your college to enhance corporate exposure? An Industry Interactions Committee has been formed with the task of enhancing the corporate exposure of the college. The members of the committee are trained professionals coming from MNC. They've used their knowledge and experience to drive excellence in the exposure. Many eminent speakers have visited our college including professors and government officials. Professionals from organizations like NABARD and Aditya Birla group have also graced us with their presence. How could your college life be more happening? We are on the outskirts of the city, this remains as the only limiting factor, however, with time the development will shift towards the campus. What placement offer did you receive on your Campus? Being the first batch we haven't had our placements yet, however, during the summers students received multiple offers from MNCs. The average stipend grew to INR 75,000 with an average of INR 25,000. What more did you expect from your college hostels? I don't think the facilities we've been provided with is available to anyone else. The hostels are more than what was expected. And yet since we are a student driven institute we are putting in our efforts to bring out an even better face. Who were some exceptional professors in your college & why? We've had professors who've been on the board of ICAI, professors involved in multiple government projects and even some big names from the consultancies come up here. They have been industry pioneers and have gone beyond teaching. The style of teaching here is unconventional, we don't use standard methodologies but develop our own and will set a trend here. How would you summarize the student crowd in your college? You've got to meet them to believe my statements. We have people with more than 4 years of experience and then we've also got freshers. Students know ins and out of the systems, you don't need to teach them IT, they've already played with all the tools. Come what we've got solutions to all the problems be it internet or finance, you'll find someone who will help you anyways. In what terms is your college affordable? The fee is standard for any IIM but there are loans available from banks at very low-interest rates and no collateral.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Life's Good in IIM Sambalpur

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 02 Sep' 16

Joined On: 02 Sep' 16

Education Interest: n/a

Posted on 02 Sep' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2018
  • MBA
Our IIM classes are being conducted in SIT campus. Our mentor IIM Indore has done much to provide enough facilities for us. Classes are being conducted in full air-conditioned rooms and the library is open from early morning to the late night where many of us spend our whole day studying. Sambalpur located in the industrial belt region we usually have interactions with the industrial people regularly . Since the start of IIM Sambalpur, we have organized many events to make the college life more lively. Summer placements from our college are 100% and with more exposure to the outer world, there will be more chances of bringing companies for placements. The hostel provides us a room sufficiently big enough with single accommodation. Apart from the food that we get everything else is good. Improvement in the quality of the food is what every student desire of. Prof. Pawan Kumar Singh faculty from IIM Indore is one of the exceptional professors in our college with a lot of achievements under his name. Apart from PK Singh, V.K. Gupta is another exceptional professor who is currently a member of Indian Accounting Standard Board. We have a diverse batch, Students from all over India with a mix of freshers and experience students even in a small batch size of 48.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

IIM Sambalpur journey to greatness

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 02 Sep' 16

Joined On: 02 Sep' 16

Education Interest: n/a

Posted on 02 Sep' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2018
  • MBA
IIM Sambalpur is being mentored by IIM Indore is in its second batch.And let me inform you all the students of our first batch got an internship and 21 got two offers which are remarkable considering the fact that it's a baby IIM.Faculties are from IIM Indore .The hostel life best.Mess food is average I must say.We have all types of sports facilities.We have students exchange program which is very rare among new IIMS.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Learning in the lap of nature

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 02 Sep' 16

Joined On: 29 Aug' 16

Education Interest: Management

Posted on 02 Sep' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2018
  • MBA
IIM Sambalpur started in 2015, accommodating only its second batch right now, but going with a good pace in becoming one of India's best business schools, that too with a proved Brand IIM. We have a temporary campus right now but this campus is still beautifully placed with lots of greenery and other scenic beauties. Academics are top notch with dignified faculties, AC library, and classrooms. We also have sports and gymnasium facilities along with a cafeteria.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Good Experience

Verified Review

Last Seen: 04 Sep' 16

Joined On: 08 Jan' 16

Education Interest: Management

Education Level: Graduate & Above

Posted on 01 Sep' 16 by Pritam Kumar Patel
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2018
  • MBA
Currently in its temporary campus but still single sharing rooms for both boys and girls are provided. Library with a huge database and the facility provided to students to order any book they require. Classrooms are equipped with air conditioners. Two huge grounds are available for both football and cricket along with basketball, volleyball, badminton courts and table tennis. Lush green scenic beauty around the campus. With the advantage of being in the Industrial belt of western Odisha, many well-experienced industry managers are easily contacted who have come and provided many sessions on latest working models of the business world. Within a short span of 1year, the students, with their hard work and potential, have created numerous committees and clubs which keeps the student bodies active throughout the year.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Proud to be at IIM Sambalpur

Verified Review

Joined On: 01 Sep' 16

Education Interest: n/a

Posted on 01 Sep' 16 by Vaibhav
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2017
  • MBA
Top Management faculty of the country comes together to transform you into something new and different. Great exposure and learning experience. The colleagues are great, love the interaction among all. Still a temporary campus but its better than all the new IIMs
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Excellent College to be a part of

Verified Review

Last Seen: 31 Aug' 16

Joined On: 31 Aug' 16

Education Interest: n/a

Posted on 31 Aug' 16 by Asaad Bijali
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2018
  • MBA
IIM Sambalpur classes are being conducted in SIT campus. The campus provides us with full air conditioned classes, a big library, a basketball court and an open field. Media exposure and social media network can help us in providing more corporate exposure. College conducts events regularly.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

The best of the new IIM

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 31 Aug' 16

Joined On: 31 Aug' 16

Education Interest: n/a

Posted on 31 Aug' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2018
  • MBA
The classes are going on SIT Campus, Sambalpur. The infrastructure is good as SIT provides us with air conditioned class rooms, library, basketball field, badminton court, and an open field for playing cricket and football. Already the campus is located in the good possible location surrounding industrial belt region hence industrial and corporate exposure is good. More media exposure and social media and events can make the college life more happening. Being a new IIM it is somewhat difficult to get a lot of companies but our personal contacts with various companies can provide 100% placement for the students. Students are here from all parts of the country which help us to get to know about different cultures and gain knowledge. Our faculty includes a lot of well-known persons in the corporate world like V.K. Gupta who is currently a member of the Indian Accounting Standard Board.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Best college of odisha

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 06 Jul' 18

Joined On: 29 Oct' 15

Education Interest: Management

Education Level: In Graduation

Posted on 31 Aug' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2018
  • MBA
IIM Sambalpur a newly formed IIM is probably the best college of Odisha. Although it is a new IIM it offers top level Faculty. The hostel facilities is also good.Mess food is manageable. We have all types of sports facilities. For extracurricular activities, it has various clubs. It is situated in an industrial HUB. Sambalpur is a very beautiful city with various tourist places. The 2 years will be a roller coaster ride.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Great College with awesome experience

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 05 Jun' 19

Joined On: 30 Aug' 16

Education Interest: n/a

Education Level: Graduate & Above

Posted on 30 Aug' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2018
  • MBA
Our campus has a nice library and classes with Air Conditioned . We have a basketball court and two fields for cricket and football. Campus located in the industrial belt region hence good industrial exposure. More events and media exposure will create a big and better-known place across India.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

An IIM with a bright future

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 30 Aug' 16

Joined On: 30 Dec' 14

Education Interest: Management

Education Level: Graduate & Above

Posted on 30 Aug' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2018
  • MBA
This IIM has its share of criticism for being isolated, but still, as the days are passing, it's growing real fast. With experienced faculty members and a practical based pedagogy, we are having some good time here. Hostels are single occupancy ones they are good too. Separate hostels for boys and girls are available. AC classrooms & library, sports & gymnasium are some other facilities that are provided. You will enjoy here.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

A place where education is of the highest quality.

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 30 Aug' 16

Joined On: 30 Aug' 16

Education Interest: n/a

Posted on 29 Aug' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2017
  • MBA
Air conditioned hostel is desirable, we have excellent Industrial relation visits & guest lectures by eminent executives across industries, We can have our campus closer to the city for better opportunities, the case study method of teaching is illuminating & a great learning experience, the students come from diverse backgrounds & are the cream of the nation, the college fees is affordable with easy access to loans.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Why IIM Sam is just another top IIM of India

Verified Review

Last Seen: 29 Aug' 16

Joined On: 29 Aug' 16

Education Interest: n/a

Posted on 29 Aug' 16 by VAIBHAV GUPTA (PGP 2015-17 Batch)
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2017
  • MBA
IIM Sam is not just a brand, but it stands firmly on the name it has got. It is not just an Institution for Education, it is a home where you see family in your friends. You not only learn here but gain a lifetime worth of experience. You become bold here, challenge the conventional thinking, and also learn how to stand apart. IIM Sambalpur not only offers world class education but gives a whole new perspective to business management and also life as a whole.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

An underrated one among the newest

Verified Review

Last Seen: 27 Aug' 16

Joined On: 27 Aug' 16

Education Interest: n/a

Posted on 27 Aug' 16 by Anshul Patle (PGP 2016-18 Batch)
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2018
  • MBA
A good campus to live in facilitated with one of the most qualified faculty members. An excellent pedagogy by the professors who have years and years of experience. Located in a temporary campus right now with the permanent one being constructed at a vast area of 237 acres. Hostels are good, though mess things can do with some improvement. Sports facilities are also available with Basketball & Badminton courts, Football & Cricket fields, TT Table along with a Common Room. The cafeteria can be used for hang outs.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

An Underrated Baby IIM

Verified Review

Last Seen: 02 Sep' 16

Joined On: 27 Aug' 16

Education Interest: n/a

Posted on 27 Aug' 16 by Shubham Satapathy (PGP 2016-18 Batch)
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2018
  • MBA
It has all the necessary requirements that are needed in an IIM. Faculty quality is good. Class participation and pedagogy are top notch. Gender diversity is good as compared to other B-School. Mess food can get better. Hostel rooms are spacious. Good cricket, football ground. We have Badminton, Basketball courts. 5 Table Tennis tables. You will find caroms and other sports equipment. Separate hostels for Boys and Girls with a good cafeteria to hang out. Also, an open air amphitheater is present. We had 69 offers for 48 students in the summer placement.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

It's a new IIM started by the honorable Ministry of HRD.

Verified Review

Last Seen: 20 Jan' 15

Joined On: 22 Nov' 14

Education Interest: Management

Education Level: Graduate & Above

Posted on 18 Oct' 15 by Rahul Pandey
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2017
  • MBA
I have just started college here at Sambalpur. Life so far has been good here. The faculty is from IIM Indore so it's awesome and also my fellow participants have been very helpful. The local people treat us with respect and are vey humble people. It looks like a new dawn and seems like a long way to go before I see the dusk.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?
Disclaimer: The reviews mentioned above truly represent the experience of the student / alumni. We do not allow manipulation / editing of these reviews by any personal.

Download the Careers360 App on your Android phone

Regular exam updates, QnA, Predictors, College Applications & E-books now on your Mobile

Careers360 App
  • 150M+ Students
  • 24,000+ Colleges
  • 500+ Exams
  • 1500+ E-books
  • Economic Times
  • Financial Express
  • Firstpost
  • Livemint