College Reviews Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi

Also known as: JNU
Student Rating 4.17/5 (Showing 18 Reviews)

Excellent Faculty and Hostel Life with 24*7 open Library

Posted on 21 Feb' 17 by Ayushi Pundir
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | MA Economics
My college provides 24*7 open Library facility which contains a vast treasure of books. The faculty is among the best faculties for Economics in India. Presentations and seminars are held on regular basis which provide a good exposure. Although the placement is pretty good in my department but it can be made excellent by making good repo with companies and making the placement procedure easy. The hostel life is amazing as the food is good and the campus is very safe. It is affordable too.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

A combination of Green and red

Posted on 05 Feb' 17 by Avtar
Batch of Jan. 1, 2019 | BA Japanese Hons
Though the university has faced a lot of criticism due to the controversial event that happened a year back but JNU remains one of the top universities providing quality education. The lush green surrounding makes it an ideal place to study and hang out with friends. The infrastructure is excellent and the faculty members are amazing. Students within India and abroad come to pursue their dream. A package of clubs and activities are available. . I like most about this place on my first day was its liveliness and the beautiful environment. There is so much more to explore in this enormous campus where spotting a Neelgai is not very uncommon. I feel safe here and politics is not forced upon us. It depends on individual what he/she wants to choose. I am a fresher and am looking forward for the amazing journey i am going to have here.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

The best at the cheapest

Posted on 07 Sep' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | MA Philosophy
Jnu has the best campus,the most happening hostel and campus life,there is a whole universe in itself. The campus comprises of everything hostel,medical facilities,library,food joints,grocery market and at the cheapest rate possible. Jnu is one place where people from all the fields and financial background can afford.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Find your identity and rationalize your thinking.

Posted on 04 Sep' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2015 | MA Modern History
The university is ranked the best in India for its post graduate courses. The campus is quite exuberant and is stretched out in a big area. Known Professors deliver some enlightening lectures. Smriti Irani, Arvind Kejriwal among others have come to the campus to deliver lectures too. The university helps build a person's personality and individuality. It helps one locate his or her identity and encourages rational thinking. The evening chai, and the numerous dhabas on campus is the icing on the cake. Hostel life brings people together across all backgrounds. The campus fee and other things are highly subsidized, therefore making the experience a good return on investment.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Best experience of my life

Posted on 26 Aug' 16 by Sanika
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | MA French
Everything is amazing. met people from all around india and got to learn so much from the best faculty. i never felt so independent in my life before and the student politics has made me more aware of the overall situation in the country. the facilities are very good such as 24/7 library and wifi . the cost is very less and we have chances of getting scholarships and attending international conference . coming to JNU was so far the best decision of my life and i definitely reccomend it to everyone.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Unforgatable episodes

Posted on 26 Aug' 16 by DHARMENDRA YADAV
Batch of Jan. 1, 2015 | MA Politics with Specialisation in International Studies
*JNU is most premier institute of India particularly in formal subjects like social and physical sciences.Along with main streams and popular subjects like sociology, political science, economics, physics,computer science and other ,here other contemporary subjects like international studies and arts and aesthetic are also taught which are of international standard.School of languages is already being considered as one of the most professional education in country which is opening tremendous source of opportunity in globalized liberal economy is one of the cheapest educational institute which provides quality education to excel in all field of life. *JNU does not have a rigid placement cell. Mostly, the students' initiatives drive companies into the campus. The average package for economics background is Rs. 6.5 lakh per year. *JNU is one of the top universities in India.It is Established in 1969 It was named after India’s first Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru. JNU is a public central university and it is a vision of every Indian student. it has nice campus!, it is very greenery, if you want to live a natural life so ...
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

A blend of all flavours of life

Posted on 25 Aug' 16 by Sanjana
Batch of Jan. 1, 2017 | MA Economics
This is a place where actually people from every part of India come in fact it can be called a small India. For me, it is not like a regular college which can be judged by infrastructure and placements but to is experienced with the beauty it has , a level of independence it provides and the idea of equality it enshrines. I am a second year M.A eco student and from my brief experience in JNU I can say that it is beautiful space with diverse people and ideas. Here your background does not matter , where your opinions are heard no matter how different they are from the existing accepted ideas. 3things do deserve a mention when talking about JNU 1. PS ROCKS : yes the campus has rocks and it's beautiful . I personally have stayed up the whole night to experience the sunrise here . 2. CENTRAL LIBRARY : Here you will find all the potential IAS and IPS. Its a 9-floor library , very useful and provides amazing environment to study 3. Qutub Minar trek : sounds different but yes there is night trek every year where thousands of students from JNU trek through the jungle to reach Qutub Minar . I did it last time and reached Qutub Minar at 3 am . It worth a try From attending amazing seminars and talks by brilliant minds to seeing the protests and dharnas here , It offers you all. Though getting admission here is tough but it's worth the effort.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Affordability
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

A culturally diverse and amazing place to study

Posted on 21 Feb' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2012 | MCA
JNU is a place which has given best bureaucrats, scientists, soldiers, researchers and responsible citizens to the country. It has a world-class library and infrastructure. Students from all around the world come here to study. It helps you grow as a person and breaks all the norms you have had about things. Here all the power is in students hands like for hostel messes we have Mess committees for each hostel which is constituted by students elected by students. There is a large number of the sports club at JNU like JNU Athletic Club, Badminton Club, Tennis Club, Cricket Club, Volleyball Club, Football Club, Mountaineering and trekking Club and many more. It has an alive environment. It gives you all the independence you need. Its up to you how you use it. You can see students debating on a topic at any Dhaba(Yes, we have dhabas in front of each Hostel). Each JNU hostel has hostel fête held once a year which comprises of three consecutive nights – Cultural Night, Movie Night and Hostel Night. I did my MCA from JNU. My center was SC&SS(School of Computer and Systems Sciences). SC&SS organizes many events, one of them is TECHNOPHILIA, which helps students connect with other college students. I spent most memorable days of life there. In short, I will recommend JNU as 'THE BEST' :).
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

It is the best place to be

Posted on 26 Oct' 15 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2013 | BA Spanish Hons
It provides a wonderful ambiance for the students. The facilities provided to the students are nice and it provides the students with a platform that helps them to grow. The university has the best campus which is quite free and safe and also is one of the most politically active campus around which definitely helps in improving the knowledge.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

great campus

Posted on 23 Oct' 15 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2015 | M.Sc Biotechnology
College life, infrastructure, faculty and safety are very good. A University stands for humanism. For tolerance, for reason, for the adventure of ideas and for the search of truth. It stands for the onward march of the human race towards ever higher objectives. If the Universities discharge their duties adequately, then it is well with the Nation and the People."
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Old school

Posted on 20 Oct' 15 by Aastha
Batch of Jan. 1, 2012 | MA Economics
Great campus, dainty infra, obsolete curriculum, great food, very safe, huge campus, accessible faculty, great knowledge pool, inadequate cyber infrastructure. Situated in South Delhi the Jnu campus is one of the safest largest and beautiful campus in the country
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Humanities in Totality

Posted on 17 Oct' 15 by Mahima Srivastava
Batch of Jan. 1, 2015 | MA Politics with Specialisation in International Studies
The exposure combined with the in depth discussion of the political and socio-economic factors gives a student an exposure on how to practice theories and it's real world implications on policy making. Even the politically charged environment, with the constant influx of leaders gives a first hand impression on how the scenario changes in national and international regions.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

the most exciting time of my student life!

Posted on 15 Oct' 15 by Somak
Batch of Jan. 1, 2011 | MA Modern History
it has one of the best History faculties in the country, and a vigorous intellectual, political and social life. was fortunate enough to be taught by some of the best minds in my discipline and met some of my best friends here. The campus is one of the more inclusive spaces i have ever found in the country. had an amazing time! it has its accommodation and other problems, but overall, it is a great place to study,research, and have tonnes of activities and fun.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Overall pretty good

Posted on 13 Oct' 15 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2016 | MA Economics
College life is pretty good if one is staying in hostel and depends a lot on the kind of classmates one has. There is a lot of freedom at JNU to pursue one's interests. One can pursue civil services prep, opt for subjects in other centers and take up extra courses. Faculty is excellent although the syllabus needs an upgrade in many aspects. Additionally, more pro-industry centric view is required to ensure a future for students rather than the rigid view of going for further academics only. More placement opportunists are needed. Not everyone has the time to go for phd and become a lecturer or give govt service exams. Administration needs to support the student placement cell body.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

An Intellectual Island

Posted on 12 Oct' 15 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2014 | BA French Hons
The environment of Jawaharlal Nehru University is very left oriented giving another perspective to look at the world. With its learned professors and faculty JNU is one of those places where you can freely put your ideas into actions. JNU is one of the safest place in delhi where girls can roam freely even at 3 AM in the morning.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Widen Your Horizon of Thoughts n Research! Welcome to JNU:)

Posted on 12 Oct' 15 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Batch of Jan. 1, 2011
One of my best part of life staying here at JNU. In short a mini world with researchers, scholars, renowned faculty members and good facility to interact with from different cultures, thoughts, places and experiences. We have freedom for everything... for expression and experiments. Campus stands in lush greenery of Aravalli foothills. A boon and nourishment to every thought... those who want only to study as well those looking forward for extra curricular and other all round activities. Faculty on average is good. Classes and curriculum are sincerely done. Course structure is good. Humanities departments are renowned and hold one of the best ranking. Science departments are nevertheless not as competing as IITs and IISC but still are quite competing and hold good with rest other universities and CSIR labs because of versatile development along with research. Provides good platform to either go abroad for higher studies or preparing for cavils. Rest ups and downs are there. Sometimes disappointment may come but that can be worked out with hard work and struggle. Post office, Reservation counter, market, open theatres, caves and dhabaas for recreation etc. are all spread in the 1000 acres of this campus. Well there are several other events whose enthusiasm can be known once you come here. For more info. visit www.jnu.ac.in .
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

its amazing

Posted on 09 Jul' 15 by Niraj
j.n.u is one of the finest universities in India. we all are well aware of this fact ,but not all of you have visited the j.n.u campus. the campus itself is a new world full of enthusiastic people. i once got the opportunity to visit the campus,as one of my cousin studies there. the infrastructure is very good, with every facilities available for students . like well equipped classrooms, advance seminar halls etc. the faculty is the team of renowned names like bipin Chandra,satish chandra, romila thapar etc. are some of the jewels of the crown. the hostel are very good and that too at very cheap rate. The group discussions that happen in evening over tea between the students is mind blowing,and makes you aware about the current situations in India. In short the words are not enough to explain . i too am aspiring to be the j.n.u student.
Is this Review Helpful?

Overall my university is the best of its kind in india

Posted on 02 Jul' 15 by Aman Ranjan
My college is the best of its kind in the country. The infrastructure and campus life is just amazing. I feel short of words to describe that. But tge biggest concern in my college is Hostel allotment as there are shortage of rooms. But I love my college.
  • Placement
  • Infrastructure
  • College Life
  • Industry Exposure
Is this Review Helpful?
Disclaimer: The reviews mentioned above truly represent the experience of the student / alumni. We do not allow manipulation / editing of these reviews by any personnel.
Interested in this College?

Download the Careers360 App on your Android phone

Regular exam updates, QnA, Predictors, College Applications & E-books now on your Mobile

Careers360 App
150M+ Students
24,000+ Colleges
500+ Exams
1500+ E-books