National Institute of Technology Silchar Reviews
National Institute of Technology Silchar (Also known as: NIT Silchar)

Silchar, Assam
Download Brochure
4.3/5
Based on 84 Reviews
College Infrastructure
4.3/5
Academics
3.8/5
Placements
4.0/5
Value for Money
1.2/5
Campus Life
4.6/5
Showing 84 Reviews

NIT SILCHAR REVIEWS

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 27 Sep' 20

Joined On: 19 Mar' 18

Education Interest: Engineering and Architecture

Education Level: Class 12

Posted on 10 Aug' 20 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
College Infrastructure
Spread across 625 Acres has all necessary Facilities , Campus wide Internet Facilities ( 5000 LAN points and 90 Wi-Fi Access Points ), campus is ordered by Tea Gardens, natural beauty and peace and Largest digital Library in Asia named after Former President APJ Kalam
Academics
Quality of Teaching is same as what a NIT has and all faculties are Phd Degree Holder, Classes are held through Projectors , has sport facilities ( Cricket, football, Basketball, Badminton, Kabaddi etc ) Gymnasium is also there also Internships are given to students 14 students got 6 month internship from college
Placements
Out of 77 Eligible Students in CSE total 82 were placed (5 students with CGPA less than 6(1/2) were also placed , Average Package for CSE was Rs 8,70,000 / annum , For ECE it was 6,38,000 / annum , highest Placement offer was Rs 33,00,000 per annum from ARCASIUM INDIA PVT LTD & Amazon Offered 28,00,000/annum AVERAGE package for all branch was 6,29,000 / annum
Value-for-money
Fees is too low as it is a NIT ( approx 6,00,000 / 4 year )
Campus Life
Best Feature :- Good Placement , Studies, Teachers, College Life & Bad Feature :- Average Infrastructure (being Old NIT)
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

I wolould like to suggest NIT silchar over many collages .

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 27 May' 20

Joined On: 01 May' 18

Education Interest: Engineering and Architecture

Education Level: Class 12

Posted on 27 May' 20 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
College Infrastructure
Hygienic Infrastructure. Academic section provide us good facilities and most important in collage life is hostel and NIT silchar hostel are outstanding.Nit silchar have asia greatest digital library.
Academics
I am studying electrical engineering because my own interest and curiosity in electrical equipments.curriculum updated every semester.and mostly based on the GATE Examination.Our syllabu6 makes us for job ready
Placements
Average placement. For IT sector placement are good but core people suffered and mostly core people try to get job in IT sector.In IT sector placement are 90% and in core 70%.average salary in IT is about 7 lac and for core it is 5 lac
Value-for-money
Course cost per year is based on your income.my course cost per year is about 50k.Ni i never feel my money is worth.. because of the facilities offer by the collage in the amount of monet given by me.
Campus Life
Best feature of campus is its wideness and lakes there are many lakes and u never miss the indie lake beautiness.NiT silchar is safe .Yes it can handle emergencies.In these days it civid patients are kept there.
Anything Else
I have only 2 year experience and collage life is enjoyable.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

Nits review

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 23 May' 20

Joined On: 29 Nov' 18

Education Interest: Management

Education Level: In Graduation

Posted on 23 May' 20 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2021
  • MBA
College Infrastructure
Good faculty. Enough books in the library, Well lit classroom, enough sitting facilities. Clean environment to eat and study places. Well equiped library with fast wifi facilities and access to great amount of books online
Academics
I m doing my MBA in marketing. The curriculum is updated and job ready. They make you job ready and ready to take any challenges in your way. Case studies are done eleborately to develop overall thinking
Placements
Placements were good till the last year. But this year the conditions are not good. Due to the bad economic conditions placement scenerio has been not that up to the mark as aspected.but we do hope the scene changes
Value-for-money
Till now i feel its worth my money. The curriculum is enough. Though I still think they could include some more courses and some more practicals but overall its fine and the course money is well upto date.
Campus Life
Campus life is great. Surrounded in greenery and lakes. Campus has great places to study in the open and also good for open walks and exercises. Food options are available with hygiene factor taken in mind.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

It was awesome

Verified Review

Last Seen: 21 May' 20

Joined On: 21 May' 20

Education Interest: Engineering and Architecture

Education Level: In Graduation

Posted on 21 May' 20 by Arindam Kharghoria
College Infrastructure
Yes , infastructure is good . Sporting facility to medical infastructure is good. Good labs , a state of art library and lan connection. But Mobile network needs to be improved a lot due to lack of mobile towers inside the campus.
Academics
I am a student of Btech Civil Engineering Dept. .Curriculam can be more practical I feel. There is a lot of amphasis on bookish knowledge then practical utilisation of the things we learn in theory . that is where I feel a bit disappointed
Placements
Placements are very good for circuit branches but core branches are a bit low. This year it went to 32lps to a guy from CSE. Placements for ECE and E&I also crosses 20 LPA in IT companies .But the EE , CE and ME like in all colleges of India are far behind with average salary of just above 5lpa
Value-for-money
Approx 175000 thousands per year excluding self expenditure. Yes I feel the facility provided I good but being a government college it can be a bit less. certain charge's are uselessly imposed on the students which can be avoided.
Campus Life
It's best feature is it's area with lakes and forest areas all around . Worst feature I feel is it's open to outsiders without much restrictions which is a threat to our security.teachers are supportive . SMCH for medical needs is very near. Being a NIT it definitely gets the attention needed for security from the district administration
Anything Else
I feel on average it's a good college with decent placements and faculties and facilities. It is undoubtedly the best Technical Institution of North East India only next to IIT-G. The institution is rising every year with a Highest NIRF rank of 9 among all NITs
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

Wonderful experience.

Verified Review

Last Seen: 18 May' 20

Joined On: 20 Oct' 18

Education Interest: Management

Education Level: Graduate & Above

Posted on 18 May' 20 by Bobita Baruah
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2021
  • MBA
College Infrastructure
The infrastructure of NIT, silchar is very well maintained and well equiped.The campus is really beautiful with greenery all around. The classrooms , laboratories etc are well maintained. The living spaces are clean and hygien too.
Academics
I am Pursuing MBA as the ROI is very good as compared to other institute present in Assam. For those who do not want to go abroad or might have financial problem can opt for NIT silchar in minimum cost with quality teaching. The curriculum of MBA is updated and includes all the recent developments in the field.
Placements
The placement quality is good. The average salary offered is 7lpa till date for MBA.But for other carriculum it is different.As far I know the placement cell is very supportive. But the process is little bit not easy, as the compition is high.
Value-for-money
The course cost 3.6 lakhs For 2 years.
Campus Life
Campus life of NIT silchar is the bestest of all.
Anything Else
I never thought NIT would be such an wounderful experience for me.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

I am glad to share my review. Hope this counts in improving.

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 13 May' 20

Joined On: 09 Feb' 18

Education Interest: Management

Education Level: Graduate & Above

Posted on 13 May' 20 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2020
  • MBA
College Infrastructure
Yes, my college has a great infrastructure and all the necessary facilities to pursue better education. It provides with various facilities to the students for their better education. It is even one of the best Institute for MBA in Silchar, Assam
Academics
I am pursuing MBA in HR for better career opportunities and my Institute provides all the necessary facilities. I couldn’t have thought of pursuing my MBA from any other college in Silchar because it provides 100% placements
Placements
Due to the present economic scenario placements are not that good but it provides 100% placement. It provides variation in placements but the package amount is not that good. Only placement package needs to be improved.
Value-for-money
My course costs around 2.5Lakh in total for 2years and it provides value for money. For a central university with 100% placement this amount is wonderful. The Institute just needs to focus more on better placement package.
Campus Life
College campus is best in every possible way for a student. It has all kind of opportunities and facilities for a student to upgrade themselves. It involves all the students in participation for various programs.
Anything Else
I would still want my college to focus on MBA department to make it a priority as all other courses. Because MBA department has low placement package than other departments. So only the placement package for MBA should be improved and also Industrial Visits should be conducted as mandatory for students to get industry exposure.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

Overall love reviewing my college.

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 12 May' 20

Joined On: 12 May' 20

Education Interest: Management

Education Level: Graduate & Above

Posted on 12 May' 20 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2021
  • MBA
College Infrastructure
Yes. Lacks in digital development. Otherwise it does have all the facilities. It has gymnasium, various clubs like eco club, moutaining club etc. It also have a digital library and various hostel canteens which make the life of hostellers easy .
Academics
MBA in marketing. Quality of teaching is good. College is located is not a much happening place. Yes curriculum is updated to the recent trends as per norms of the NIT standards. Various exposure of practical exposure like Internships and trainings.
Placements
Quality of placements has been pretty average. Companies like leading FMCG sectors like ITC, marico, Bandhan Bank mostly comes. I talking about the MBA department. Average LPA is 4.5. overall value for money.
Value-for-money
Yes ROI seems to be pretty fair.
Campus Life
It's good weather of Silchar is everchanging
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

I had my best of time in NIT Silchar.

Verified Review

Last Seen: 12 May' 20

Joined On: 12 May' 20

Education Interest: Management

Education Level: Graduate & Above

Posted on 12 May' 20 by Momi Gogoi
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2019
  • MBA
College Infrastructure
NIT Silchar have all the necessary infrastructure, facilities, equipments including a newly bulid Asia's largest digital Library named after Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam, state of the Art super computer, each department consist of their own seminar hall equipped with advanced technology. The college has a Innovation center which helps in blooming the innovative ideas of the students. It has respective fields for all the sports and an Indoor stadium. It provides proper WiFi facility in every Hostel.
Academics
I am studying MBA here in NIT Silchar because of its quality education and experienced faculty members. The curriculum of our department is updated and includes all the recent developments. Yes, to some extent, the study makes me job-ready.
Placements
Department of Management Studies, NIT Silchar has a record of 100% placement with all the students placed in reputed organisations. The first year students gets the privilege to intern in reputed Companies such as Amul, Berger, ITC, ONGC etc.
Anything Else
NIT Silchar provides a firm platform to its MBA students to get a widespread exposure towards the corporate world. With frequent seminars tackling real world vibrant issues students are able to get themselves up to date. The department has a strong Alumni association currently working in high positions in different MNC's. Apart from that, it has a beautiful campus and a healthy study atmosphere.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

A all round package.

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 08 May' 20

Joined On: 08 May' 20

Education Interest: Management

Education Level: Graduate & Above

Posted on 08 May' 20 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2021
  • MBA
College Infrastructure
The infrastructure of the college is good overall..but the is thing is that some buildings and hostels require renovation.And the hostel 9 of the college is very beautiful but it doesn't have any canteen of its own.
Academics
The academics of the college is good the teachers are highly qualified and provide us with ample opportunities to perform our best.We are provided with new assignments and projects to increase our understanding of thr subject.
Placements
The placement of the MBA is good as every year 100% of the students get placed.And the placement of the engineering students are also very good we hear someof the students got 18 lakhs package.Its good
Value-for-money
The college provides absolute value for money especially for the MBA department.U get a Master Degree from a institute of National importance for under 5 lakhs that too a MBA degree that is absolute value.
Campus Life
The campus life is very colourful and students from all around India come here and it provides great opportunity to get exposure to different type of culture and language.The campus has inbuilt fair price shops.
Anything Else
Nit Silchar is a good institution I am proud to be a part of it.It has all the necessary facilities that a student might require during his graduation.The campus has a Digital library which is said to be the biggest library in Asia
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

Best college with excellent teaching

Verified Review

Last Seen: 05 May' 20

Joined On: 05 May' 20

Education Interest: Engineering and Architecture

Education Level: Graduate & Above

Posted on 05 May' 20 by Richa Pani
College Infrastructure
Yes, My college has all the necessary facilities, infrastructure and equipment. Also , we have well designed classroom. In the whole campus there are two galleries and one academic building. Proper space are there to play outdoor games.
Academics
I had completed my computer science engineering. Teaching quality is very much effective and fruitful. We have wonderful library which consists of competitive books, novels and many other different kinds of books.
Placements
Placement is very much good in this college. Many IT companies visited your campus. They will recruit many students from CSE, IT ,ECE branches with an average package of 6-7 LPA. Also, we have placement cell which helps a lot to students to find their dream companies.
Value-for-money
My course cost approx 1.5 Lakhs per annum. Tuition fees is depend upon the income of the family. Also, we have well experienced teachers to clear your doubts.
Campus Life
Our college campus is best one. There are lot of trees in the campus. Students, teachers and staff are very much supportive.
Anything Else
I have enjoyed my life in this college
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

Best college among the North eastern colleges in india.

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 12 Jul' 20

Joined On: 06 Feb' 19

Education Interest: Engineering and Architecture

Education Level: Class 12

Posted on 05 May' 20 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
College Infrastructure
There is no doubt in saying that the college infrastructure is excellent and almost all the buildings were recently constructed. There are 8 boys hostels and three girls hostels. All the hostels are well equipped with electricity, LAN connection for every room and the environment you observe is very pleasant. There are seperate labs for every department will equipped with new materials.
Academics
I am currently pursuing mechanical engineering 1st year. The faculty is very experienced and are having phd. s from various iits and universities of national importance. The curriculum needs to be updated every year which is not happening so. Well, it's not only the teachers who have to strive hard but the students with the cooperation from faculty can shrive success in getting job.
Placements
*PLACEMENTS ARE GREAT FOR CSC STUDENTS* the placements are absolutely good and almost all the students from computer science and ECE branches are getting placed in the campus itself and about 80 percent of the students are getting placed from mechanical branch. The highest salary package offered during the lady year was 32 LPA from CSC department. The avg salary offered for CSC branch was about 9.5 LPA and in mechanical branch it is about 6.5 LPA.
Value-for-money
The facilities provided in the college are very much worthyful for the fee being paid by us. Since I belong to a family whose income is less than 1 LPA, my tuition fee is completely zero and the only fee I have to pay is the hostel and the mess fee. Same is the situation with the SC and ST category students.
Campus Life
The college campus is very much beautiful in scenery and has very pleasant and peaceful environment with lots of lakes within the campus and trees visible everywhere. Since the college is far from the silchar city it might be difficulty in emergency situations. The college is located in a remote place and thus not completely safe surrounded by Bangladesh and sikkim, afghanistan countries.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

MBA in NIT Silchar

Verified Review

Last Seen: 01 May' 20

Joined On: 05 Jan' 19

Education Interest: Management

Education Level: In Graduation

Posted on 01 May' 20 by Kingsuk Talukdar
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2021
  • MBA
College Infrastructure
The Institute is having a residential campus with adequate hostel facilities for boys and girls with LAN facility. There are 9 Hostel Blocks for Boys, 4 Hostel Blocks for Girls. The is a sports complex with a world class badminton courts and Table- tennis playing facilities. Apart from that there is a separate gym for boys and girls. Maximum classrooms have digital facilities in them. The Central Library is the 2nd largest Digital Library in Asia.
Academics
Well currently I am in 2nd Semester of the MBA Program. The quality of teaching is great here.The course structure is well balanced with theory and practical orientation. First two semesters are intended to impart knowledge and learning about the core areas of management and the subsequent semesters are meant for imparting in-depth domain specific knowledge of the relevant specialisation.
Placements
The Placements of MBA students in NIT Silchar are good enough. Till now 100% students have been placed till 2017-2019 batch. The highest package offered till now is 8 lakhs per annum. And the average package offered till now is 4 lakhs per annum. The major recruiters are ITC, Bajaj Electricals, Marico, Berger Paints, Amul, Dabur, Axis Bank, HDFC Bank, Byjus and many more. The college is very supportive in the placement process and TPC ensures 100 percent placement for every batch.
Value-for-money
The fees structure for the 1st semester is Rs.87370/- without hostel facilities. The hostel facilities costs around 15500 per semester including the mess dues. The total cost for the two years is nearly 3 lakhs which is quite affordable. One can also avail the loan facility to pay the fees.
Campus Life
NIT Silchar has always striven to encourage an equitable balance academics and extra-curricular activities. In order to promote this various societies have been encouraged under various departments and technical organisations. The College have ECO - Club, Sports Club, Officers Club, Management Society etc.
Anything Else
My experience in this is college is great. To be honest I find the time spent in the hostel is the best. The hostels are well equipped with LAN facilities. The campus is very lively in the evening with lots of activities going around the campus.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

Enjoy the best part of your life at NIT Silchar

Verified Review

Last Seen: 08 Mar' 20

Joined On: 24 Mar' 19

Education Interest: Engineering and Architecture

Education Level: Class 12

Posted on 14 Feb' 20 by Gaurav Das
College Infrastructure
There are two galleries and one academic building where classes are held. The galleries are well equipped with projectors. All the labs are well equipped with new devices, the computer Science lab is open 24*7. The library have books for our academics, competitive exams and for research works as well .Wifi facility is available in library.There is one SAC building to play indoor games, proper fields for football ,cricket and basketball and Gym is also available. Food in hostel is not bad.
Academics
In the first year students of all branches study the same things, then the syllabus is different according to the branch. The teachers are highly qualified .Recently our curriculum was updated and it is better now, In third year we have some elective subjects so that we can decide according to our interest. The curriculum may not include all the recent developments in the field , but it is enough to make good foundation for development so that student can easily switch to modern technologies.
Placements
Placement is really awesome here. If we say about tech-companies they offer pretty well salary, the non-tech companies also give good packages to the students. According to placement reports in 2018-2019 80.04% students were placed with highest package 22 lakhs per annum and average package 6.06 lakhs per annum. 369 students out of 461 eligible candidates were placed in various sectors.The Placement Cell is responsible for looking after the placement activities of our college.
Value-for-money
Tution fees varies with caste and family income. For those having family income more than 5 lakhs they need to pay nearly 1.5 lacs for tution fees every year. And nearly 15,000 per semester for hostel fees which is same for all students. Our college has all the facilities for the overall development of the students , so the money is worth paying, teachers teach nicely, lab facilities are well enough and have ample amount of scope for learning. So its value for money to pay the fees.
Campus Life
Campus life is very nice here. There are a lot of trees in the campus and so many lakes .Classes are held till 5 p.m. and after that we are free to go for a walk, play games in the students activity center or play games like football, basketball. There are a lot of clubs which are run by seniors and there also we can learn so many things. There is a literary club, skating club, machine learning cub, coding club, dramatics club and many more.Students are free to decide what they really like
Anything Else
My experience in this college have been awesome. I am happy that classes are regularly held and we have a lot of opportunity to learn each day. We have too many events organized in our college and I feel privileged to be a part of such an institution which focus on overall development of the students.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
Is this Review Helpful?

Studying in this college is a excellent experience

Verified Review

Last Seen: 19 Mar' 18

Joined On: 01 Jun' 15

Education Interest: Engineering and Architecture

Education Level: Class 12

Posted on 25 Mar' 18 by PRAVEEN BHASKAR
The institute is one of the finest in the region and has the potential to become one of the best in the country as well. The only drawback of the institute is its geographical location in Silchar. Only a few direct flights are available from bigger cities such as Kolkata and Guwahati.Student life in the college is outstanding with a vibrant culture of sports, music, dramatics, dance, fine arts etc. with no compromise in academics.The infrastructure is very good. The institute recently inaugurated the "Bharat Ratna Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam Learning Resource Center", which is on the way to become Asia's largest digital library. The institute has large football and cricket grounds along with proper sitting arrangements for spectators in the gallery. Indoor games facilities are available in the Student Activity Center (SAC) building. Medical facilities are provided to every student in need in the health center which has qualified doctors. Many reputed companies visit the campus which include Oracle Financial Services, Tech Mahindra, Wipro Limited, Idea Cellular Limited, Mahindra and Mahindra, Fiat, Mu Sigma, Oil India Limited to name a few. The faculty members are well qualified and they emphasize on the overall learning experience of the students.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

NIT Silchar - A Place To Learn

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 23 Mar' 18

Joined On: 18 Jun' 15

Education Interest: Engineering and Architecture

Education Level: In Graduation

Posted on 23 Mar' 18 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
NIT Silchar is one of the best institutes in North East India. The college is spread over 600 acres. There are beautiful lakes inside the campus and tea gardens surrounding the campus boundary. Like all other NITs the placement here is also good. The institute provides placements in various fields such as manufacturing, oil and energy. automobile, production, IT. The crowd at NIT Silchar is from all over the country. It has best hostel facilities with unlimited and super fast internet connection. The campus is 100 percent ragging free and there is a separate hostel for first-year students. The mess food is also not that bad. The campus has a fully functional gymnasium with all essential equipments and also has facilities for indoor and outdoor sports and every year our college participates in the Inter-NIT tournaments. The annual tech fest 'Technoesis' and the cultural fest 'Incandescence' is something to be worth mentioned. Overall, this college is really great.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

One of the best NITs - NIT Silchar.

Verified Review

Last Seen: 15 Mar' 18

Joined On: 14 Mar' 18

Education Interest: Engineering and Architecture

Education Level: In Graduation

Posted on 15 Mar' 18 by Rajat Pandey
Located in Silchar, the college is spread over 600 acres and the location is picturesque with no pollution and beautiful lakes inside the campus and tea gardens surrounding the campus boundary. The institute has a Research Promotion Cell to promote research and to provide research funding to students. Like all other NITs the placement here is good. The crowd at NIT Silchar is from all over the country. You tend to mix up well in the 1st two years as you have double and triple sharing of rooms. For the next two years, it is a room per person. There is blazing fast and unlimited internet access without any time bar. The annual fests such as Tecnoesis (Technical Fest), Incandescence (Cultural Fest) and Paarbon (Management Fest) and festivals like Deepawali, Holi, Bihu, Saraswati Puja are celebrated with extreme joy and lots of fun. It has best hostel facilities with unlimited and super fast internet connection. The campus is 100 percent ragging free and there is a separate hostel for first-year students. The mess food is also not that bad. The placement here is good like all other NITs. Core branches have good placements but the newer branches also are fully placed just with a lower package.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

NIT Silchar - A sure increment to your list.

Verified Review

Last Seen: 15 Mar' 18

Joined On: 15 Mar' 18

Education Interest: Engineering and Architecture

Education Level: In Graduation

Posted on 15 Mar' 18 by Eshwar Naik
I arrived at NIT, Silchar and the moment I crossed the gates I was blown away by the stunning and the mesmerizing landscape of the institute. I moved on and was greeted by the well planned academic block, administrative offices, various departments and laboratories sprawling all across the massive 600 acres campus. Then I went on towards the hostel block which again left me startled. The campus has 8 Boys' hostel, 2 Girls' hostels and 4 Post Graduate hostels including a married PG Scholars hostel. The Hostel facilities are unparalled with ample amount of single and shared rooms. High speed internet connectivity and 24/7 power and water supply. The first year students are given separate hostels. NIT, Silchar strives to be a completely ragging free campus where any act of ragging is dealt strictly. Most areas of the campus has WiFi access and we are proud to be a digital campus as every shop in the campus accepts all kinds of digital payments like Paytm, SBI E-buddy etc. and has PoS terminals installed where we can swipe up to every bit of essentials needed to sustain the life of a hosteller. Every hostel has a fully functional canteen along with it. Talking about the academics, let me assure you the institute offers the best education that helps to create one of the best engineers of the country. The teachers are very competent and are cooperative helping students to take up new and innovative projects. The institute also has a Research Promotion Cell, Start Up Centre where students can pitch in their innovative ideas, be it in the field of science or business and get appropriate funding from the college. The college also has a stellar placement record with the best companies visiting the campus every year. A number of courses apart from B.Tech are offered such as M.Sc, M.tech and MBA programmes. Recently, the largest sports complex of the NER region was constructed and the APJ Abdul Kalam Learning Resource Center was established which is to be one of the largest learning centers of Asia with multiple tie ups with various foreign institutes about various courses. The annual techno- management fest 'Technoesis' and the annual cultural fest 'Incandescence' attracts students from far off places and provides a very rejuvenating experience. The campus is dotted with beautiful lakes and long boulevards with makes it a place hard to forget and a photographer's paradise. Overall the college highly recommended.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

One of the premier institutions

Verified Review

Last Seen: 15 Mar' 18

Joined On: 15 Mar' 18

Education Interest: Engineering and Architecture

Education Level: In Graduation

Posted on 15 Mar' 18 by Deepesh Kumar
One of the premier institutions of India, it certainly lives up to some expectations but then again fails to impress in some areas. The academics are extremely good but only due to the students, the professors have failed to generate any kind of solid interest in the subjects. Infrastructure is good enough to accommodate all necessary activities and within a year or two it will be boasting of the finest library and hostels in the nation. Interested members get full support for Research activities while if you want to pursue your other hobbies or passions there ample of clubs to facilitate such interests. There can seldom be any college that has such a plethora of cultural festivals and NIT Silchar sets benchmarks when it comes to music festivals. Job opportunities are in plenty with CSE having the best placement while Mechanical scores in core. No matter what, we are on a war footing to improve the standards of our college and bring it parallel to the national leaders in academics.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Really a college you want to be in

Verified Review

Last Seen: 16 Mar' 19

Joined On: 15 Mar' 18

Education Interest: Engineering and Architecture

Education Level: In Graduation

Posted on 15 Mar' 18 by Raju Sharma
NIT Silchar is really a college you want to be in . It is booming in today's scenario of education sports and infrastructure.It is one of the leaders today in engg. courses around north eastern India. i being a student of this college am really enthralled by this experience. Its primarily due to the platform it provides to us students to boost in our field. Technically we have great labs and a world class library facility which endows the college with the knowledge it has to offer. The senior junior interaction is superb and it can be said the campus is a ragging free campus and the relation of senior and junior is so great it leads to creation of lots of new things. But there are part where the college can improve like faculty management for example we have great faculties but they don't intend to stay here for a long while or else they here for contractual basis. So that's all hope my review helps.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

It's NIT, a College of national importance

Verified Review

Last Seen: 06 Feb' 19

Joined On: 10 Mar' 18

Education Interest: Engineering and Architecture

Education Level: In Graduation

Posted on 12 Mar' 18 by Vimalendu Shekhar
National Institute of Technology, Silchar(NITS) is one of the best engineering collage emerging in our country.It has each and every facilities that best colleges in our country have but it lacks due to its location.NIT Silchar is a place rich in natural beauty and infrastructure at the same time. NIT Silchar has the largest central library among all NITs,IITs,IIITs and other GFTIs.I assure you are never going to regret after becoming a part of this college.The college has a sound research oriented curriculum where one can always find a motivation to do better in the concerned field. In my department despite being new in the college there is no dearth of good students who are ready to take good research projects. The professors too are very encouraging in this regard. As far as placement is concerned I personally think that it's very close to top NITs and every branch has a very high scope.Our Seniors are currently working at firms like National Instruments,Texas Instruments,Flour Daniels,L&T,IOCL,BPCL. And the best part of NITS is that you get to be a part of so many cultural and technical events that helps in developing your personality from the very begining of your college life.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Enriching Experiences at NIT Silchar

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 19 Feb' 17

Joined On: 19 Feb' 17

Education Interest: Engineering and Architecture

Posted on 18 Feb' 17 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
Well I wouldn't say life at NIT Silchar is always exciting. There are different phases...ups and downs, so if I have to relate it to something - I would say its a ROLLER-COASTER RIDE with different portions. Some times (your) Kinetic Energy is in play and some time you are just storing Potential Energy in you for future. Nonetheless, law of conservation of energy holds true in this case as well. At the end of BTech term, TE = KE + PE ! Let me share some of my experience - Acad Part: It typically takes a semester or quarter to hit our stride. When I first entered NIT Silchar in 2009 I was felt overwhelmed and excited. I still remember the main gate which was under construction. Within few weeks we started with the drill, classes (Old Gallery 2), syllabus, lectures, assignments, exams, notes...It was the KE part. Running here and there to understand things, learn things....and so on. After few semesters you will identify a shortcut to learn things. Most of us do, except few who aim to become Researcher rather an Engineer (Don't worry it's just 20% of the Janata). Rest 80% prove to the fact that - "Engineering is the coolest and easiest graduation course in India" (but you need to identify those shortcuts in time, in other words you have to transform yourself in a JUGADU !!) This is the PE part which you will be requiring this in next phase of your life (corporate life, real life). Social Part: Looking back on those early days I shake my head and wonder what all the fuss was about. I even feel a little nostalgic! There was also a time when I felt homesick for a while. I missed my parents, friends, even the family dog. But Hostel life is what compensates the said part. It was new for me and during the course of stay I made few good friends. I'll not go in details of my friendship as it won't make much sense here. But believe me you are going to make some memorable relationships when you are at NIT Silchar. Reason being your your life@NIT Silchar would mostly be confined to 600 arces campus. You will get involved in some stupid things which are cherished the most later. Atmosphere: No doubt NIT Silchar has one of the most beautiful campus in country. If you truly are a nature lover, you are going to have a good time there. I loved so because I used to go for a morning jog and congenial atmosphere was my source of inspiration. Facilities: From infrastructure point of view also, NIT Silchar is a good choice. Let me give you my example, I stayed in single room for 3 years and shared (1st year was a merit based allocation; for last 2 years its compulsory to have single room) . Apart from this you have good sports facilities, standard class labs, shops and eateries. During final year (2013) we heard this news that NIT Silchar is going to have indoor swimming pool and other gaming facilities (synthetic court for badminton, basket ball, etc.). You can get an update on this as well. Further, you have daily bus services to visit Silchar town and get required things. Summing it up, Life at NIT Silchar is something which you need to experience. It's cozy, a little hussy, full of excitement and opportunistic. Personal views/suggestions - Make Friends and Live the life ! It's a one time opportunity and you would not get a second chance to live the college life. Study has its own importance, but don't put it on priority.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

NIT SILCHAR

Verified Review

Last Seen: 23 Jun' 17

Joined On: 02 Oct' 14

Education Interest: Engineering and Architecture

Education Level: Class 12

Posted on 31 Jan' 17 by Venky
NIT SILCHAR is a good, greenery campus with good infrastructural facilities.The positive thing about the college is that the freedom available here and students can involve in many activities like Gyansagar (social welfare), Illuminists (Literary club), musical club, dramatics club, mountaineering and trekking club and a lot .The college has also gym facility (but with no trainer).The faculty here is not that much good.The campus has high speed net access to students. This digital library (under construction) is largest of its kind in India.The campus placements are as usual good for CSE and ECE and remaining will have to perform well in their academics.The one and only defect for this college is the transportation .One will get frightened by road journey and only two flights from Silchar to Kolkata and Guwahati.I am damn sure that if the transportation facilities are good then this campus will be among the top 10 NIT's. There is a lot to learn and enjoy in this college.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Affordable, exposure, self development

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 30 Jan' 17

Joined On: 30 Jan' 17

Education Interest: n/a

Posted on 29 Jan' 17 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
There is Nice infrastructure, room for self development and exploring own's potential. Good Exposure to world, friendly student crowd and on campus programs are held for skill development. ROI of the college is best among the regional engineering colleges.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Something , I think, I will treasure all my life.

Verified Review

Last Seen: 04 Jan' 20

Joined On: 06 Apr' 15

Education Interest: Engineering and Architecture

Education Level: Class 12

Posted on 19 Nov' 16 by pratyush pratap
In a word, college life here is awesome. After two years of hard work, this is a kind of life we deserve. Hostel infrastructure is good and mess is somewhat the same as everywhere else. Teachers and professors are always by our side , giving their best to help us in our academics. It is a place best for co carricular activities. Overall, it's is great down here at NIT Silchar.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Value for Money
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Student Crowd
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

It's very pleasant college

Verified Review
Anonymous

Joined On: 29 Feb' 16

Education Interest: n/a

Posted on 29 Feb' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
It's very pleasant college. Its scenic beauty and the environment around.its placement is also remarkable. I just love this college. I get everything that I need from any college in my life ever. I would suggest each and every single person to just have a visit only once and you will know its significance.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Best college of the North East

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 16 Oct' 15

Joined On: 02 Jul' 15

Education Interest: Engineering and Architecture

Posted on 28 Feb' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
This College is very nice when I came here it was so green campus. It is isolated from the busy city but we have the nice connection with the Silchar city our college is nice at most of the things we have all kind of Festival celebration and many recreational activities.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Best NIT of northeast region

Verified Review
Anonymous

Joined On: 28 Feb' 16

Education Interest: n/a

Posted on 28 Feb' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
After coming here I came to know much more about this college. It is the best NIT of the northeast region which supports another NIT of this region its infrastructure is very nice with nice Hostel facilities faculty and seniors are very helpful and lots of cultural Festival is done I enjoyed a lot here.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Gate way to be a good engineer

Verified Review
Anonymous

Last Seen: 18 Jun' 15

Joined On: 13 Apr' 15

Education Interest: Engineering and Architecture

Education Level: Class 12

Posted on 28 Feb' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
NIT Silchar. the day I started my journey from that day onward my life was exciting and all good things were surrounded by me everything is so good and new here that I found each n every celebration superb till now I came to know many things about this college but mostly it is best of the best.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

Best college of northeast region after IIT

Verified Review
Anonymous

Joined On: 28 Feb' 16

Education Interest: n/a

Posted on 28 Feb' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2019
NIT Silchar is one of the best engineering colleges in the northeast region. Providing support to the rest NITs of northeast India here at NIT Silchar seniors here are very cooperative and helpful infrastructures are very nicely developing till now the rate of placement is very nice.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?

College of engineering environment

Verified Review
Anonymous

Joined On: 28 Feb' 16

Education Interest: n/a

Posted on 28 Feb' 16 by Anonymous
This user choose to post privately in case a user is anonymous.
  • Batch of Jan. 1, 2019
Since the day, I joined here. I foud this college very nice and very green with lots of enjoyment. With no ragging which totally bands here seniors here are very cooperative and helpful infrastructures are very nicely developing till now the rate of placement and another thing is increasing in future we hope for the best.
  • Infrastructure
  • Placements
  • Academics
  • Campus Life
  • Industry Exposure
  • Hostel
Is this Review Helpful?
Disclaimer: The reviews mentioned above truly represent the experience of the student / alumni. We do not allow manipulation / editing of these reviews by any personal.

Download the Careers360 App on your Android phone

Regular exam updates, QnA, Predictors, College Applications & E-books now on your Mobile

Careers360 App
  • 150M+ Students
  • 24,000+ Colleges
  • 500+ Exams
  • 1500+ E-books
  • Economic Times
  • Financial Express
  • Firstpost
  • Livemint