Indian Institute of Management Calcutta Reviews
Indian Institute of Management Calcutta (Also known as: IIM Calcutta)

Kolkata, West Bengal
Download Brochure
4.9/5
Based on 12 Reviews
College Infrastructure
4.2/5
Academics
4.8/5
Placements
5.0/5
Value for Money
2.1/5
Campus Life
4.9/5
Showing 12 Reviews

Best

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 03 Jul' 20

Joined On: 03 Jul' 20

Education Interest: Engineering and Architecture

Education Level: Graduate & Above

Posted on 03 Jul' 20 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
College Infrastructure
College infrastructure is beautiful but old however you will get all the facilities there from wifi to 24x7 libraries, beautiful hostels, plenty of labs ,good food everything is available inside the campus
Academics
I had done executive MBA from there these are the best days of my life teacher are like your guardians, they will support and help you everytime, curriculum is best and adopts change regularly and makes us job ready
Placements
Ample of chances to select your favourite company and sit for their recruitment test, almost all of the students got placed, highest salary varies from 7 lakh per annum and maximum 14-18 lakhs per annum
Value-for-money
2 lakhs + but you got many internship opportunity
Campus Life
Best campus life
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

Joka, the place to explore yourself.

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 19 Sep' 16

Joined On: 19 Sep' 16

Education Interest: n/a

Posted on 19 Sep' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2018
  • MBA
You don't survive at Joka, but you live here. One usually comes here keeping only placement in mind but towards the end, of course, learns a lot about life. With largest alumni base among all IIMs and being known as finance campus of India, this is the best place if you want to enjoy the life while learning management. Life is not all about slogging here, it involves many more things which you may not get in other premier IIMs which are more focused towards endless slogging. Enter here and you will never regret.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

The best college to make your career

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 17 Sep' 16

Joined On: 17 Sep' 16

Education Interest: n/a

Posted on 17 Sep' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2018
  • MBA
IIM-C is the best institute of India. Despite there's no college life but the veteran faculties and education curriculum make it the best college of INDIA. The 2 years spent here were full of learning and fun. The teachings, extracurricular activities, sports facilities, and events gave an exposure that prepared and nurtured me for my further life . Indeed the lessons and relations I earned from this second home can never be forgotten.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Amazing learning experience in a great environment

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 13 Sep' 16

Joined On: 13 Sep' 16

Education Interest: n/a

Posted on 13 Sep' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2016
  • MBA
The campus of IIM C, located outside the city has seven lakes inside of it, boasting some unique facilities like Financial Laboratory, Fully air conditioned and well-equipped classes, an open-air theater & Fully AC auditorium. The campus offers a great deal of learning through interaction with different sets of people and a great practical way of teaching. though I believe the college hostels can be made better, the campus authorities are doing the right work to build new hostels and make the campus life more comfortable and conducive.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Gearing up to Succeed

Verified Review
Anonymous

Joined On: 29 Aug' 16

Education Interest: n/a

Posted on 29 Aug' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 1986
  • MBA
Excellent infrastructure with lush green surroundings. The lakes and greenery surround the magnificent library, classrooms, admin block, hostels and EDP blocks. Extremely capable and scholarly faculty in all domains especially finance, statistics, operations, marketing and behavioural sciences. We enjoyed and made lifelong friendships. The fun and joy of spending those two years together, while also working hard, prepared us for the life ahead and continue today. We stepped into our professional lives with our first jobs in hand on the campus and with dreams in our eyes and grand visions in our minds .
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

IIM Calcutta is a great and one of the best schools in India

Verified Review

Last Seen: 03 Oct' 16

Joined On: 27 Aug' 16

Education Interest: n/a

Posted on 27 Aug' 16 by Pranoti Kotangale
IIM Calcutta gets a plethora of companies on campus during placements, both summers as well as finals. There are from all sectors of business like Financial Services, PE funds, Management Consultancy, IT Consultancy, FMCG companies, Consumer Durable Companies, E-Commerce companies, Media & Entertainment companies, etc. Usually, the entire batch gets placed through placements. IIM Calcutta boasts of a very strong alumni network across the corporate world. A unique feature about IIM Calcutta is that each and every person retains his or her personality. Professors treat students as their equals, and this fosters a great spirit out of which overall development is guaranteed.The structure of the course is very well designed so as to make learning a pleasure. Students are treated as equals by professors and encouraged to actively participate in lectures. There are a number of case-studies that students are involved in throughout the course.Indian Institute of Management, Calcutta (IIM-C) has an extremely well-equipped library, and it has good facilities for students who are interested in sports as well. There are four hostels which provide single-occupancy accommodation for all students. Each hostel has its own coffee shop, canteen, and photocopiers. The campus is fully WiFi enabled.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Joka is an experience

Verified Review
Anonymous

Joined On: 28 Oct' 15

Education Interest: n/a

Posted on 28 Oct' 15 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2016
  • MBA
The best management college in the country without a doubt. IIM Calcutta believes in the philosophy of treating adults like adults and gives them freedom from running the campus to develop equally in academics as well as infy other opportunities available. Every time there is something or other exciting going on in the campus that you never really experience the grueling environment of a B school. At least a wholesome experience for me and my friends. Life is fun here. Really fun.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Dreamland for those who aspires to do MBA

Verified Review
Anonymous

Joined On: 21 Oct' 15

Education Interest: n/a

Posted on 21 Oct' 15 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2016
  • MBA
Best place to complete your MBA. Great infrastructure, excellent pedagogy, 100% placement guarantee and other experiences to make your life in joka memorable. You will get a huge opportunity to explore and learn about different sectors.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Joka - A place for everyone and anyone

Verified Review
Anonymous

Joined On: 19 Oct' 15

Education Interest: n/a

Posted on 19 Oct' 15 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2014
  • MBA
It would be unfair of me to comment on the faculty here. If you are active socially, you would already know the geniuses that teach here. I would put more words on Joka as an experience. The hallowed portals of Joka are for anyone and everyone. For it does not discriminate, it does not eliminate. It only motivates one to find its true calling. It does not matter how many expectations you carry. It certainly does not matter what your perception of an MBA college is. Joka changes you in a way that is beyond belief.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

IIM Calcutta - Home to the Joka Tribe

Verified Review
Anonymous

Joined On: 11 Oct' 15

Education Interest: n/a

Posted on 11 Oct' 15 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2017
  • MBA
IIM Calcutta was the first time I would be living in a hostel. I was looking forward to a roller coaster of a time. But all that did not happen. It was about average. Food sucked. Hostel was too far away. And the academic rig-our was killing. Everybody kept talking of a camaraderie that I was yet to experience. And then I met this bunch of people, who made this entire rig-our seem distant. I started having a great time. The pressure was still there but somehow it was more tolerable than before. Seniors and people who passed out 10 years back showed us warmth as if the lived in the room next door. We were slowly inherited into the tribe. And once that happened life here changed forever. Now that I look back it seems that I have been living here forever, and I certainly don’t want to go anywhere else. Ever. You cannot figure IIM Calcutta till you come and live here. You can hear stories but it’s not the same. You have to let Joka be a part of your being and take away your soul. And once you have done that you’ll love this place forever. Wherever you go the Joka Tribe will go with you. I know this because it’s happened to me. I am completely overwhelmed by the magic of this place. I cannot describe the feeling but I know it will stay with me forever.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

An awesome experience

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 07 Oct' 15

Joined On: 07 Oct' 15

Education Interest: Management

Education Level: Graduate & Above

Posted on 07 Oct' 15 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2012
  • MBA
About IIM Calcutta- 1) It gives you the freedom and support to understand yourself- lot of student run activities and competitions which are all voluntary in nature. Tests your limits and puts you under pressure. 2) Network and exposure- inter hostel competitions and activities forge strong bonds than just group discussions in library. The campus is visited by guest faculties, imminent personalities and premium companies to build student interact ions and other activities.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Awesome culture

Verified Review

Last Seen: 26 Aug' 16

Joined On: 03 Oct' 15

Education Interest: n/a

Posted on 03 Oct' 15 by Snigdha
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2017
  • MBA
The most striking thing about this college is its culture. "We at Joka leave no one behind"- this is the motto that drives everyone and makes them help each other. Even though we have very hectic schedules, we will always suceed to find time for some fun. If you are looking for a place where you can be taught by best faculty and at the same time experience a great culture then IIM Joka is the place for you
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?
Disclaimer: The reviews mentioned above truly represent the experience of the student / alumni. We do not allow manipulation / editing of these reviews by any personal.

Download the Careers360 App on your Android phone

Regular exam updates, QnA, Predictors, College Applications & E-books now on your Mobile

Careers360 App
  • 150M+ Students
  • 24,000+ Colleges
  • 500+ Exams
  • 1500+ E-books
  • Economic Times
  • Financial Express
  • Firstpost
  • Livemint